We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel where I have stayed before and although I suppose I carnt really blame the hotel I was kept awake till approx 2am by workmen banging and shouting while working on the new rail line,I know work has to be done but you don't expect it till that time in the morning and as I had a long flight the next day this was not helpful.

Room Tip: Don't get one overlooking new rail line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulineN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

As you have mentioned there is indeed upgrade work being carried out in and around the airport complex. This has been granted by Manchester City Council and is therefore is unfortunately out of our control. I do understand that this work is inconveniencing all of the hotels in the vicinity at the moment but once completed will provide much improved transport links and facilities within the airport complex.

I do hope that this has not deterred you from using the hotel again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me in advance on gr.manchesterairport@bewleyshotels.com and I will be more than happy to allocate you a room away from as much of the noise as possible.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,850 - 2,856 of 5,200 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed a number of times at this hotel. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable. In fact my wife are booked into the hotel again in September.

My only concern is on arrival back into the country to collect your car key you can be confronted by a very long queue to collect your car keys from reception. This is because the same receptionists have to deal with booking customers in and sorting out returning your vehicle keys. Come on Bewleys have a separate desk to collect your vehicle keys because after a long flight you do not need to be standing in a queue for so long.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohngWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

It is lovely to hear that we have been able to provide you with a consistently clean and comfortable experience and look forward to being able to do so again in the future.

We have recently appointed a new Front Office Manager and he is keen to listen to the guests and make changes for the better. I have forwarded your comments on to him as they will certainly be of interest.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice available to you when choosing accommodation in and around the Airport complex and therefore we a truly grateful for your loyalty.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at Bewleys prior to an early morning flight from Manchester Airport. After waiting in a rather large queue at the check in desk (with only two people manning it) we were allocated a room on the first floor which was large (2 double beds) and clean. However, that is where the positives stopped. The room had no air conditioning which meant it was uncomfortably warm. Opening the window wasn't an option given we needed an early night ahead of a 3am wake up call and the noise levels are too high - although can't blame the hotel for that, it is at an airport afterall.

Not only was it far too hot, the curtains didn't close all the way to the wall meaning that there was light coming into the room. As we were on the first floor, and facing the reception, we had light flooding in, both natural and artificial, all night.

We had stated that we wanted a transfer to the terminal in the morning but it seemed very disorganised and people turning up who hadn't booked etc so we walked across to save the stress.

Won't be staying again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadJL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience for Trip Advisor.

I am glad that you found a number of aspects of your stay enjoyable but disappointed that it was not all of it. Unfortunately, at present we do not have air-conditioning in all of the rooms however, we are more than happy to allocate these in advance on a request basis. We do have fans available via Reception for these warm Summer nights and I would hope that this would’ve been arranged for you had the Reception Team been made aware of the issue, I apologise if this was not the case.

With regards to the complimentary shuttle service, we do ask our guests to book a slot once they know what time the service is required. This allows us to manage the numbers and ensure that everyone gets to their correct terminal in good time. Sadly, there are occasions when there are people that turn up without having booked or change the requested time without alerting us; I am truly sorry that this inconvenienced you.

I am confident that this is not indicative of the levels of product and service that we aim to provide and should you allow us the opportunity, believe that we would be able to change the impression that you have been left with. I do hope that we will get this chance again in the future.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stopped overnight before an early morning flight to Spain and , again, everything went fine.

Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a tasty burger, with a pint of ale, for £12 which us not too unreasonable.

We've stopped here before and will stop over again if we need an overnight stay.

Room Tip: All rooms we've had have been great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

It is lovely to hear that we have been able to provide you with a clean and comfortable experience and look forward to being able to do so again in the future.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice available to you when choosing accommodation in and around the Airport complex and therefore we a truly grateful for your loyalty.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night before our early morning flight.
This is the 2nd time we've used this hotel & as always, the staff were friendly & helpful.
The rooms are perfectly acceptable and there are some excellent deals to be had at this hotel if you book a few months in advance.
Didn't eat at the hotel on this occasion, but we popped into the bar for a couple of drinks. As before, found the prices to be on the high side, but I guess this is the same at all the airport hotels?
The shuttle bus runs every 10 minutes or so, and we were dropped off at our terminal in plenty of time to catch our flight.
We would recommend using this hotel, particularly if you can get it for £60 a night!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whukev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

It is lovely to hear that we have been able to provide you with a stress free, comfortable and friendly experience. As mentioned in your review, we do have some very good offers available if you can book the hotel in advance, I do hope you will be able to access these again.

If I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We look forward to the prospect of welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Bewleys was a great place to stay and to hang out while we waited for the group to gather and arrive (late planes). The pub / restaurant was welcoming and comfortable. The rooms were spotless (I forgot it was possible to be that clean!). The tubs were high if you have any accessibility issues. We were there during start of World Cup so it was a bit loud in the night. The staff apologized and suggested that we call next time so they can help. We will gladly stay at Bewleys next time in AND out of Manchester airport. Oh also, the train is just to the back of property, so conveniently located for that, too. No pool. Game room looked OK for kids.

Room Tip: We heard that rooms in the "old section" were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerim124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

It is lovely to hear that we have been able to provide you with a stress free, comfortable and friendly experience and look forward to being able to do so again in the future.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice available to you when choosing accommodation in and around the Airport complex and therefore we a truly grateful for your loyalty.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday night. We arrived on an early flight from Belfast and rang from courtesy phone for Bewleys shuttle service to the hotel. We were too early to check in but they stored our bags securely. We had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant £9.50 adults and children £4.95 full Irish available as buffet. We then availed of the shuttle service to the train station at airport to go to Picadilly. When we got back at 4pm the hotel was much busier but we got checked in efficiently. We had dinner in the bar that evening which was plentiful and very nice, wasn't over priced. We had to book our shuttle service again for early morning (booking essential due to the volume of people using the hotel) checkout process was very quick and pickup prompt. I will definitely use here again if flying in or out of Manchester. Just be aware that the hotel has a large volume of guests checking in and out so make sure you book your shuttle service if you have an early flight. 10 out of 10 Bewleys!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

10 out of 10…..brilliant, thank you! It is lovely to hear that we have been able to provide you with a stress free, comfortable and friendly experience and look forward to, hopefully, being able to do so again in the future.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice available to you when choosing accommodation in and around the Airport complex and therefore we a truly grateful for your booking.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 120 in Manchester
3,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £77 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing