We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, given the good reviews elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #47 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing, given the good reviews elsewhere”
Reviewed 23 October 2009

The lady on reception who booked us in was having attitude issues unfortunately, she managed to get our credit card declined by manually processing the card instead of using the chip and pin format the hotel is set up for. A lengthy call to the bank later and the issue was resolved, the free wifi that is advertised was not working and there was no interest in it being sorted.

The rooms were fine, and the lift over to the terminal was fine, the waitress in the restaurant was superb and they were really children friendly and focused, couldn't fault them.

Overall, the price saving over other hotels was irrelevent given the issues we had, I suppose you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PudseyChancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikpaul, Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 28 October 2009
I very much regret the embarrassment you were caused on check in by a particular member of staff not following the correct procedure with your credit card. Retraining has now taken place and I hope you will accept my apologies for this inconvenience.
With regard to the internet, we have been experiencing faults, however the speed of the settings has been increased and our I.T. Manager is closely monitoring the situation.
I am pleased that you otherwise enjoyed your stay and hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some time in the future.
Allison Diggle, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,627
    1,860
    818
    286
    196
See reviews for
1,044
2,137
353
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Had originally booked the Crowne Plazza next door, but after reading reviews decided to cancel and book Bewleys instead. Not only was it about £35 cheaper, but when we arrived we all said Bewleys even looked the better out of the two.
Check in was quick and painless. We ate at Giraffe in Manchester (recommend this as well) and had an early start so can't say anything about food.
Room consisted of 2 comfy double beds with bathroom. This was more than adequate for us.
Parked the car up, handed over the keys. Got bus on the Tuesday morning - very quick and friendly service as was our pickup last night. Called the hotel, said bus would be 10 mins and it was. Car was sitting at front door of hotel waiting for us.
Would stay here again.
£89 for room and 8 days parking - others charging over £120 for the same
Hotel looks and feels like a 5-star establishment.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyguyOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
257 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Found hotel easily and it couldn't have been any closer to the airport. Check in was quick and efficient and the room was quite spacious, clean and very comfortable. Quiet as well so no problems sleeping. We didnt eat or drink in the hotel but went to a TGI Friday nearby and although that was a bit noisy the meal was quite good. Transport to the airport was booked at arrival so no problems and nothing extra to pay. Also the pick up on the way back was very effiecient and friendly and the car picked up fine. It had been moved but no problems. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Stayed at the Bewley's again for 1 night with 15 days parking for £99 ***BARGAIN***

Rooms spotlessly clean, we requested a room in the tower and got it.

Shuttle to the airport is free.

Cannot fault this hotel, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HG-Wooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I don't know what star rating this hotel actually has, but it felt 5*. It was SO nice inside, from the lobby to the elevator, to the bedrooms, and the dining areas. It was an upperclass, yet relaxed and homely atmosphere throughout.

No downside. Simply BRILLIANT!

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed here for 1 night before an early flight. Rooms were nice, as was the bathroom. We requested a cot which was in our room when we arrived. Hotel bus also picked us up from thje airport train station when we arrived which was handy and also took us to the terminal to catch our flight. Reasonably priced rooms. We ate at the hotel in the evening which was Ok. We did want room service however they only do cold food so if you wanted hot food you had to go to the bar area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becks_nez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I won't be returning to this hotel because of the poor treatment of my car and terrible customer service.
I booked a room for one night with parking for 4 days. I left my keys and my car was taken to long term storage and brought back on the day of my arrival.
Initially i was given keys to the wrong car, which was not a good start.
I had just arrived back into Manchester on an overnight 8 hour flight from Chicago on which i had virtually no sleep, so i was not pleased to find that the hotel had parked my car within an inch of the car in front and the car to the left-hand side. After much shuffling i could not get it out, so went back into the hotel to ask for help. I was kept waiting for half an hour after which a driver turned up, said he was too busy and left again.
The reception staff took no interst at all, and it was left to another guest at the hotel, who overheard the whole saga, to help me get it out.
Apart from that, the room was average and the bed was not comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikpaul, Administrator at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
I was very disappointed to read your comments regarding the poor customer service you received from Reception when your vehicle had been badly parked. I would like to assure you that the staff on duty have been made aware of the poor impression you now have of our hotel and I would like to offer my apologies for the inconvenience and delay this caused to your journey home. I hope this incident will not deter you from staying with us in the future when you can be assured of our best attention.
Kind regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Property: Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing