We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel, if a little dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Midland
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good hotel, if a little dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

This is a good hotel, no doubt. Somehow though, it feels a little dated and a bit 'second division' vs where I think it is trying to pitch itself.

It's not bad value for the money and the room was of a good standard. It's just .... lacking something. Difficult to put my finger on it. Maybe it's the public areas which again, seem dated and just a little tired.

The breakfast had all the usual stuff, but not what I would call top quality eg the croissants tasted like card board.

But, and the end of the day would I stay again - yes. Would I recommend it - maybe not.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlequin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear Harlequin25,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to photograph your room for other guests to see. I can see by your other reviews that you are quite a tough marker so it was a delight to find you rated us so highly on cleanliness and generally above average as against the other establishments that you have visited. I'll take a look at our croissants I can assure you as that is quite a new comment as concerns their quality and it is quality that we are always wanting to deliver.

The age of the building and the fact that it is listed is normally viewed as a positive from many of our guests and something we wouldn't want to lose given its iconic status and rich history.

Thanks again for your comments and for taking the time to review The Midland

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,631
    1,352
    477
    148
    79
See reviews for
634
1,875
161
1,130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Good location in the centre of Manchester. Rooms are very average, mine had recently been updated but many elements of past decor were still present including some odd furniture.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cs_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear cs_5,

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Midland. What delights fellow guests is not always regarded as such with others. To that end I was a little disappointed to read that you thought we were just average when we always attempt to be ever excellent with our service in what is one of the most iconic hotels in the country.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

I stayed for one night and that was one too many. The communal areas of The Midland are impressive but the rooms were a cross between a 1970's B&B and a trendy hotel. The single bed was the smallest I have ever paid to sleep in, add that to pealing wall paper on the ceiling, stains on the carpet and general lack of up keep and I wasn't a happy punter. the service on reception and in the bar was indifferent the only star was at the concierge desk who should be put in charge of customer service.

Room Tip: Don't get room 606.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear DHH3,

It appears that we failed to match your expectations nevermind exceed them which is what we always try to do. Please allow me to look into your concerns and I will be in touch as we don't like our guests to feel disappionted about their time with us.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire united kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

The staff were fantastic,they went the extra mile,very polite and cheery.The Hotel Room was very clean and pleasing in every way,with lots of space.The food and service were excellent..
Very luxurious in every way.
Within easy walking distance from shops,and trams.
All round excellent and very reasonably priced.

Will return. From cheshire

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank she00123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear she00123,

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us and about the efforts of our team to make it as special as possible for what we hope is every guest. We look forward to your return very soon.

Many thanks

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Having stayed her previously our expectations were high, however we were very disapointed. Having booked well in advance and asked for rooms together I was disapointed to find on arrival at 2.00pm that our rooms were not ready and they would be on different floors. We were told to come back at 3.00pm and she would try to get rooms together for us. However on our return the rooms were now on the same floor but not together - at different ends of corridor. As this was for myself , sister and our daughters this was not ideal. The rooms were not to the same standard as previous visits bathrooms in need of grouting and shower head with mind of its own. The following morning we went to breakfast to be seated squashed in a corner even though there were other tables set but apparently not available? the breakfast was luke warm and the waiter seemed uninterested in us being there - we were an inconvenience - on check out we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay - We were very disapointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquigolding63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear jacquigolding63,

As mentioned through separate correspondence we too are really disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as the vast majority of our other guests. I am pleased however that we have managed to speak with you and we look forward to your return soon so we can get everything right for you on that occasion.

Thanks for your information and detailed correspondence it is appreciated and does help us to ever improve.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

My Friend and I stayed at the Midland Hotel on a Sunday evening in June. The purpose of our visit to Manchester was to go and see Take That at the Manchester City Stadium. The hotel was excellent, we arrived at around 12 noon and being a Sunday thought we wouldn't be able to check in early, but our room was ready and we could check in which was a real help. The hotel reception staff were very friendly, the bedroom was furnished lovely, spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. All staff very curtious and friendly , reception, concierge, chambermaids and breakfast staff. The breakfast on the Monday morning was also excellent. My previous experience of a buffet hotel breakfast have always been bad, but this was excellent. All fresh and hot and well cooked. The pastries, and continental selection was also excellent, I can highly reccomend it! My friend and I are both in the Hotel industry and are Managers so are more critical than most guests, and neither of us could fault the hotel, the staff and service. We both had a thouroughly enjoyable stay and time in Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxamillion76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear maxamillion76,

Great Visit, Great Hotel, Great Review, Thank you!!

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

There's something about this Hotel when you first see it a bit of posh appearance which make's for a good first impression very well presented and a nice check in area. My room was fairly large and nice and open a very good size with nice furniture also the bath room was very nice and clean but some area's could do with a bit of maintenance work to some of the chipped tiles by the bath and shower. The only let down really was the TV the picture was pretty poor and there was not many channels on offer. The breakfast area was was nice and big and you never had to wait that long in the small Que that was by the entrance which was great. The gym was small but well maintained and in superb condition the staff were great through out are visit well done.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank creator_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear creator_8,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for highlighting where you were delighted in us. I should add that we do have a comprehensive programme in place for keeping this giant of a hotel in top order.

Many thanks again and please let me know when next you are planning to stay with us so that we can show you all of the hotel and its history.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#18 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing