We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed after our last experience”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The reservation agent was great when we booked, he really worked hard to find us the best deal, unfortunately the hotel was very busy when we arrived, there was a convention and three weddings so they were really stretched and it showed. Still a good place to stay, really handy for Manchester and the hair salon is great value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Jonnie99,

Many thanks for your comments and I'm just as disappointed as you that you didn't enjoy your time with us this time as you did your last.

I would recommend booking directly with QHotels as they will be able to advise accurately on what we have going on in the hotel during your stay. The fact is that we do enjoy a really high guest occupancy rate where on occasions it can be difficult to gain a booking but the general theme is that our consistently high service delivery shines through to all of our guests.

Let me know when next you are thinking of staying as I would be delighted to advise accordingly.

Many thanks again

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,521 - 4,527 of 5,207 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife and I decided to treat ourselves with an afternoon at the Midland. We had heard great things about the hotel and thought we would see for ourselves, we were not disappointed. We arrived and was welcomed into the lounge by a friendly waiter called James Parker who served us throughout (it makes a change not to have several people serving you). We started with tea for two and was offered a large variety of teas to choose from and when it arrived everything was there we needed from a pot of hot water to a strainer (as it was loose leaf) and a wonderful little shortdread biscuit. We decided that instead of the Afternoon tea (which was highly recommended by a friend) just to have sandwiches followed by cake, the sandwiches came well presented and the cake one of which was fruit cake was moist and full of fruit (again this can be hard for some venues to accomplish). we decided to finish the afternoon with cocktails which were fantastic.

The price we paid for the afternoon was extremely good value and is justified if the service we recieved on this occasion is the norm.

I would recommend the lounge to anyone when in Manchester and will be back again soon for the Afternoon Tea.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DavidG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear DavidG64,

Thank you for taking the time to review our afternoon tea and your praise for James, The Octagon Lounge and our team generally.

We look forward to your return soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel is absolutely huge (strange layout on upper floors, easy to get confused with where your room is) but is beautiful. Tasteful and elegant. I had a standard room which was very nice, although fairly small. My friends had a executive suite which was absolutely fabulous, probably bigger than my home. So its very easy on the eye, quality, comfortable, good facilities.

But, the service was poor. We asked for a hot chocolate in the bar at 2am, when we arrived back from our night out (bar was quite busy) but were told the machine was broken, but if we ordered it from room service we'd be ok. So we went up to the room and ordered from there, about an hour later, the drinks arrived. We ordered breakfast in the suite for the morning, it arrived very late, with lots of things missing, or wrong. It took 30 mins for things to be rectified, so our group of friends ate at different times. When we woke, we found there was no hot water and were then told there was no hot water in the whole hotel. We were told we could walk to the Raddison and use their showers. No thanks.

So possibly an unlucky experience but it seemed each time we encountered staff in person or on the phone, they were a bit fawlty towers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear BurtonsCurtains,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and I should start with an apology as we did have a problem with the water on the sunday morning; a complete one off I can assure you and given the high praise within our other reviews I do feel that you did have an unlucky experience.

If ever you are looking to return please let me know personally as I would be delighted to assist in ensuring that your next stay with us will be truly exceptional.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This review is very late but I am new to Trip Advisor.

The Midland Hotel is fantastic in every way but price. That said, I suppose it is only right to pay for quality.

We stayed here in December 2009. We got the room on a special deal, otherwise it would have been an extravagance that we couldn't justify.

What can I say about The Midland?

Are there nearby hotels with a higher star rating at a similar price? Yes.

Are there more modern hotels? Yes.

Are there nearby hotels which are more trendy? Yes.

The Midland, however, is like coming home. A genuinely warm welcome awaits without the snootiness which so often goes with high class establishments.

The interior is massively spacious, yet reassuringly cozy.

The Midland has kept it's values amid an influx of modern, cold, glass and steel constructions, competing for the young executive.

The Midland has resisted any temptation to turn into a copy of other seemingly more fashionable hotels. This isn't to say that The Midland isn't fashionable. It is, just in a different, less obvious way.

Now onto the specifics of our stay there:

When we went, the plan was to do the Christmas markets. The weather didn't disappoint ... Although The Midland can't take the credit for the snow.

The snow, combined with the Alpine style of the markets was magical. It was bitterly cold and the haven of The Midland was a welcome and warm retreat. I can't think of anywhere better to thaw out .... Maybe Malibu, but as I've never been I am unable to truly compare.

The effort put into the Christmas decor in the lobby did not go unnoticed. Massive trees, lights and tasteful decorations both inside and out added to
the wonderful ambiance.

The customer service was second to none. Above and beyond excellent, in my opinion.

I had hatched a secret plan to ask my partner to marry me that evening. The trouble was ... The plan only existed in my head. I hadn't shared or prepared these with the staff.

The plan was to have a specific piece of classical music played in the piano lounge (my partner's favourite) and to propose there.

I sprung this plan on the staff virtually last minute and nothing was too much trouble. Elaine Stott was superb in putting my plan into action. She telephoned Lawrence, the pianist, who was on his way in already and I spoke with him. She secretly passed him the sheet music to allow him to practice and she reserved a table for us.

The answer was "yes" by the way and we were immediately congratulated with a complimentary glass of champagne and strawberries.

Nothing was too much trouble. The setting was perfect, as were the staff.

Brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DazLeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear DazLee W,

You're right this review is a little late but especially memorable for yourself as well as alot of our great team including Laurence who was only too delighted to help in making your stay with us truly unique.

What price happy memories like that?

We would be delighted to see you back soon and thank you also for the comments regarding the rest of your stay with us.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The midlansd was perfect for us, it was my husbands birthday and our wedding anniversary. We got upgraded to a suite which was huge and had everyhting u could need for a stay. I also love this hotel because every single member of staff are very friendly, they all say hello, they all make sure you are happy and have what you may need. nothing is to much trouble. I also like the hotel as it is like the marriot style hotel, but alot grander! rather than contempoary as I dont like too modern, I like traditional and cosy. I also thought the pionist was a lovely touch on a romantic break away. The price was also very good and we will always stay here now in Manchester.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Norman008,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for letting other future guests know that The Midland is your hotel of choice when in Manchester City Centre. Whilst it is flattering to read that you view us in alignment with the Marriot Group The Midland as part of Q Hotels is one of 21 excellent properties across the UK that feels that it delivers the extra special in all of its services and I would encourage anyone to try us as you will not be disappointed.

Many thanks again for your excellent review and as always we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Have just spent the day in Manchester with my husband. We decided to have afternoon tea at the Midland. What a lovely experience. From the minute we entered the atmosphere was relaxed but very professional. The food was lovely and the staff helpful especially Dawn Stott who informed us of the guided tours of the Midland which take place on Saturdays. We have decided to return with my parents for afternoon tea. As my father is in a wheelchair we were concerned about access and parking. We saw ramps and a lift at the entrance. Dawn also informed us that there is valet parking which makes life alot easier. Can't wait to give my parents the experience as they are in their 70's and remember the Midalnd of years ago but have never been.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Stephanie s,

Thank you for your kind review of our famous Afternoon Tea and I encourage anyone who reads this review to come into this wonderful building as it is as fascinating on the inside as it is as splendid to look at from the outside. A legendary building with 101 stories that I know the staff would be delighted to tell you all about.

Thanks again for your comments and for taking the time to review The Midland, our services and members of our great team.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend in August 2011.

Location
The Midland is located right in the centre of Manchester, next to St Peter's Square, just across the road from the Town Hall and Albert Square, a couple of minutes walk from China Town, the Gay Village, and Deansgate.

The Hotel
This is a really beautiful hotel. Built in the late 1800s - early 1900s, the entrance is grand and the building retains its old grandeur inside and out. If you are looking for sleek chrome and dark glass (yawn!) then go elsewhere, but if you are looking for a really lovely hotel with character and history then this is the place to stay.

Rooms
We stayed in a superior room and I have to say it was just lovely. Really clean, very spacious, and very nicely decorated. The rooms have a safe, TV, complimentary toiletries, comfortable beds, air conditioning (not that it's always needed in Manchester!), mini-bar and free Wi-Fi.

Facilities
The hotel has a spa with pool, jacuzzi, sauna room - all of which are very nice. The bar is a nice, relaxed place for a few beers or cocktails, and we ate in the Wyvern Restaurant, which was also lovely and they were more than willing to cater for our special dietary requirements.

Overall
Overall this is a lovely hotel and, given the choice, we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Manchester.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspiring_Parisienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Aspiring_Parisienne,

Thank you for what is a very thorough review of The Midland. Thanks for rating us so highly and also for declaring that your next stay in Manchester will be with us for the reasons afore mentioned.

Le Grande Dame is very pleased!

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#20 of 120 in Manchester
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 120 in Manchester
4,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £92 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing