We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smiling faces”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smiling faces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

It's a lovely old place with plenty of space.
The service was ace and the spa had a relaxing pace.
Food very tasty and Little dog roaming had a smile on his face.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleDogRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Dear Littledog,

Thank you for your rhyming review which made us smile. I'm glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,662
    1,365
    481
    146
    77
See reviews for
636
1,891
162
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

It was our first stay at the Midland Hotel and hopefully there will be many more to come. We booked the Hotel as a midweek treat and it exceeded all our expectations. The staff were extremely helpful, the reception staff and concierge were very informative, the bar staff were efficient and the breakfast room staff were very pleasant which is often not the case in many modern establishments. Our room was very clean and spacious, we had a great nights sleep and the late check out time of 12pm enabled us to have a relaxing morning before we checked out. We had the most amazing time and The Midland is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, the only problem we had was that we had only booked one night and didn't want to go home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Dear Suzanne C,

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope it is the first of many.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words about our excellent team and this fantastic hotel.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

The reservation agent was great when we booked, he really worked hard to find us the best deal, unfortunately the hotel was very busy when we arrived, there was a convention and three weddings so they were really stretched and it showed. Still a good place to stay, really handy for Manchester and the hair salon is great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Jonnie99,

Many thanks for your comments and I'm just as disappointed as you that you didn't enjoy your time with us this time as you did your last.

I would recommend booking directly with QHotels as they will be able to advise accurately on what we have going on in the hotel during your stay. The fact is that we do enjoy a really high guest occupancy rate where on occasions it can be difficult to gain a booking but the general theme is that our consistently high service delivery shines through to all of our guests.

Let me know when next you are thinking of staying as I would be delighted to advise accordingly.

Many thanks again

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife and I decided to treat ourselves with an afternoon at the Midland. We had heard great things about the hotel and thought we would see for ourselves, we were not disappointed. We arrived and was welcomed into the lounge by a friendly waiter called James Parker who served us throughout (it makes a change not to have several people serving you). We started with tea for two and was offered a large variety of teas to choose from and when it arrived everything was there we needed from a pot of hot water to a strainer (as it was loose leaf) and a wonderful little shortdread biscuit. We decided that instead of the Afternoon tea (which was highly recommended by a friend) just to have sandwiches followed by cake, the sandwiches came well presented and the cake one of which was fruit cake was moist and full of fruit (again this can be hard for some venues to accomplish). we decided to finish the afternoon with cocktails which were fantastic.

The price we paid for the afternoon was extremely good value and is justified if the service we recieved on this occasion is the norm.

I would recommend the lounge to anyone when in Manchester and will be back again soon for the Afternoon Tea.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear DavidG64,

Thank you for taking the time to review our afternoon tea and your praise for James, The Octagon Lounge and our team generally.

We look forward to your return soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel is absolutely huge (strange layout on upper floors, easy to get confused with where your room is) but is beautiful. Tasteful and elegant. I had a standard room which was very nice, although fairly small. My friends had a executive suite which was absolutely fabulous, probably bigger than my home. So its very easy on the eye, quality, comfortable, good facilities.

But, the service was poor. We asked for a hot chocolate in the bar at 2am, when we arrived back from our night out (bar was quite busy) but were told the machine was broken, but if we ordered it from room service we'd be ok. So we went up to the room and ordered from there, about an hour later, the drinks arrived. We ordered breakfast in the suite for the morning, it arrived very late, with lots of things missing, or wrong. It took 30 mins for things to be rectified, so our group of friends ate at different times. When we woke, we found there was no hot water and were then told there was no hot water in the whole hotel. We were told we could walk to the Raddison and use their showers. No thanks.

So possibly an unlucky experience but it seemed each time we encountered staff in person or on the phone, they were a bit fawlty towers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear BurtonsCurtains,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and I should start with an apology as we did have a problem with the water on the sunday morning; a complete one off I can assure you and given the high praise within our other reviews I do feel that you did have an unlucky experience.

If ever you are looking to return please let me know personally as I would be delighted to assist in ensuring that your next stay with us will be truly exceptional.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This review is very late but I am new to Trip Advisor.

The Midland Hotel is fantastic in every way but price. That said, I suppose it is only right to pay for quality.

We stayed here in December 2009. We got the room on a special deal, otherwise it would have been an extravagance that we couldn't justify.

What can I say about The Midland?

Are there nearby hotels with a higher star rating at a similar price? Yes.

Are there more modern hotels? Yes.

Are there nearby hotels which are more trendy? Yes.

The Midland, however, is like coming home. A genuinely warm welcome awaits without the snootiness which so often goes with high class establishments.

The interior is massively spacious, yet reassuringly cozy.

The Midland has kept it's values amid an influx of modern, cold, glass and steel constructions, competing for the young executive.

The Midland has resisted any temptation to turn into a copy of other seemingly more fashionable hotels. This isn't to say that The Midland isn't fashionable. It is, just in a different, less obvious way.

Now onto the specifics of our stay there:

When we went, the plan was to do the Christmas markets. The weather didn't disappoint ... Although The Midland can't take the credit for the snow.

The snow, combined with the Alpine style of the markets was magical. It was bitterly cold and the haven of The Midland was a welcome and warm retreat. I can't think of anywhere better to thaw out .... Maybe Malibu, but as I've never been I am unable to truly compare.

The effort put into the Christmas decor in the lobby did not go unnoticed. Massive trees, lights and tasteful decorations both inside and out added to
the wonderful ambiance.

The customer service was second to none. Above and beyond excellent, in my opinion.

I had hatched a secret plan to ask my partner to marry me that evening. The trouble was ... The plan only existed in my head. I hadn't shared or prepared these with the staff.

The plan was to have a specific piece of classical music played in the piano lounge (my partner's favourite) and to propose there.

I sprung this plan on the staff virtually last minute and nothing was too much trouble. Elaine Stott was superb in putting my plan into action. She telephoned Lawrence, the pianist, who was on his way in already and I spoke with him. She secretly passed him the sheet music to allow him to practice and she reserved a table for us.

The answer was "yes" by the way and we were immediately congratulated with a complimentary glass of champagne and strawberries.

Nothing was too much trouble. The setting was perfect, as were the staff.

Brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DazLeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear DazLee W,

You're right this review is a little late but especially memorable for yourself as well as alot of our great team including Laurence who was only too delighted to help in making your stay with us truly unique.

What price happy memories like that?

We would be delighted to see you back soon and thank you also for the comments regarding the rest of your stay with us.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The midlansd was perfect for us, it was my husbands birthday and our wedding anniversary. We got upgraded to a suite which was huge and had everyhting u could need for a stay. I also love this hotel because every single member of staff are very friendly, they all say hello, they all make sure you are happy and have what you may need. nothing is to much trouble. I also like the hotel as it is like the marriot style hotel, but alot grander! rather than contempoary as I dont like too modern, I like traditional and cosy. I also thought the pionist was a lovely touch on a romantic break away. The price was also very good and we will always stay here now in Manchester.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Norman008,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for letting other future guests know that The Midland is your hotel of choice when in Manchester City Centre. Whilst it is flattering to read that you view us in alignment with the Marriot Group The Midland as part of Q Hotels is one of 21 excellent properties across the UK that feels that it delivers the extra special in all of its services and I would encourage anyone to try us as you will not be disappointed.

Many thanks again for your excellent review and as always we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing