We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base - but don't get a room on the tram side”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good base - but don't get a room on the tram side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This was a good central base from which to be in Manchester. The room I was in was compact but modern in decor and comfortable. The main notable thing about the whole stay was the quite substantial noise of the trams going past the side of the hotel I was on. I kept the air con on high for my visit to cover over the frequent (and early morning) rumbles outside the window.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the side of the tramlines
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippitydoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Zippitydoodah,

First of all great profile name with some impressive reviews contained within your account of hotels and great restaurants. Smashing to see that you tried The French 'Manchesters best Restaurant' housed in the Midland and that you rated it so highly. Pleasing also to read that generally you enjoyed your stay with us.

Delighted that you stayed with us as we would be so in the future. Feel free to make contact with me personally if you decide to so I can help organise your stay.

Thanks once again

Sincere regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,667
    1,368
    483
    148
    77
See reviews for
636
1,898
162
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I'm a Mancunian who now lives in another part of the UK so I know that for the people of Manchester the Midland has a special connotation. Other hotels may be newer and one or two might even have an extra star, but none of them come close to The Midland. I recently decided to stay at this hotel on a visit to my home town and it surpassed expectations. The atmosphere is welcoming and the staff friendly. As with the city itself, there is little or no pretentiousness, just a desire for you to enjoy your visit and to share the joy of being in the north's liveliest, most cosmopolitan city. The location is excellent, just in front of the Manchester Central convention / exhibition centre, and very close to The Palace Theatre and The Opera House. The Midland is classy on the outside and the inside as befits its turn of the century origin. It seems to symbolise this city of grand ambitions, you can sense the place it holds in local affections and the central role it plays in business and social life. If you want to be close to the soul of Manchester, metaphorically or geographically, then it's got to be The Midland.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear Mike B,

Thank you for your kind words about The Midland and what it holds for the people of Manchester; locals and exiles alike! It is a fantastic building and so its a delight to read that we continue to get it right as mere custodians of the Grand Old Dame at this time. I believe you are right in that there is a terrific sense of working somewhere very, very special within the team and so our ambition always is to deliver great service in a manner that befits our superb surroundings and The Midland Hotels role in the story of Cottonopolis.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review us and we would hope to see you return again soon.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

This is a fantastic hotel right in the heart of Manchester. It’s a landmark but following extensive (and expensive) renovation it is certainly not showing its age. We have stayed in here on a number of occasions in standard rooms up to a suite and all have been to an excellent standard. This isn’t as modern as the Lowry or the Radisson Edwardian but the place has a wonderful historical feel to it that you don’t get at other hotels in Manchester.

The isn’t a car park attached to the hotel but there is a concierge service and if you ring down in advance you car will be waiting for you as you leave. There is a metrolink stop right outside the hotel making it easy to get across or out of town. The hotel is well placed for the theatres, Castlefields, Deansgate, Spinngfields and Albert Square.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Speke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Blue_Speke,

Thank you so much for your kind review and for highlighting how well kept and situated The Midland is. Thanks also for your ongoing loyalty and for letting others know why you continue to come back to us.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed here due to work. From the outside the Hotel looks very Grand and is very nice on the eye. Reception is very elegant and clean. Check was fairly efficeint. The double room given to me was of average size, but very clean. It was a little outdated, but had all the things i needed.

I would definitly recommend staying here and will be back in a couple months with work again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Sandra m,

Thank you so much for your kind review and for highlighting how much you enjoyed The Midland and that you intend to return to us in the future. We look forward to it.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

3 nights for a work conference in October 2011.

Let's start with the good things.

The organisation of the conference and the lunch time catering laid on by the hotel were both good and definitely better than the usual experience for these things in large hotels. The staff were attentive and available and generally did their best to make sure everything ran smoothly, which it did. Breakfast is a buffet affair, and although nothing special it did what it said on the tin.

I didn't use the restaurant or bar areas as there are some amazing places in Manchester within a very short walk of this hotel and you'd be crazy not to explore some of the venues that this city increasingly has to offer these days. The location of the Midland is perfect for exploring the city centre on foot. I felt safe at all times in the area walking around including later in the evenings.

The room was clean, although there were maintenance issues. The headboard came off the wall behind the bed and when my room was serviced it was just left propped up against a wall. The door to the minibar wouldn't close and again after servicing, nothing was done about it. There was a form to report maintenance issues (presumably common), but the maid would have seen the problems and should have reported them herself and yet nothing was done. There was no double glazing and there is construction work taking place at the Manchester Library building opposite the hotel and twice I was prevented from sleeping by reverse alarms of trucks making deliveries up to 4am!! This was terrible, but I understand that the hotel is a listed building and they are unable to install proper sound proof windows to fix this problem, which is one of the things preventing this hotel going for a 5 star grading, and which is a very good reason to choose to stay elsewhere.

The bed was far too hard but like so many hotel beds these days, it is clearly not designed for a person of normal weight. Pillows were fine. I didn't sleep at all well though at this hotel due to the lack of comfort in bed and the noise. The air conditioning was also a little on the noisy side, although that was probably a good thing because it drowned out some of the noise coming from outside.

The bathroom was fine, and the shower fitting is a detachable flexible hose which many people prefer over something that's fixed into the wall. Very stingy on the towels though and I had to ask for extra ones to be sent to my room every day. And then only 1 big one and 1 small one were delivered. When I say I want towels I mean give me TOWELS.

The only reason my firm booked this hotel was because the Radisson Edwardian hotel, practically next door, was full up. I would recommend always making the Radisson your first choice of hotel in Manchester - there is a good reason why it was full - it is far superior in absolutely every respect than the Midland. Check it out.

Room Tip: Stay at the Rad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bunkerbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Readers,

A really odd review this one as the 'guest' claimed to have stayed when it wasn't possible given the information that the 'guest' has offered and the time that it was written (Note: if you know what prestigious event The Midland Hotel delivered in early Oct 11 then you'll understand the concern that this may well be a rogue reviewer/ rival operator). I asked 4 days ago for the 'reviewer' to clarify a few matters about his stay via an email message to him so I can look into his 'time' with us and match it to reality. Alas no reply!

As you will see this review is very much out of kilter with our natural feedback and general standards of delivery so I've gone further and asked TripAdvisor to dig a little deeper to ascertain the credibility of the 'reviewer'. If the review is a true reflection on thier stay then I'm very disappointed and will certainly do something about it but the stay doesn't tally with what was on during the time it was written so I'm not convinced of its credibility as yet.


Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The outstanding feature of this hotel is the service the staff give. All the staff are polite, friendly and very helpful they seem very efficient but with a smile.The fixtures and fittings are all impressive and clean but this is not a faceless chacterless inner city hotel, you were made to feel comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Dear MrsPE,

And thankyou for your very kind review and thoughts on our great team and this fantastic hotel.

We very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

I always try to stay in the Midland when in Manchester because it delivers quality time after time. The rooms are nice, beds comfy, bathrooms clean but best of all is the service. Last night I arrived in a rush having literally needed to check in, dump my bags in the room, and then get back to a waiting taxi. Great plan until i saw the queue at check in with a large group all waiting in line.

Enter stage door right ... Raymond ... the resident doorman. He had seen me arrive and obviously realised I was in a rush. He approached me with "you in a hurry sir?" so I explained the situation. "No problem" he says "i'll sort your bags in luggage drop and you can check in later tonight" ... which we did.

Sure other hotels offer a luggage drop but not many have staff who are so on the ball and aware of the customer.

Thank you Raymond, and thank you Midland hotel for another fabulous stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear MalcH,

Thank you for relaying to me how impressed you were with Raymond as you were leaving our hotel on Thursday morning and for amplifying your thoughts on his actions and the reasons why you continue to come back to The Midland on this forum for fellow guests to see how hard our team try to deliver an extra special stay for all guests.

Both kind gestures are very much appreciated and of course we look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing