We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Booked the weekend for my wifes birthday in October. Our experience started with the helpful concierge directing me to the car park and carried onto with the beautiful aroma in the reception area and the very efficient recptionist.We picked up our keys and went up to our lovely room which was gorgeous and spotless. We unpacked and then spent an hour in the bar area next to reception, having a couple of drinks in the relaxing and comfy surroundings. All the bar staff were extremely polite and attentive.The next morning we had a fantastic breakfast where you could help yourself. Everything you could desire was available. Very memorable experience.


Danielle Wood

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Danielle W,

Fantastic feedback thank you!! I can't add much more save to say that what we hope always to deliver for each and every guest has been wonderfully amplified by yourself through this very kind review.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,328 - 4,334 of 5,102 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Only had a short stay at the midland but I will be returning very soon. The room was fantastic and all the staff go out of there way to make sure your stay with them is perfect.
I thought it was fantastic that we were still able to use the hotel facilities after we checked out, so we enjoyed a nice day by the pool.
It is right in the middle of Manchester so there is no limit of what you can do.
I can't wait to return for another visit one weekend soon!
Thanks :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayematthews11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear fayemetthews11,

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Midland and for highlighting just how well our fantastic staff looked after you. We're lucky in that we have a superb building, great rooms and a singular ambience to show off but its always refreshing to read that what we offer and how we deliver it is a massive part of what brings our guests back time and time again.

It goes without saying that we too would be delighted to see you back here soon and so if our team or I can assist in making those arrangements with you then we'd be delighted to do assist. Top tip best way for you to book with us is always through our website.

Kind regards and thank you once again

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed at the Midland (Manchester) on Saturday night - just the one night as me and wife were seeing South Pacific musical at Palace Theatre. In short its nothing special and certainly nothing to justify the £15.01 they charged for our nightcap (pint of Calsburg and a single Bacardi & Coke) incl. £1.36 servics charge!.

Room OK (Just). Buffet Breakfast OK (Food a little on the warm side - not hot). Pragmatically just OK. No on site parking tho (£18.40) at GMex Centre.

Not really bothered tho cos South Pacific (Palace Theatre) was brilliant in every respect so if you get chance to see it - take it!)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeatherLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Portuphile (Grande nome, a forma!!),

First of all thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind and straightforward comments. If I can offer a slight amendment to your commentary it would be that you actually received a double Bacardi and Coke rather than a single as you intimated. That said please be assured that we take on board all of your observations (be they a little out of kilter with our reviews generally) as they allow us to strive evermore towards delivering a faultless guest experience each and every time; as that is always our aim.

I agree also that South Pacific is a super show and was delighted to read that your Wife and Yourself really enjoyed it. Once again thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us it is appreciated.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

A very impressive facade and interior in the centre of Manchester, not far from Deansgate. Conference facilities are very good, with ample refreshments at appropriate times. AV support available and air-conditioning within our own control!
Staff were all very helpful.
The conference ran without a hitch and I would recommend this venue.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkTraveller1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear UKTraveller1951,

First of all thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for highlighting a small but ultra-important aspect as far as the art of delivering great hotel conferencing goes and one that we find makes such a difference for our guests and clients: One's ability to control the air conditioning as we know it is so important to you and a feature that few venues rate as very, very important within the guest experience.

Thanks also for letting others know that your event with us went 'without a hitch' and for your kind words generally as regards this fantastic building and the team who work within it.

We hope to see you soon.

Many thanks again

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just called in here after a visit to the theatre for a bar snack. Pleasant staff , good service ,menu simple and reasonably priced for a 4/5 star hotel.Recomend the steak panini , not particlarly cheap but lovely and tender ! enjoy !!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Peely95,

Thanks so much for taking the time to come into The Midland for something to eat on our Octagon Lounge. Thanks also for your kind comments about our service delivery, the quality of our food, our unique ambience and of course our great team and how well they looked after you.

It really is appreciated and if ever you fancy trying Manchesters Best Restaurant 'The French' please let me know.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband, 2 daughters, aged 7 and 11 and myself stayed for 2 nights on the 5/6th November. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we knew we were in for a treat. The surroundings are absolutely gorgeous,the staff lovely and friendly and all areas spotlessly clean(there is a wonderful "clean" smell everywhere!). Our room was great, very, comfortable(especially the beds), spacious and the decor was really nice. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed everything we tried, again the surroundings were lovely and the staff friendly and efficient. We had afternoon tea on Saturday which was, again, very special. The location was central, with many of the cities attractions a short walking distance. We were all sad to leave after such a wonderful experience and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Dear Sue S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind comments about our super ream, Afternoon Tea service, the quality of your room, breakfast and generally how well this fantastic hotel appealed to all of your family's senses.

It really is appreciated and goes without saying that we look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here for Manchester Pride, this was an absolute bargain on lastminute.com.  The reception staff were very quick and efficient and the surroundings were rather grand.  Upon opening the door to the room we were greeted with an entrance room that was bigger than our kitchen, the door to the left led to the lovely bathroom with shower and to the right another door led in to luxurious bedroom.  The bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in and there was an ample choice of tv channels to see me through my morning hangover.  Overall given the chance I would definitely stay here again. 

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazg1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Bazg1981,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to review The Midland it is appreciated. Great to know that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us and that you would return. Our rooms do tend to exceed expectations which is a constant theme within our feedback so thank you for amplifying this so well to our future guests.

As always it will be a delight to see you when next you return to us and thank you once again.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,366 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £90 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing