We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel I've stayed in in manchester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“best hotel I've stayed in in manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed here for 2nights in November and was very impressed with the level of service I received, would definatley recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloydy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Lloydy87,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind words and rating.

We look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,631
    1,352
    477
    148
    79
See reviews for
634
1,875
161
1,130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have nothing but good words to say about this hotel. My partner and I had a 2 night stay at the end of December 2011. On arrive there was plenty of help on hand with our luggage, and a very speedy check-in! The room was faultless with everything we needed including free Wi-Fi, and a very big comfy bed! Breakfast was great with huge variety. Staff members were extremly helpfull, especially Mr Mosford (Sercurity Manager) who couldnt do enough for us, always with a smile, and plenty of good infomation for us to explore the town. FANTASTIC! A+++

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor with great views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruthfullOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear TheTruthfullone,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing us and for your kind words about our team and our food service.

Delighted to see you return soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed at the Midland with my friends for my 30th Birthday . I felt like I was staying in a palace and we were treated like royalty , all the staff were so polite . Our rooms were all really nicely decorated and most importantly....clean ! The reception area is spectacular and with all the christmas decorations aswell........WOW !!! My friend misplaced her bag in one of the bar areas and we dealt with the Security Manager who was so helpful and found her bag ! We also really enjoyed the food especially the breakfasts , fantastic . Will definitely be back and will definitely
Recommend this brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Nikson123,

I'm not too sure what 'Bang Tidy' means but can only assume given your excellent rating of The Midland followed by some very kind words that it means that you really enjoyed yourself.

Can I thank you for taking the time to write about us and for your praise of our great team including our Security Manager for finding your lost property. Thanks also for the comments about our food quality and the hotel generally.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We enjoyed a one night stay here whilst attending a Christmas function at the hotel. We loved the room, its quaint 'individual' decor stepped it apart from other hotels we had stayed in. The hotel was extremely busy but the staff at check in were very helpful. The function was well organised but I did complain the next day about the quality of the food. A poor quality of traditional Christmas dinner - the main let down being the gravy which was more of a jus - ie - clear & as runny as water! Bar prices were extortinate £10 for a double bacardi & coke.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carkeyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear Carkeyhome,

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind comments about our great team and this magnificent and iconic building. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your party night with us as you were one of nearly 10,000 that we delivered to successfully during the run up to Christmas and The New Year.

We will, as we do with all of our feedback, use your views to ever improve including your comment about the thickness of the Roast Gravy and I can add that the cost for our drinks is because we match our prices as against City Centre prices and only use the best quality brands and mixers to go alongside great ambience and we hope terrific service.

Thanks once again and we'd be delighted to see you return soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Junior suite booked for my father (soon to be 90)and wife (younger),over christmas (4 nights). Negative; paper hanging off ceiling, but +ve by the time we had been shown 2 other suite options, paper was stuck up by maintenance staff. Excellent service, ( staff member Chris showing us other suite options was lovely, admittedly when hotel only 20% occupied, but they did the right thing. and my Dad was happy with the original suite). I thought it seemed comfy, but lacked something ( slightly chipped furniture and just a wee touch faded in places but that may be a personal view). All was beautifully clean, bed really comfy, staff attentive to a fault, and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisc831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear Chrisc831,

Super to read that our maintenance team 'even in the deep midwinter' swifly acted upon a minor cosmetic annoyance thus ensuring a great stay. Great to read also the role that Chris played in ensuring that your requests were met.

We look forward to your return and thank you once agian for taking the time to review The Midland, your comments are much appreciated.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Although a very large hotel the overall experience was excellent Stayed over just one night to visit Manchester Christmas markets. It was a great location staff all very friendly and helpful, easy check in and out no fuss.

Rooms were very large and ours had a particularly good view . Beds extremely comfy! Would definately recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: as its a large hotel some rooms are quite a walk from the lifts, so maybe ask for one nearer to lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happybunnyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear Happybunnylancs,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and quite relieved that we managed to gain a similar score to all of your other reviews; some great places you've visited I have to say though.

All the very best for 2012 and thank you once again for your kind words; we hope to see you soon.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level Contributor
220 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed in the Midland for three nights of complete decadance with my partner. We upgraded to a delux room and it was beautiful. Lovely en suite and all mod cons in the room with a good mini bar, water and nibblies. The room was opulent with nice products in the en suite. Well heated, beautiful high ceelings, lovely furniture and a great atmosphere. From the second you walk into the Midland you know you are in for a treat with its beautiful chandeliers and grand piano. The restaurant was very good, a nice bar and location is fabulous. We had breakfast ordered to the room every morning and everything from the mini pastires to how we wanted our eggs was exact. This is truly a treat for a couple and I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear Vivzer,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for ALL your kind comments about well everything!!!! It seems the whole of the team hit the mark which is precisely what we ask of them and one of the main reasons why (alongside having a fantastic property to work within) guests come back again and again.

We look forward as always to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#18 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing