We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #12 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed one night at the Midland in november, and was more than satisfied. Its a very cosy hotel, with some very nice rooms, with good space. Everything was clean and welcoming. The breakfast very very good and a lot of different things. Situated very close to the shopping areas. All in all nothing bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastianmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Bastianmis,

Thank you for your very kind review it is appreciated and we look forward to your return

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,429 - 4,435 of 5,299 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Midland just before Christmas to get some Christmas shopping done and take in the Christmas Markets. A fantastic hotel in a great city centre location - got some excellent tips from the security Manager on where to eat/drink and shop! A little local knowledge can go a long way...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Gavin B

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind comments. I hope that you enjoyed the Christmas markets which the hotel is in a great location for visiting, the markets are here every year now so I hope we see you back for more Christmas shopping this year! Our Security Manager, along with many of our staff, is a mine of local information and I'm pleased he was able to assist you.

We look forward to your return and again many thanks for your kind words.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

After a long drive from Cornwall I was greeted by friendly staff and an easy check in. Especially big thanks and warm greetings from Jimmy - he made me feel very welcome and is an asset to The Midland

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Mel S,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind comments about the team especially Jimmy.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We have just returned from a surprise trip that my wife arranged for the family in Manchester. This hotel is fantastic, I was a little apprehensive about it when we arrived and saw how grand it was from both outside and then into the classy reception and lounge area. Having younger children I was worried that we may have landed at a place where they would be frowned upon, this was not the case as they were made as welcome as us adults by all of the staff that we encountered. I have to say that the service was as fantastic as the building and general ambience and we stayed in a very spacious family room that was, well luxorious is the best word to describe it. The choice of food on offer in the restaraunt was good and the breakfast was as good as any we have had and again the service was excellent with there being plenty of staff on hand to ensure we got what we wanted whilst giving the kids a bit of fuss that they loved. In summary the only thing that I could think of that would have made this trip better was if the pool was a bit bigger, but we still enjoyed a couple of swims in this fantatsic hotel that we will be returning to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Dear Alex W,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind comments about your families time with us. Great to read that this fantastic building combined with a team of staff delivering great service made for a really good stay for you.

We look forward to your return and again many thanks for your kind words.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We spent New Year's Eve here with family & friends, including 4 children aged 14, 14, 12 and 11, used as a base but did not eat here apart from breakfast.
Check in was easy and smooth. Room was a superior family room, which was comfortable and pleasant (449); however, our friends had the same standard of room, paid the same and booked at the exact same time (553); their room was twice the size of ours, more like a suite with sitting area and coffee table which we didn't have.
We had a drink in the bar which was very expensive, service charge of 10%, then option also for a gratuity!
The hotel was very well situated for the city centre, stations, and shops, so was good for a base to spend the evening in Manchester. It's decor is very luxurious; and it also has a small swimming pool which was a bonus, although the changing rooms could do with a refurbishment.
Breakfast was a let down, as it was very busy, being New Years Day, many people had slept in and were coming in to the dining room later; we were unable to have a table for 8,we were offered 4 x tables for 2, refused to take these, and ended up on 2 tables nowhere near each other at all. The manager's attitude was poor. There was hardly anything left and the staff were slow to replenish, queues for the cooked breakfast, and slow to clear tables. For the price we paid for B & B, it was a disappointment as we have had better breakfasts with better service in Premier Travelinns.

Room Tip: Ask for room 553!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazBLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Dear CazBLancaster,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Midland it is appreciated. To clarify about room allocations: New Years Eve is one of the most unusual days of the year in that we get alot of family requests and so can easily prepare rooms with extra beds for children as per the number of requests and our availability. The Midland is also unique in that virtually many rooms have a different design from each other in spite of it always having been a hotel therefore there is plenty of choice and even more to be pleased about because we do offer the WOW factor.

If I was pushed knowing both rooms I would choose room 449 over 553 but then everyone has an opinion as you do as many other guests do who like to use particular rooms. The other factor of course is that rooms are allocated on the day unless there is a special request that we are able to fulfil and confirm prior to arrival so my advice would be to please make contact with myself in advance and I will personally ensure that we make available a room of your choice as per the type that you have chosen if it is at all possible.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review us.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My girlfriends and I stayed for 1 night whilst going christmas shopping. The hotel is in a great location!. The rooms were spacious and and the beds were extremely comfy. We treated ourselves to the champagne afternoon tea, great experience and the staff were very helpful. Will be definitely coming back and will be recommending to our friends

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Dear Victoria S,

Many thanks for highlighting all that you enjoyed about The Midland and also for letting others know about our Champagne Afternoon Tea offering which guests tell is a very special treat made all the more impressive given the ambience and style with which it is served.

We do have a fantastic building but it is also our team that helps create such special memories for guests and again I can only thank you for letting others know about how much you enjoyed yourselves.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed here for the one night with my girlfriend. The room was large with a comfy bed. The staff were very helpful. Being situated right in the centre of manchester is also a great plus. As with most things you get what you pay for. Any future trips to manchester and i will be staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Dear Daniel J,

Many thanks for highlighting to future guests your satisfaction with your stay with us. We are lucky in that our footprint is ideal for everything that goes on in Manchester and we are blessed with a great team, a superb building and a great reputation for delivering super service.

Thank you for letting others know about us and we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#8 of 121 in Manchester
1,495 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £93 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing