We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to 2012”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great start to 2012”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We chose to stay at the Midland because we wanted to combine attending their Black and White Ball on New Year's Eve with visiting relatives in the local area. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Our room was comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The New Year's Eve event was certainly one of the best we have attended. Entertainment included a disco and a superb 10-piece soul band. Dinner at the Ball was excellent - well cooked and beautifully presented. All the staff we met at the hotel without exception provided excellent customer service - all were friendly and helpful. They were all a real credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side of the hotel will hear noise of the trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junerose_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Junerose_11

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your excellent comments. I'm pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our fantastic New Year's Eve Ball.

I hope 2012 continues as well as it started for you.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,814
    1,406
    499
    157
    82
See reviews for
679
1,977
167
1,200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel was very nice and certainly at the bargain rate we got a great deal. Only drawback that it was very difficult to get a drink in the bar on our return from our meal out as a function taking place over spilled into the main bar area where it was impossible to get staff to serve drinks. Other similar star rated hotels have staff who will serve you at your table in the lounge area. Despite having a bar and stools in the Wyvern it is not possible to sit and have a drink.
Had to go to the Radissdion nearby - cant be good for business!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craidon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Craidon63

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland. That is indeed an excellent deal which you found and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties you encountered with service in our bar area. Our bar does operate a table service and I'm at a loss as to why this did not occur during your visit. I have passed your feedback to our Bar/Lounge Manager for her to investigate and improve. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribble Valley, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Central location. Check-in fast and efficient, very friendly doorman. Grand Reception area, lots of marble and enormous Christmas Tree. Nice seating and bar area, pianist plays mid to late afternoon for afternoon tea which has to be booked in advance - pianist does not play everyday so best to check when you book.

Room newly refurbished, large bed, ample room even with a roller away bed for our son. No view from window but it is central Manchester! The Town Hall with its Christmas Market is literally 2 mins walk away. Central to main attractions and shopping and located in the middle of the Opera Theatre and the Palace Theatre. Have already booked to go back in February to see the show 'Oliver' and to stay once again at The Midland.

Breakfast in the morning ok - everything you needed, have been to other hotels where they offer more choice but we found the breakfast here to be acceptable - you could have a continental breakfast or a selection of cooked items kept warm in the buffet area.

Travelled by train so didn't use the parking facilities - these are off site and vary in price depending if you use the valet service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelLover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Anel27

Thank your for taking time to review The Midland and your excellent rating. I'm sorry that you found the bar service slow at times; I have passed this feedback to our Bar/Lounge Manager but am pleased that this did not detract from an overall excellent stay.

Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is our favourite hotel in Manchester and we would not stay anywhere else. The staff are very friendly and helpful from the ladies who clean the rooms to the concierge and the service is excellent: it is a first rate hotel. But we recommend anyone staying at the Midland or any other hotel to request written confirmation of any decisions made by management when you have any problems. One of the managers promised us one thing to rectify their mistake but sadly, he denied it the next day. Nevertheless, we highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear BluebellWales

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your excellent rating.

I have already been made aware of the issues you faced and have sent an email directly to you. However, I have not received a response from you and would therefore ask that if you have not received my email or would like to discuss it further that you contact me directly.

Once again, thank you for your rating and I hope that we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in December. Everything about this hotel is top class - the rooms, the food, the service. The staff especially made our stay extra special. The only niggle was that the service in the bar was a little slow at times.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear anel27,

Thanks so much for your kind review about our great team and this magnificent hotel.

It is appreciated

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed one night at the Midland in november, and was more than satisfied. Its a very cosy hotel, with some very nice rooms, with good space. Everything was clean and welcoming. The breakfast very very good and a lot of different things. Situated very close to the shopping areas. All in all nothing bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastianmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Bastianmis,

Thank you for your very kind review it is appreciated and we look forward to your return

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Midland just before Christmas to get some Christmas shopping done and take in the Christmas Markets. A fantastic hotel in a great city centre location - got some excellent tips from the security Manager on where to eat/drink and shop! A little local knowledge can go a long way...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Gavin B

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind comments. I hope that you enjoyed the Christmas markets which the hotel is in a great location for visiting, the markets are here every year now so I hope we see you back for more Christmas shopping this year! Our Security Manager, along with many of our staff, is a mine of local information and I'm pleased he was able to assist you.

We look forward to your return and again many thanks for your kind words.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing