We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A festive stay letdown.”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I booked a 4 day break over Christmas at the Midland in June to link in with our visit to UK from Malaysia. Fundamental to our booking was a festive meal on Christmas Eve in the hotel's Wyvern Restaurant for which we had confirmation from the General Manager. When wececked into the hotel on 23/12 we checked on our restaurant reservation and were told that a decision had been taked to close the restaurant and the best the hotel could offer was a meal served in the lounge or in our room, not exactly the festive atmosphere we had been looking forward to!
Fortunately a neighbouring restaurant - Don Giovanni's pulled out the stops and found us a table and we enjoyed an excellent meal.
The Midland dropped further in my view when their Management ignored two follow up emails expressing my disappointment with their apparent lack of concern and nil response to my enquiry as to why the did not inform us of their decision to close their restaurant, having taken the booking.

Room Tip: Room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank redvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear redvet

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland.

I would like to apologise that you were not advised prior to your arrival, that the restaurant would be closed. We did however, offer a full menu available on our Lounge which has a dining area or in the comfort of your room.

With regards to your email, I have not received these and from investigation, no other manager has either. I am currently away from the hotel but I would be happy to discuss this issue further with you and if you contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager's PA, she will be able to provide you with my email address so you may forward your emails on.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,234 - 4,240 of 5,112 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Very very windy night. Thought windows were going to break. As not air tight got loud whistling noise for most of the night and very little sleep.. What is the point of having air conditioning if it does not do anything apart from make a lot of noise. It is a lovely old style hotel which is not without its appeal - I appreciate the weather was exceptional but nonetheless it as not good enough. Also, for what it is worth - is over £11 anything like a sensible price for a glass of sauvignon blanc - and that's without a tip?

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Petch333

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland although I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

I would like to investigate your comments relating to the windows to assess if the noise was indeed caused by them or by another building in the City Centre which does cause a loud, whistling type sound during high winds which was heard across this part of the city during the recent windy weather. I am currently away from the hotel but would ask you to contact the General Manager's PA, Claire Woods on 0161 236 3333 and advise her which room you stayed in so that our Maintenance team can check the windows and air-conditioning.

With regards to the wine pricing, I can confirm that our pricing is in line with our competitors in the city.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

stayed at midland hotel new years eve 2011 with husband, young daughter and parents
and had an amazing time.
The hotel itself is suberb, elegant, sophisticated and luxurious.
Waited just minutes to check in and then stepped into the biggest, beautifully decorated room,had 2 large beds, sofa, chairs dressing table and even a fireplace, felt like royalty.
didn't want to leave room but thought a swim would be good idea prior to new years party,
Pool and gym were great and staff really pleasant.
The night itself was fabulous, food for both children and adults were excellent, although i love the starters and weren't many to choose from as there had been the previous year.
The entertainer and disco kept children and adults amused until the early hours.
Breakfast nest day was as good as ever and relaxing as eaten in a smaller restaurant away from the queues.
all staff were polite and friendly.
we will all be returning this year for another wonderful evening

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monetcumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear monetcumbria

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your excellent feedback and rating. I'm glad that you had such a great time at our Family New Year's Eve event and look forward to welcoming you and your family back later this year.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This in my favorite Manchester hotel. The Midland is well situated and the staff are very helpful and the hotel itself is very elegant with well appointed rooms. Right around the corner off of Deansgate is the best restaurant in Manchester, San Carlo. Don't miss dining here and make sure to make a reservation, it is always fully booked!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnbamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear johnbamsterdam

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind words. May I take this opportunity to recommend our own French Restaurant for your next stay with us? The French has 2 AA rosettes and is the only fine dining restaurant in Manchester City Centre.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I booked a Superior Suite for my wife & I for 2 nights' Xmas Eve & Xmas Day. We intended to have Xmas Dinner in one of the 2 restaurants. When we enquired on Xmas morning we werev informed that they were closed. This was not mentioned when I made the booking. Firstly we were assured ther would be a hot meal, but a limited Menu. When we went down about 8pm we were told that there were only snacks available and the kitchen was closed! although there were 6/8 people eating a meal in the Dining area.Finally we ordered Panini toasted sandwiches in our room.They proved inedible (not even toasted) they then sent 2 omelettes also inedible. Why we were not informed at the time of booking is unforgivable. Your customer relation dept needs a complete overhaul.Do not expect to see us in future. KP

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Keith P,

Thank you for your feedback however I'm sure the right information was sent to you at the time of your booking.

We will look to ever improve in the hope that we will be able to entice you back and then exceed your expectations during that stay.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We chose to stay at the Midland because we wanted to combine attending their Black and White Ball on New Year's Eve with visiting relatives in the local area. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Our room was comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The New Year's Eve event was certainly one of the best we have attended. Entertainment included a disco and a superb 10-piece soul band. Dinner at the Ball was excellent - well cooked and beautifully presented. All the staff we met at the hotel without exception provided excellent customer service - all were friendly and helpful. They were all a real credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side of the hotel will hear noise of the trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junerose_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Junerose_11

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your excellent comments. I'm pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our fantastic New Year's Eve Ball.

I hope 2012 continues as well as it started for you.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel was very nice and certainly at the bargain rate we got a great deal. Only drawback that it was very difficult to get a drink in the bar on our return from our meal out as a function taking place over spilled into the main bar area where it was impossible to get staff to serve drinks. Other similar star rated hotels have staff who will serve you at your table in the lounge area. Despite having a bar and stools in the Wyvern it is not possible to sit and have a drink.
Had to go to the Radissdion nearby - cant be good for business!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craidon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Craidon63

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland. That is indeed an excellent deal which you found and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties you encountered with service in our bar area. Our bar does operate a table service and I'm at a loss as to why this did not occur during your visit. I have passed your feedback to our Bar/Lounge Manager for her to investigate and improve. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £92 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing