We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another enjoyable weekend at our Manchester "Home"”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #12 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We have just returned from another great long weekend at our favourite hotel. Great friendly service and as usual a fabulous "Midland" breakfast - good to see the black pudding back !
Hopefully it will not be long before we return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRBICL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear PRBICAL,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind comments.

It's always a pleasure to welcome guests back to the hotel and I'm happy to hear that you continue to enjoy it.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,406 - 4,412 of 5,299 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

It is a very long time ago that I have recieved such excelent customer service from staff in a hotel or anywhere for that matter.
The staff were very well mannered and went out of their way to help at all time.
ALL STAFF were amazing with their excellent customer serivice skills.
The Midland Hotel was spotless and the food was delicious.
The rooms were were very comfortable and spotless also.
The one and only negative I have, is the cost of the alcohol drinks. They were too pricey.

Room Tip: room 201 was great/ 2 queen beds, quiet location. Near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Leigh431

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your excellent rating.

We pride ourselves on our service and I'm pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful visit.

With regards to the beverage pricing, through review we do believe we are competitively priced with local venues of a similar standard.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and I hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

For the last 5 years my wife & I have stayed here.Close for the shops,bars etc.The old style ,rich interior & pleasant staff help us relax and feel special.In our mid to late 40s we don't want a fuss just value for money for a classy hotel.Room service as basic as fish & chips tatse like you've never had fish and chips before.We once dined in The French and have never tasted food so flavoured.Waiters are respectful easy going -they don't make you feel out of place.Afternoon tea to the sound of a piano being played live - you don't get that at a Premier Inn.let's face it its what you pay for and as an annivresary or special occasion we won't look anywhere else.We book every year over 5th May weekend and this year also took advatage of lower rate on a Sunday to do Xmas shopping.Brilliant all round.

Room Tip: Go for Superior Rooms they are worth it 3rd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear John W

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your excellent rating.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Midland soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just spent a long week-end at this hotel, i can only say it was fabulous right from the start
the reception area is lovely, very grand, the valet parking, but best of all was our room it was huge and a very very large and comfortable bed and lovely and warm spotless,the service at this hotel is first class and we have travelled widely so we know what real service means to any one it can make or break your stay,can we just say a big thank you to all staff here you deserve a big pat on the back !!!

Room Tip: we had a 6th floor superior room it was very quiet and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Sheanian

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your excellent comments and rating.

We pride ourselves on our service and the attentiveness of our staff so I'm very pleased to hear that they delivered so well on this count.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had originally booked a prepaid stay on New Years Eve 2011 but due to ilnnes couldn't go to the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised when a very helpful lady on the Q hotels central bookings number managed to rebook for the following weekend (she was also very surprised that the hotel had agreed to move the booking). I attempted to book a table in the Wyvern Restaurant but after a very abrupt conversation with a member of staff in the restaurant I was told that the restaurant was already overbooked. We went out of the hotel to eat.

The room was perfectly adequate but not what I would have described as four star standard.

The breakfast buffet was very crowded and the staff were struggling to keep up with the queue of customers which snaked past the entrance to the kitchen, making their job even harder.

Check in and out were fine and the staff on reception and generally in the hotel were very friendly. I would stay again if only to try the restaurant next time. The hotel is extremely well located for many of Manchester city centre attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redpeter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear redpeter_10

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your positive and constructive comments.

I'm sorry that your were unable to dine with us on this occasion and I will speak with the Restaurant Manager in relation to the manner of the staff member you spoke with. Breakfast can be a busy time for us especially at weekends when many guests choose to dine later but I am sorry that we were unable to avoid the delays on this occasion and apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused you.

I hope that you do choose to return to The Midland and I can highly recommend both of our restaurants, The Wyvern and the double AA rosette awarded, French restaurant.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I've just got back from a 2 night stay with my partner at the Midland! I would recommend to anyone! It was our anniversary and my partner rang the hotel secretly before our arrival and arranged to have Champagne and chocolates waiting it the room! The hotel where able to do this for us with just an hours notice! The staff are really friendly and are always available to help! The food is spectacular! The rooms are extremely clean and are very spacious and have a beautiful classic interior! The entire stay was unfaultable!!! I will deffinately be staying again ASAP!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Chalex14,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and our fabulous team. It does mean a lot to them when they receive praise as they do their best to deliver a great experience for all of our guests.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to your return

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed at the Midland Hotel Manchester to attend a function with in the City. On arrival the reception area was busy with people booking in as there was two wedding on. The Security Manager Joe Mossford asked if we were ok and he was extremely helpful and speeded up our booking in. Room was lovely. The security Manager on are way out asked if we knew where we were going he gave us some useful advice on local attractions. We enjoyed are stay and would stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Kathryn O

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your excellent rating.

I'm happy to hear that our team here looked after you, particularly Joe who's knowledge of Manchester is excellent.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#8 of 121 in Manchester
1,495 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £95 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing