We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONCE AGAIN, AN ELEGANT AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICE”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
280 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“ONCE AGAIN, AN ELEGANT AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICE”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Midland again this weekend. We recently had to stay at two other hotels of the same star rating nearby because there were no rooms available here but the experience was not the same. Two things my wife and I have noticed about this hotel: the integrity of Mr. Petza (Manager) and Mr. Bayliss' (General Manager) approach to people's comments on Tripadvisor. Unlike other hotel managers who tend to reply in a detached manner, Mr. Bayliss seems to take each complaint seriously and addresses it personally. Well done, this is true customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear BluebellWales,

Thank you for your very kind comments and I agree Carlo does do a great job in ensuring all of our guests needs are being met. I'm so please to see this review as it shows that we have listened, learnt and improved from your last stay with us and I know the team will be really pleased to read about how highly you have rated us as against some marvellous hotels and restaurant that you have visited; lucky you!

I hope that this review does show that guest feedback be it good, bad or indifferent is what we rely on as we, like every other business, that only wants to improve needs to know what its clients/customers/guests feel AND THEN work on that information so that we get it exactly right all the time. A tough ambition I know but that is the nature of our work.

Thank you for that opportunity to show you that we can deliver a faultless stay for you and also for highlighting this activity to future guests.

All the very best I hope we will see you soon.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,706
    1,376
    490
    150
    78
See reviews for
647
1,915
162
1,165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel is very impressive, and the rooms are fantastic. The room was very clean, really nice bathroom and the beds are very very comfy! The service from the staff was fantastic, and bent over backwards to make my stay enjoyable. The food in the hotel was amazing, and there was loads of choice for breakfast.
I cant really complain about my stay at all!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Dale83,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind words. The team do try their best to deliver a fantastic stay and I'm so pleased that you have taken the time to tell others about your time with us.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed 2 nights for a wedding. Excellent service - able to book in early. Very comfortable room - would have liked a larger window - but didn't spend much time in the room. Powerful shower! All staff friendly and efficient. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a good sized window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Lynda37,

Thank you for your kind words about your experience at The Midland and our great team it is appreciated.

I'm so pleased that you and your wedding party enjoyed yourselves so much and we'd be delighted to see you back here soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Had a lovely one night stay here on Sunday 10th June 2012. Hotel is very grand and impressive on entry and staff were very helpful. Our room was lovely and spacious, and the shower was great! Only one slight irritation was that I booked a Kingsize bed intentionally and we had two singles pushed together, they were however very comfortable. The location is excellent for the city centre, just a 5 minute walk from the shops. I would not reccommend the valet parking, as while the staff were very accomodating they simply park your car in the near-by NCP car park and charge you for the pleasure! Overall, a very nice stay and good value for money in terms of the facilities and location. Another good Q Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Angharad P,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments. I'm sorry about the bed issue as normally we get that just right. Next time its best to simply call Reception and they'll organise matters to your satisfaction.

Many thanks also for letting others know how well our staff looked after you and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed last night, and was bitterly disappointed with the standard of the room. We stayed in a twin room, but the beds felt smaller than a standard single, the duvet barely covered the bed, the shower was a trickle, and the controls were practically falling off the wall.
Entrance to the hotel and the restaurant looked very impressive. The bar was comfortable but I ordered a dry white wine and paid £7.80 for luke warm and very poor pinot grigio in the bar. The tables weren't cleared and there were crumbs everywhere.
Would not recommend and won't be staying again. The cost or 4* rating were not justified.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Danielle G,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments. Please be assured that I will look into your concerns with the duvets and the shower mechanism; If you'd be kind enough to make contact I'd really appreciate it as I would need your room number to enable me to deliver a more detailed answer. I'd also like to know some more about the service that you received in our bar as that concerns me also.

I can confirm however that all of our beds are of a standard size and that generally we do a great job in delighting our guests so if you have the time please call 0161 236 3333 I'd really appreciate it.

In closing and once again can I thank you for taking the time to review us as it does help us to ever improve.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is where Rolls met Royce, so a bit of history to this hotel. There isn't much to say, I've only stayed here once and it was very good, I would also imagine it to be a consistently good hotel. Very comfy bed in-fact one of the best beds I've ever slept in! Good location for Manchester Central and Spinningfields if you're on business, also easy access to trams. Champagne bar a 2 minute walk away if your with the other half, Brew Dog pub over the road if you're into your cask ales. I've not read all the reviews here but I can't imagine you going too wrong if you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigsinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Jigsinsy,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments about our great staff, our offerings, location and bedrooms; it is appreciated.

We look forward to your return and thank you once again.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have stayed at the Midland on numerous visits to Manchester and have always enjoyed my stay. The staff are attentive and the hotel has an air of a lost era. However, the rooms are now becomming a little tired and need some modernisation. The entertainment system in the room is also a little old fashioned and not up to the standard of more recently constructed hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear G_P56_12,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to The Midland and we take on board your views for when we embark upon further refurbishment and in room entertainment improvements.

Really good to read that the team did a great job in looking after you.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing