We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand and luxurious, enjoyed every second of our stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Grand and luxurious, enjoyed every second of our stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now since it has spent millions on its refurb. We haven't been disappointed at all its a fantastic hotel with great facilities and is ideally situated in Manchester city centre.
The reception/ foyer area is very grand spacious and clean. Staff are in abundance and endeavour to help your every need with a smile !
Our rooms were very impressive .HUGE ! Very modern and tastefully decorated. We had a great nights sleep beds were comfortable and linen crisp and fresh.
Breakfast was buffet style with also waiter service all delicious and plentiful and fresh.
The spa - only used the pool and sauna as had a spa day booked elsewhere but it did look lovely.
Can't wait for our return here. Ideal for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillax999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Chillax999,

What a lovely review! There's not much more I can add except to say THANK YOU for your kind words and time taken in reviewing The Midland once again!

Most of all however ALL of our team really appreciates your continued custom and loyalty to this fabulous hotel.

It goes without saying that we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,631
    1,352
    477
    148
    79
See reviews for
634
1,875
161
1,130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Last week we were invited to Champagne Afternoon Tea at The Midland to celebrate a special family occasion. We were a group of 9 people and overall we enjoyed the experience. The room we dined in was beautiful and lent a very special atmosphere to our afternoon.

However, I was slightly disappointed with the layout of the tables for our number as they consisted of 2 circular tables joined together which meant that at the join 2 people either side were more or less sitting back to back, I felt a different table configuration would have worked better.

We started with a sherry, while the waitress checked for any special dietary requirements - we had 2 in our group who require a gluten-free diet and were delighted that this was catered for. Then we had our champagne - which was really lovely. Service was very relaxed bordering on slow throughout the experience, and I felt that the waitress was busy elsewhere as she wasn't in the dining room very much. When our food arrived there was a lovely selection of sandwiches. The Non-gluten eating diners had to share a very small side plate of sandwiches though and certainly seemed hard done by compared to the rest of us. This was followed by a very generous selection of cakes and scones. One pot of tea and one pot of coffee was served with the meal and at no point were we asked if we would like more of either, which we would have requested had we had the opportunity.

So overall the experience had its good and bad points.....not sure that I would opt for afternoon tea in The Midland again.

The reception area of the hotel was beautifully decorated and had a wonderful display of fresh flowers. Concierge staff were very helpful especially with helping one of our party use the wheelchair lift in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Dubfam,

Thanks so much for your kind review. Please be assured that where you felt we could have done better the team are already aware and working towards delivering that exceptional level of service and quality that The Midland is renowned for.

Thank you also for your custom and comments generally and of course we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resdent Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed in the junior suite for one night. I had originally booked a standard room but closer to our stay was offered a 50% upgrade which we took. I communicated with a woman called Nadine via email, who asked if their was a special occasion to which I told her it was my birthday. She arranged a complimentary bottle of wine to be in the room (at least I think it is! not seen the bill yet!) The room was amazing, spacious and we had an amazing nights sleep. The concierge offered us advice on where to go. I had a brilliant night, which I expected as this is one of the few hotels that has nothing but good reviews on trip advisor!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conorgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Conorgs1,

Thanks so much for your kind review and for mentioning the quality of service from the original booking stage all the way through. So pleased to read that we added to your special occasion and of course we look forward to looking after you in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Thought we would give this hotel a second go to give it the benefit of the doubt. Had to change rooms again as the room they gave us had loose paper hanging from ceilings, and generally grubby. The second room was a bit better but not by much. Our friends were staying at the Raddison hotel which was almost next door, and that was Palatial by comparison.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STR1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear STR1050,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us your comments are really appreciated. If I could ask you to get in touch as I'd like to go through the matter with you to ensure we resolve it or let you know that we have done so already.

As a norm if there is a problem with any of our rooms then we get our Maintenance team into that room on that day to get it back to standard. As would be expected with 312 bedrooms there is an ongoing desire to keep them in first class condition but sometimes items like edges of wall paper coming away in a room does happen.

So either the dissatisfaction that you mentioned continues to be missed or, as I suspect, the task has already been completed and I can update you. To be fair such is the rarity of this situation that I believe I have also read your comments via our internal feedback system intimating the same issue so I am confident we are already onto your concern.

Many thanks for raising the matter though as we do have an excellent reputation for delivering immaculate public areas, Meeting Rooms and Bedrooms which we guard jealously and so with your feedback this will help ensure that this situation continues.

In closing I'm sorry again for the inconvenience.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is the third time I ve stayed here and as usual it was very busy. Weddings , business people galore. I m glad to say the rooms are consistantly good as are the staff. The only thing that let's this hotel down is the breakfast, much better quality and value for money round the corner.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear MrsMoggs,

Thanks so much for your kind review and for your continued loyalty. We are an extremely busy hotel but generally get great reviews for our food offerings and so I'm sorry that on this occasion we didn't please you completely.

Please let me know when next you are planning to visit us so I can ensure that we delight you rather than disappoint.

Thank you once again.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed here on business third weekend in September on a Saturday night. The room was adequate - but even with the air conditioning on it was still stifling hot. The queue to be served in The Octagon Bar on the Saturday evening was diabolical - and don't even get me started on their prices! Breakfast on the Sunday morning was a rushed affair - long queues to be seated and the same at the self-service hot buffet selection (which was not as frequently replenished as it might have been). If you're a veggie trying to breakfast, then it's hash browns, egg, tomato and mushrooms (and the half dozen baked beans that were left skulking unloved in the serving dish) - although there are TWO different sausage choices for the meat eaters! Not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy_Blonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Dizzy_Blonde1,

Thanks so much for your kind review and I'm really sorry that we failed to match your expectations on this occasion. As with all hotels we're looking ALWAYS to deliver consistency and to make the experience for our guests as enjoyable and 'user friendly' as possible. To be fair given our other reviews overwhelmingly we tend to match what our guests are asking for as we know there is an anticipation that The Midland always delivers great service, ambience and quality.

I take on board your comments about breakfast offerings for vegetarians with the caveat that we have an extensive vegetarian (breakfast) range well beyond that which you have mentioned. However, based on your comments, it appears that we've failed by not communicating this to you. Please be assured that I will be speaking with the team to ensure the Menu's are out, all of our range is ready for our guests and that if / when staff are asked to describe what is available, including telling guests about our great vegetarian sausages, that they do so in a manner that delight a guest rather than disappoints.

Please be assured also that we are conscious about the importance of ensuring that we meet each and every guests dietary requirements in a proactive manner which as I said did not occur for you on this occasion for and I apologise.

In terms of a busy Lounge again I'm sorry but we are a very popular hotel which sometimes can impact on our ability to provide table service to every guest during very busy periods again as you will see from our other reviews guests are normally delighted with 'what we do and how' and so your feedback is so important to us as it identifies further opportunities to improve. I do feel however our prices are very competitive and are based on the ambience and quality of service as well as using the finest products and preparing them properly. All of which I agree seems less of a good reason price wise if the service standard isn't being delivered because the Lounge is so busy. Please note we expect our team to continue to deliver even when we are busy and generally we get this just right.

Please let me know if ever you are planning to return so I can meet you and go through all of our offerings to reassure you that we have concerns at heart and will use your feedback to get even better.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I booked the midland hotel as a last min deal so got a deluxe room at a bargain price- the staff are friendly and courteous and made my stay - the bar however is a bit pricey £ 9.50 for 2 baileys! I have put value as excellent as we paid a reduced price- if I had to pay full price I would give it a very good .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear GA94,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Midland and for all your kind words. To be fair we do remain very reasonable as against our city centre competition and operate on a doubles bar basis; with the caveat that our team do advise guests that they can just as easily order a single if they so prefer.

As always we look forward to your return and thank you once again.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#18 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing