We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Midland
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,417)
Filter reviews
5,417 results
Traveller rating
3,082
1,509
546
183
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,082
1,509
546
183
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr coopersafternoon teaq hotelsoctagon loungebeautiful hotelsuperior roomfantastic staymini barreception areacentral manchestersaturday nightlovely roomcooked breakfastcity centrestayed for one nightmember of staffmidlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,947 - 3,952 of 5,417 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed here for the weekend 26-27 January. Absolutely gorgeous hotel. We had a swim in th leisure centre in the afternoon, followed by an amazing evening meal. I'd certainly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Manchester. Close to lots of facilities - in walking distance. Lovely clean comfortable bedroom - lots of space. Only one very small niggle, jacuzzi wasn't working while we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolAAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear CarolAAB

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Midland and for your kind comments. I can assure you the the Jacuzzi is now working and I apologise for any inconvenience caused by it being out of order during your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to The Midland soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We have stayed in this hotel many times but as it was so good never thought to comment on it before. As nearly always you get what you pay for. We have stayed in standard rooms,superior rooms and suites. The standard room is adequate for an overnight stay, beds are comfortable and spacious and rooms clean but a little on the tight side. Move up a grade to the superior room and a lot more space with the same quality comfortable bed(s) and sitting area excellent for a few days stay. Try the junior suites and you will enjoy. For the ladies the most well thought out dressing table,mirror and make-up area my wife has come across in any other hotel. Hotel is seviced by 3 major lifts and the all the hallways are beautifuuly carpeted giving a comfortable cosy feel. As the Hotel was built in the late Victorian times, the rooms are high and constructed in that typical solid manner which demonstrated wealth and quality. We did not eat a lot there choosing to eat out at a couple of the large range of retaurants that Manchester offers. There is an excellent French restaurant in the Hotel which we have tried in the past but this was closed for re-furbishment on our last visit. Breakfast in the Colony restaurant is self-service and good. Perhaps the only complaint can be at weekends when the hotel is very busy so that at peak times you may have to join a queue. Try and avoid the 9.30-10.15 am time. Finally I have attended quite a few dinners in their convention rooms and I always marvel at the quality of food delivered to diners in excess of 200 ish. This Hotel knows what its doing when catering for so many.

Room Tip: Try for a superior room if only staying for 2 or more nights. But we have only ever stayed in 3 our friends had a room that was not as large and did not meet our expectations, room 628, try and avoid or at least see it first before unpacking. We had room 624 which ticked all our boxes.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Brian S

Thank you for your excellent review. I'm delighted to hear that you have had so many enjoyable stays at The Midland and hope that you continue to visit us in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I took my girlfriend to The Midland as part of her Christmas present and felt I had got a good deal with the 'Lovers' package, which included a free bottle of champagne, chocolates, a free meal in the Wyvern restaurant, late check out (2pm) and breakfast in bed. On the surface this all looked great! We got there early and the staff were kind enough to let us check into the room immediately, but when we got there, there was no champagne or chocolates. I rang reception and she said to speak to the bar manager when we came down to get our champagne and drink it in the bar, which was not a problem :)...but I there was no sign of the chocolates.

The meal was wonderful and the staff couldn't do enough for us. In the morning we were served breakfast in bed (which was absolutely brilliant and would recommend the Full-English to anyone, but as we checked out I noticed they had charged us £5 to deliver the breakfast to the room, which I felt was very misleading as the package was advertised as breakfast in bed and gave no warning that we would have to pay extra for this privilege....and whilst checking out I mentioned the chocolates again, the lady behind the desk said she would look into this, went away to get our bill, came back and never mentioned it again.

All in all it was a wonderful night and would recommend the hotel to anybody, but the marketers should liaise a bit more with the hotel staff as we were sold short on what we were expecting...which is 'attention to detail' and can make a night 'exceptional' instead of 'wonderful'.

Andrew Akesson

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you are sold...and try the Full-English.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Mr Akesson

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and your recent visit. I apologise that this visit did not fully meet your expectations but can assure you that I will speak to the relevant departments regarding the issues which you have raised in order to improve our attention to detail in those areas.

I hope that your recent stay does not deter you from returning and that we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed one night only but aim to return. Not cheap at £125 b&b but it's expensive for good reason and we were able to upgrade 24 hours before for 50% less than usual (an extra £15). Excellent, quiet room on 5th floor. Plenty of space; huge bed. Small but adequate bathroom. Excellent service on the door and at reception. Breakfast until 11 a.m. was of excellent quality and restful with well-spaced tables. Checkout at 12 was a bonus.
Any gripes? For some reason the tea menu excluded hot crumpets and teacakes which come off the menu at 11.30 a.m. (teacakes??) and the cake menu was ordinary.

Room Tip: Go high up if possible
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathanhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Jonathanhooker

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Brilliant one night stay in room 533 on 5th floor.
Got an excellent rate of £70 on hotelclub.com and would have happily paid double for the standard of the overall property and the room..
Having stayed at some luxury Vegas hotels, this is up there alongside them.
Gorgeous reception with glass ceiling and marble floor.
Lifts quick to arrive and never full.
There was little noise in the hotel and we had a quiet nights sleep. The only noise was from the tram station just a stones throw from the hotel but this wasn't ongoing.

The room itself was spotlessly clean, with a good sized bathroom with lovely shower. The bed was huge and I liked having 2 comfy chairs at the end of the bed to sit and relax in rather than lying in bed to watch TV.


The only downside was the lack of a hotel car park and the expensive NCP at the GMex, £18.40 for 24 hours.

Overall I loved The Midland and would love to stay there again should we visit Manchester and there's a good rate available.

Room Tip: get on hotelclub.com for good rates.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkBTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear MarkBTID

Thank you for your excellent review. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews