We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent second time around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
North West England UK
Level Contributor
232 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Excellent second time around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed here two years ago and found a couple of issues during my stay for which Neil, the guest relations manager, personally contacted me to try and put right whenever we may stay in the future.

I contacted Neil and he ensured we had a great visit - the hotel certainly has a charm about it, it would be perfect for a function type event.

Everything was great, the room was large and the breakfast great.

All the staff are great at this hotel and seem proud to work here.

Thanks for the personal attention Neil and I think responding to reviews to try to resolve are the sign of a hotel trying to go above and beyond.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aash23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear aash23

Thank you for your kind comments. I pleased that you returned to The Midland after a disappointing earlier visit and that Neil and the other staff were able to ensure that you had an enjoyable stay at the standards which we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,624
    1,351
    477
    148
    78
See reviews for
632
1,871
161
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
barrow in furness
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at the Midland 31st January for 2 nights .our first impression was of a very imposing hotel with a beautiful entrance .we had arrived early so left our luggage with the concierge .
On return our booking in was efficiently done .
Our room was number 620 ,a huge room ,with a superking bed ,the room was immaculately clean with everything that makes for a very enjoyable stay .We were very impressed with the super lighting , and soft furnishings .
We ate in the Wyvern restaurant the first evening , and were rather disappointed with the food ,although the bread and butter pudding was delicious .
Breakfast at the Midland is really very good ,lots of choice ,every diet appears to be catered for .
Unfortunately we were unable to book for afternoon tea on the 1st Feb , They were fully booked and it looked as though a very small seating area was available for tea .
A really lovely touch was the framed greetings cards and letters which had been found when the hotel was renovated ,very interesting ,if you stay at the Midland take the time to read them !!!!
The staff were all friendly and efficient ,we must give a special mention to the concierge and the doorman ,very informative and obliging .
The Midland is a beautiful old hotel which has been renovated to a very high standard .
We certainly hope to return there .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Spikey45

Thank you for your excellent review. I'm delighted to hear that you had such and enjoyable stay and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our Concierge.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Have stayed here for 2 nights on business. Fantastic location, really good service. bar expensive. Room mini bar well stocked. I had a small room, but was nicely designed - loved the retro details of the mini bar and kettle unit. it was the corridors/routes around the hotel that need tlc, and very easy to get lost. signage could be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leleuvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Leleuvia

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshrie
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed here for the weekend 26-27 January. Absolutely gorgeous hotel. We had a swim in th leisure centre in the afternoon, followed by an amazing evening meal. I'd certainly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Manchester. Close to lots of facilities - in walking distance. Lovely clean comfortable bedroom - lots of space. Only one very small niggle, jacuzzi wasn't working while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolAAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear CarolAAB

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Midland and for your kind comments. I can assure you the the Jacuzzi is now working and I apologise for any inconvenience caused by it being out of order during your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to The Midland soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We have stayed in this hotel many times but as it was so good never thought to comment on it before. As nearly always you get what you pay for. We have stayed in standard rooms,superior rooms and suites. The standard room is adequate for an overnight stay, beds are comfortable and spacious and rooms clean but a little on the tight side. Move up a grade to the superior room and a lot more space with the same quality comfortable bed(s) and sitting area excellent for a few days stay. Try the junior suites and you will enjoy. For the ladies the most well thought out dressing table,mirror and make-up area my wife has come across in any other hotel. Hotel is seviced by 3 major lifts and the all the hallways are beautifuuly carpeted giving a comfortable cosy feel. As the Hotel was built in the late Victorian times, the rooms are high and constructed in that typical solid manner which demonstrated wealth and quality. We did not eat a lot there choosing to eat out at a couple of the large range of retaurants that Manchester offers. There is an excellent French restaurant in the Hotel which we have tried in the past but this was closed for re-furbishment on our last visit. Breakfast in the Colony restaurant is self-service and good. Perhaps the only complaint can be at weekends when the hotel is very busy so that at peak times you may have to join a queue. Try and avoid the 9.30-10.15 am time. Finally I have attended quite a few dinners in their convention rooms and I always marvel at the quality of food delivered to diners in excess of 200 ish. This Hotel knows what its doing when catering for so many.

Room Tip: Try for a superior room if only staying for 2 or more nights. But we have only ever stayed in 3 our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Brian S

Thank you for your excellent review. I'm delighted to hear that you have had so many enjoyable stays at The Midland and hope that you continue to visit us in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I took my girlfriend to The Midland as part of her Christmas present and felt I had got a good deal with the 'Lovers' package, which included a free bottle of champagne, chocolates, a free meal in the Wyvern restaurant, late check out (2pm) and breakfast in bed. On the surface this all looked great! We got there early and the staff were kind enough to let us check into the room immediately, but when we got there, there was no champagne or chocolates. I rang reception and she said to speak to the bar manager when we came down to get our champagne and drink it in the bar, which was not a problem :)...but I there was no sign of the chocolates.

The meal was wonderful and the staff couldn't do enough for us. In the morning we were served breakfast in bed (which was absolutely brilliant and would recommend the Full-English to anyone, but as we checked out I noticed they had charged us £5 to deliver the breakfast to the room, which I felt was very misleading as the package was advertised as breakfast in bed and gave no warning that we would have to pay extra for this privilege....and whilst checking out I mentioned the chocolates again, the lady behind the desk said she would look into this, went away to get our bill, came back and never mentioned it again.

All in all it was a wonderful night and would recommend the hotel to anybody, but the marketers should liaise a bit more with the hotel staff as we were sold short on what we were expecting...which is 'attention to detail' and can make a night 'exceptional' instead of 'wonderful'.

Andrew Akesson

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you are sold...and try the Full-English.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Mr Akesson

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and your recent visit. I apologise that this visit did not fully meet your expectations but can assure you that I will speak to the relevant departments regarding the issues which you have raised in order to improve our attention to detail in those areas.

I hope that your recent stay does not deter you from returning and that we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed one night only but aim to return. Not cheap at £125 b&b but it's expensive for good reason and we were able to upgrade 24 hours before for 50% less than usual (an extra £15). Excellent, quiet room on 5th floor. Plenty of space; huge bed. Small but adequate bathroom. Excellent service on the door and at reception. Breakfast until 11 a.m. was of excellent quality and restful with well-spaced tables. Checkout at 12 was a bonus.
Any gripes? For some reason the tea menu excluded hot crumpets and teacakes which come off the menu at 11.30 a.m. (teacakes??) and the cake menu was ordinary.

Room Tip: Go high up if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathanhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Jonathanhooker

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#18 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing