We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Midland
Nearby Hotels
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$216
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
US$107
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$147
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$134
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (5,417)
Filter reviews
5,417 results
Traveller rating
3,082
1,509
546
183
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,082
1,509
546
183
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr coopersafternoon teaq hotelsoctagon loungebeautiful hotelsuperior roomfantastic staymini barreception areacentral manchestersaturday nightlovely roomcooked breakfastcity centrestayed for one nightmember of staffmidlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,892 - 3,897 of 5,417 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is our 5th stay at the Midland. As always a really great experience. Like going back in time, but in a good way. Very friendly and helpful staff. Obviously a well managed hotel. Rooms well appointed and spacious. We usually eat in the Wyvern Room at the hotel which is always a very good standard (the burgers are excellent). Good location for visiting Manchester, whether pleasure or business.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room. We've had 514 twice - a good choice
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Graval

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland. I'm delighted that we continue to provide a great service to you that keeps you returning to the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back for another visit soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The hotel is fab, although a little 'worn out' in places. The staff were lovely and the food good. I liked my room it was very grand with high ceilings and good decor - but then I opened the large wardrobe to find only 4 hangers!!!! It's a real annoying trait in hotels, they provide all the bathroom items and coffee and tea, biscuits and a good minibar but the essential thing every traveller wants are good coat hangers of all shapes and sizes to hang up your clothes! Such a shame - for little cost. Also loved the collection of memorabilia from the hotels history on the walls, that was a real plus for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - mine was a bit obscured but looked over the rotunda - I think that's what you'ld call it - and it's an impressive building.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan SW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Jan SW W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Midland. Whilst I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, I'm disappointed to hear that there were insufficient coat hangers available in your room as there should have been more than 4. Can you please contact us at cwoods@qhotels.co.uk to advise the number of the room in which you stayed so this can be addressed with the Housekeeping team?

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Great atmosphere. beautiful hotel, excellently maintained and very clean. friendly efficient professional staff. big very comfy bed... great shower and lovely bathroom. gorgeous ornate furniture. great ameneties in room. spa, gym, pool free to guests. disabled access v good. breakfast excellent. had a meal in The Wyvern which was excellent. yummy cocktails in bar
Brilliant location in Manchester city centre.
A little pricey but not extortionate and in keeping with what you would expect in a hotel like this one.
No car parking but NCP car park very close ( though bit pricey)
My favourite hotel in Manchester for so many reasons, and never fails to disappoint

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregorysgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Gregorysgirl13

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Midland. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Went to the Midland for New Years Eve ball 2012 - 2013, paid £300 for me and my partner, this included the evening ball, three course meal, glass of champers at the start + bed and breakfast and yes it was worth it, all well organised and satisfying. The hotel itself is big and you will get lost in it. There are ice machines on every floor, just phone and ask where exactly they are. When as a child you see what hotels are like on TV, this is it. The lobby is big and impressive and the hotel holds lots of character, with concierges, porters bell boys, it is what a hotel should be. Our room was very nice although a little small, it was very clean and upon entering it was a little "wow yeh this is alright". This said, along the corridors of this hotel there were signs to tell that the maintenance team had done some work here and there and they hadnt covered their tracks to well which i found a little dissappointing. Al in all a lovely place and you wont be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomidatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Tomidatourist

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland following your New Year's Eve stay. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and I'm pleased that you enjoyed our New Year celebrations. I hope that we can welcome you back the the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great location. Fabulous gatsby-esque hotel from a bygone age but restored and well managed. Very comfortable and kind and friendly staff. They even have hair conditioner in the rooms which is hard to find these days. The pool was tiny but the staff friendly and I enjoyed my stay. I would visit again and can recommend to other visitors to Manchester.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cranley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Cranley17

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland following your recent stay. Your kind comments and recommendation are greatly appreciated and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews