We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommeded”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed in the Midland while in Manchester for Man Utd versus Man City. Excellent hotel, great location and cannot recommend it highly enough. Have stayed here before and the standard is being maintained by management and staff.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Faheyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Faheyj

Thank you for your review of The Midland following your recent stay. I hope you enjoyed the match!

Thank you for your kind comments and glowing recommendation; I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,060)
There are newer reviews for The Midland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,453 - 3,459 of 5,060 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

stayed at the midland hotel on 4th and 5th this month. we were attending an awards party with work.
staff polite and friendly from the minute we walked in until we left.the staff were always there but unobtrusive at all times.Hotel charming.
The doorman with the top hat really helpful and polite and friendly.....loved that.......( he does a great job)...well done midland...would totally recommend this hotel.....in fact hoping to come back soon with my other half and some friends....

Room Tip: rooms starting with 20 are quieter....great nights sleep beds soooo comfy
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenm170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Gwenm170

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and that you intend to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Midland.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We held our wedding reception at The Midland Hotel in March and I couldn't recommend the hotel enough! The staff, the service and the whole experience was fantastic from beginning to end, we were treated like royalty, and so were all our guests. For a reception of 110 people I couldn't have wished for a better day, everyone has remarked that the service was very personal. If you are thinking about holding a wedding reception or any type of event in Manchester City centre, then you will not go wrong with The Midland.

All the guests which stayed over at the hotel had fantastic rooms, at a very reasonable price, and all have said what a fantastic time they had.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigshop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear bigshop2

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland and for choosing the hotel for your wedding reception. It's wonderful to read that both the hotel and the team were able to play such an important part in ensuring that you had a special day.

Your recommendation to others is also appreciated and I hope we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

In order to enjoy a recent theatre trip we decided to have a night stop over and chose to stay at The Midland as it was close to the theatre and had a good bed and breakfast deal on. Arriving by train it was a short walk from the station and we entered the grand foyer to be greeted by the concierge. Our room was warm and sumptuous and spotlessly clean. We slept well inspite of occasional police sirens flying by outside. Breakfast was excellent and staff were efficient and friendly. I would certainly stay here again when next visiting the theatre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Carol P

Thank you for your excellent review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that you intend to return. We do work with the Palace Theatre and Opera House to offer theatre breaks so if you are planning to see a production at one of these venues, please call our reservations team for our offer to include show tickets.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Midland.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Although in the middle of Manchester this hotel is very quiet, the bed was more than comfortable and room service was good quality and the size of the portions is generous.
If you have business in the centre of Manchester this is an excellent place to stay with the convention centre just round the corner, but book early as the following night I stayed it was fully booked.
Buffet breakfast was good with a fair choice, rate I paid was more than reasonable.

Room Tip: Superior room a must
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdceve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear jdceve

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. I appreciate you taking the time to do this and leave your positive comments.

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Easter. We pre-booked for a cheaper (non-breakfast) rate but it can still be considered a little pricey for Manchester city hotels. However, it was more than worth it. Even though we had a standard room it didn't feel standard. It was a great size and you could feel the beauty of the old building in the room but yet it was modern at the same time. It had everything you could want (aside from an iron/ironing board but that's just me being really fussy!!) and free internet which is always a bonus as far as I am concerned! Neither my husband or I could open the mini-bar, it felt like a Krypton Factor challenge but then again we were only going to be nosy, we didn't want anything.
In terms of location it's perfect, far enough away from bars not to get city centre noise but close enough to the action not to need a taxi. It's a short walk from the car park which is a little bit of a nuisance but not a deal breaker as at the end of the day it's a city centre hotel so any parking close by is a bonus!
The only small gripe is check in - there's no real queuing system, it's all a little random and it was busy when we were there so we had to wait a while with others coming in after us getting checked in before us but honestly it's not the end of the world, the rest of the hotel more than makes up for this small issue.
I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesecake0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Cheesecake0509

Thank you for your review of The Midland following your recent stay. You positive comments and recommendation are greatly appreciated by both myself and the team here. I'm sorry that you encountered delays upon check in and I will pass your feedback regarding this experience onto the Front Office Manager.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at the Midland over the Grand National weekend - the hotel is centrally located and easy to find. Dropping off outside the hotel or for valet parking is exceptionally difficult as taxi's seem to use that area as overflow from the taxi rank. Annoying as a paying guest that you can't drop off outside.
The staff are very friendly and always wanting to help.
We arrived early in the morning and the rooms were not ready - although not expected to be we had to change in the Leisure Club changing room. For the rating of the hotel the changing room facilities were nothing better than a council leisure complex and were freezing cold.
The rooms were lovely, spacious with all the facilities you'd need - bar a sleep timer on the TV! Beds were very comfortable and large.
Breakfast was good - plenty of selection - and although there was a gluten/wheat free station it contained 3 types of cereal and some biscuits. Gluten free bread was not available which was very disappointing considering there were hot breakfast options i.e. scrambled egg, bacon, baked beans all which needed (in my opinion) a side of gf toast. I can appreciate that having it out on the table would cause patrons to use the same toasters risking cross contamination however where is the harm in having it made by request?
All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaCThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear LisaCThomas

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland following your stay last weekend. I'm pleased that your enjoyed your stay overall and thank you for your comments relating to areas which we can address. I will ask our Maintenance team to investigate the temperature in the changing facilities and forward your feedback regarding breakfast to the Food & Beverage Manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £86 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing