We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay. Excellent Service.”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed one night at the Hotel to celebrate my friend's 50th birthday. Received a complementary room upgrade, bottle of champagne, late check out and breakfast. Also received a birthday card for my friend. The staff were amazing, always going the extra mile to exceed expectations; Reception, Concierge, Restaurant, Housekeeping and Leisure Centre. So helpful, friendly and welcoming. Very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade if available - we had 301. Also for a room overlooking the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,630 - 3,636 of 5,252 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

We only booked in for one night as we were going to the theatre, but from the start till the finish the service was excellent, Big thank you to Jimmy as he did everything to make our stay run smoothly, he could not have been more helpful. The suite was fabulous and so quiet. The breakfast was such a high standard, nobody could complain about it as there was so much choice and plenty of it. I would not stay at any other hotel in Manchester this is an experience I would encourage to others. After breakfast we made use of the swimming pool, it was splendid and again the service is to be praised.

Room Tip: This is the second time I have stayed at The Midland and both times the rooms have been to such a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kapa157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Kapa157

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and particularly appreciate you comments regarding the service you received as this is an area we pride ourselves on.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our first stay at the Midland Hotel was very good. We have stayed in Manchester before at different hotels but The Midland was our favourite. The staff were very friendly especially Paul the concierge who showed us all around the hotel. It is a wonderful old building full of character Our bedroom was a good size even though it was a basic room, a very good powerful shower & a comfortable bed. It would have been even better if we could have put some milk in the mini-bar fridge but there was no room.We booked just after Xmas and got a very good bed & breakfast rate. Overall it was a brilliant stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just stayed at the midland hotel Manchester for one night. The whole experience was fantastic. Had been in for a drink previously but booked to celebrate our anniversary. At check in we were given a room upgrade and a complimentary glass of champagne was brought to our room. They had also left us an anniversary card. Could not fault the service breakfast was excellent. The staff were very friendly snd helpful. Would defineyly stsy here sgsin.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Balill24

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Midland and for choosing us for your anniversary celebrations. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and that you intend to visit again.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just had an excellent stay at the Midland. Definately my favourite city centre hotel.
Service was very good - concierge incredibly helpful and check in staff also great. Special thank you to Carlos.
Rooms were excellent standard and very quiet, which is unusual for city centre!
Free wifi was a bonus!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rquinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Rquniton

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at The Midland. Your kind comments are appreciated both by myself and the team here at the hotel.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for a night after visiting the science museum. As a family of five with three small children there are not many hotels that will accommodate us even though many advertise family rooms, so we are grateful to The Midland. The hotel is splendid and grand from the outside and just the same inside. The room had two double beds and a sofa bed and plenty big enough for us. All the staff we came into contact with were superb especially the concierge guys and the guy on reception in the leisure club, very friendly and understanding of three small children running amok.
Our room was on a room only basis as I think the breakfast, however good it may be, is overpriced, it seems most hotels are charging £15 - £20 per person now for breakfast which is a little ott for me.
We usually stay at the Raddison when visiting Manchester but have been converted to The Midland due to the price we payed for our room and the way the staff welcomed my family, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david34England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear david34England

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland, following your recent stay with your family. Your comments are greatly appreciated, particularly those relating to the team here. It's also great to read that your intend to return to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Kind regards

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Just returned from a truly fantastic stay at the Midland. Friendly staff who can't do enough for you, dawn from the lounge was so helpful and Michael from the restaurant was excellent as was the food. The hotel was spotless, Beautiful building, Felt like I was staying at the Ritz. I have no hesitation in returning, Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Kelly78

Thank you for your excellent review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and that both the hotel and the service were so well received.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#46 of 120 in Manchester
4,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#19 of 120 in Manchester
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £90 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing