We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmm bit of a mixed bag”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
453 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Hmm bit of a mixed bag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I recently stayed here for business. The hotel is huge and a very cool building. I made a reservations and prepaid and I actually thought it was quite a good deal. I do not however think it is a 4 star hotel. The whole place needs a facelift, but due to the size I imagine that is cost prohibitive. The carpet is shot and the furniture is shabby. Service in the lobby was strange and cold, yet service in the leisure center, was incredible with everyone going out of their way to make sure you had what you needed. Breakfast in the morning was a buffet without the option of a made to order breakfast and for me that is unacceptable. Not sure I would stay here again, but believe I did get what I paid for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatchersBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear ThatchersBiscuit

Thank you for your review of The Midland. I'm sorry that your experience did not entirely meet your expectations and I will address the service issues which you have raised with the relevant teams. We are currently in the process of reviewing our breakfast offering and this will change following the renovation of The Colony restaurant later this year.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,667
    1,368
    483
    148
    77
See reviews for
636
1,898
162
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
jeddah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel on a business trip, I stayed in room 230 which is in one of the towers. I found it very difficult to sleep as the room overlooked the main road and had no sound proofing. I heard traffic throughout the night and vehicles unloading at the hotel. I went to reception and complained to Ian Gray one of the reception staff , his answer was "what do you want me to do about it, stop the traffic". I was so taken aback with rude attitude and experience I will never stay in this hotel again and will advise all my work colleagues never to use it again...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steevo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear steevo723

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at The Midland. I would like to apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations and would like to assure you that the standard of service which you describe is not the standard which we pride ourselves on delivering and this matter will be addressed directly with the member of staff involved. We do have quieter, internal rooms available which overlook an inner courtyard and one of these should have been offered to you as an alternative when you raised the issue with the noise disturbance, subject to their availability.

Once again, please accept my apologies for your disappointing experience.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

My wife and i booked in at The Midland Hotel as we were going to see Meat Loaf (which was postponed) from the moment we pulled up outside the Hotel we were greeted by the very cheerful front door man who sorted our car being parked we went into reception to be greeted by the receptionists nothing was to much trouble the staff in general are fabulous we were made to feel welcome right from the start our room 261 was huge and clean the bed was so comfortable had a great night's sleep breakfast was delivered to our room next morning and was excellent i would recommend this Hotel without hesitation

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBarrett430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear PaulBarrett430

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with you and your glowing recommendation is greatly appreciated.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I simply love this hotel. It may not be world famous, but if you are from the North, Manchester in particular, you will be familiar with the iconic Midland Hotel. I first remember it as a child, walking past and seeing the British Airways Crew getting out of their minibus and striding up to the impressive entrance. I always wondered what lay beyond the doors, and have been lucky enough to find out, a number of times, over the years. It really is a stunning hotel. From the moment you step inside, you can sense the history. The lobby is stunning, with the kind of floor a child would enjoy sliding across. There are restaurants, bars, leisure facilities, all the things you would expect of this standard of hotel. Yet it's all presented with good old northern hospitality. It is the sort of place you could treat yourself with, or if you could afford it, just move in and be looked after for the rest of your days.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear David M

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland. We often hear from guests who have memories of the hotel as a child and it's wonderful that we have been able to meet your expectations when you actually get to visit. Your last stay seems to have been a while ago so I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

we stayed at the midland manchester for a 4 day break great location 2mins from town
great rooms, service and food
rooms are well appointed with mini bar tea/coffee making really comfy beds
quite rooms and not small rooms either
i was in 208 never heard a peep
staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble
everyone from check in to check out was so helpful
i will definatly stay again on my next visit

breakfast was great and 2 corrie stars sat opposite us karla's brother what a dish in itself
10 stars for the midland

Room Tip: i chose superior rooms but on walkabout in the hallways all others looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Kevin L

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at The Midland. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I have stayed at the midland numerous times on business.

The building is stunning from the outside. The reception area is again stunning.

The staff are hit and miss - sometimes you'll get a really attentive person, sometimes you get the sense they are just going through the motions..... until one of their favourite customers walk through the door, then you just get ignored.

The rooms are all individual, none of them look the same shape, which I like. The decor and cleanliness are good. A few of the rooms bathrooms did smell a bit damp though, looked like the seal round the baths was letting water through. The televisions in the room look dated even though they are flat screens and receive pretty poor reception.

Food is good, but I usually ate out.

Breakfast is great if you're want something from the buffet. I have ordered soft boiled eggs several times and not once has it come out right..... so order from the buffet.

They do have a gym and pool, but it's not very good and looks 'tired' at best.

All in all I wouldn't choose to stay at the Midland again as the customer experience just isn't good enough for the rates they are charging. The building is stunning, shame the company can't live up to the grand design with good service.

The Radisson Blu down the road is much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear James P

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and offer your feedback. I apologise that your experiences have not met your expectations of The Midland. You do refer to a few housekeeping issues in your review relating to dampness and if you are able to recall which rooms this refers to I would be grateful if you could contact us at cwoods@qhotels.co.uk so that we can investigate further. I will also highlight your comments regarding breakfast with the relevant team members for this to be addressed.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
644 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Large plaque in the entrance shows that this was indeed the spot where Rolls met Royce before embarking on a famous business relationship together. Wonderful tranquil place (despite being right in the heart of the city centre) where you can enjoy afternoon tea or evening drinks prior to a night at the theatre etc Architecture fits in with a grand train station of the Victorian era which it used to be opposite to (the station is now the Manchester GMEX conference centre) and some of the mosaics on the walls outside allude to the fact that there was once a theatre housed in the basement of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Mister J

Thank you for your review of The Midland. I'm pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and I hope that I can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing