We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Service”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Staff Service”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I attended the Debt Collection Awards Dinner at The Midland Hotel on Wednesday 13 November 2013. After the dinner we retired to the bar area and it was immensely busy. We approached a member of staff - Sana Khan - who whislt serving another customer was able to note our order and returned with the drinks promptly. If we had queued at the bar it would have taken at least 30 minutes to be served. Sana was very polite, professional and most importantly had a smile on her face! Thank you Sana!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Darren S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to The Midland. It's fantastic to read such great comments regarding the service you received from Sana and I will pass your compliments onto her personally today.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,810
    1,404
    498
    157
    82
See reviews for
677
1,974
166
1,199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent the night before and the night after our Civil Partnership at the Midland . We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by probably the most friendly receptionist , my mum was staying the night before as well and being 92, I had pre requested rooms next to each other, this had been arranged.
The Midland is a very grand hotel , and whilst our rooms were nice, they were nothing special, they were very clean and a reasonable size, I just think due to the grandness of the exterior and the public areas I expected the rooms to have a wow factor, there were no fluffy white bath robes, which again is not a big issue but I just think I presumed they would have them .
The was tea and coffee in the room although on the 2nd day we stayed they forgot to replenish , I'm sure had we of rung down we would have been provided with some.
A really nice touch was that the young lady who had checked us in , posted a card through our door wishing us good luck.
We had breakfast one of the mornings , the staff we very friendly , made a fuss over my 92 year old mum, which was great . The breakfast was good , and a reasonable choice, though I do think £15 each is quite expensive.
The midland is in a brilliant position and the front of house staff a credit, would I stay here again ? I don't think I would pay the full price , I may consider if there was an offer, not because there was really anything wrong with the hotel , but if you are charging 'top' prices , and you have a hotel with such a beautiful exterior and lobby, and fantastic staff, then why not go just a little bit further and work on giving the guest rooms a bit of that wow factor.
I do want to be fair and reiterate there is nothing wrong with the hotel , and like us you will enjoy your stay , because it is a nice hotel, with great staff,.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Daniel187069 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall - I will pass your comments onto the relevant teams who I'm sure will make adjustments to improve where possible.

Congratulations on your Civil Partnership & best wishes for the future.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great experience. Excellent service by Sami. Very impressed by gluten free sandwiches and cakes. Would definitely recommend. Just one comment, a pianist plays on Saturdays, would be good if they played every afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Louise P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to The Octagon Lounge at The Midland. It's fantastic to read such great comments describing your great experience. I will pass your compliments onto Sami for her excellent service and I’ll let our Head Chef know how impressed you were with the gluten free sandwiches and cakes.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Booked a superior double room for my wife and I to enjoy a short time away together. Room was very nice but could do with updating and a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss. For a top hotel the TV was around the size of a portable and not having Sky Channels in Q Hotels loses my vote to De Vere Village hotels on business trips who have 32" TV's with Sky Channels. Hotel ambience was as expected first rate. Breakfast was chaotic with no organisation - no bread at the toast machine and undercooked hot food. Reception staff were among the best I have encountered. Superb hotel from the outside but just creaking a bit as needs some money spent to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Steve L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read your comments describing our reception team as among the best you have encountered, however I'm sorry that some elements of your stay did not live up to your expectations.

I will pass your comments on to the relevant departments and I'm sure they will make improvements where possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here when atending a confeence at the nearby Manchester Centre.

A Standard double room isnot much sure of a small suite. Massive bathroom. Seperate Dressing room and luxurious bedroom with well stocked - and quite reasonable mini bar. The bedroom hadd an very comfortable, very large bed as well writting desk and deep pile carpet. And best of all - free wifi. I hate it when hotels charge for wifi.

I had room service for an evening meal which was excellent and delivered it good time. The breakfast was OK - as good as a buffet breakfast gets. It was quite busy though as it does cater for for conferences and it was a bit of a srum in there, but still very nice.

The receptionist staff though where the stars. Very friendly and helpful.

Its almost too good for a business trip but great for an up market stay in Manchester.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Martin F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read that you thought the bedroom was luxurious and that you were happy with your evening meal and breakfast.

I will pass your compliments onto our reception team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bampton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I booked a single room for a single night - but was given a really large and comfortable double room. It was completely peaceful, and there were many extra welcoming touches - a handwritten welcome note from the Guest Relations Manager, real coffee (and tea etc of course), free wifi. Excellent bed, and large bathroom. A most pleasant stay, and I would certainly return. The hotel is a magnificent piece of Victorian building and very conveniently situated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremypgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear jeremypgray,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read that you were happy with your upgraded room and the facilities available to you. I'm pleased that you thought my welcome card was a nice touch and a description of the hotel as magnificent is fantastic to see!

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed for one night on a break from the kids, and couldn't have loved it more. The room was great - huge telly and king size bed, dodgy shower but the pros definitely outweighed the cons. The lobby, bar, lounge and restaurant are fabulous, and the staff, bar none, we're exceptional in their hospitality and helpfulness. We got a severely reduced rate via an internet site, but wouldn't hesitate in paying double to stay here again. No hotel will please everyone, and a place with so many people staying at once will create a few bad nights for a few people. If you've never stayed here, and are wondering whether to, just book it - we've stayed at the hilton, and the atmosphere at the midland shames it. Same time next year - babysitters willing!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear seanybaby,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and will pass your compliments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff onto the whole team here. I know everybody is very pleased when their hard work is appreciated.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 118 in Manchester
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 118 in Manchester
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing