We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best in Manchester !!!”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #12 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

On the positive side I would like to say the staff at this hotel were lovely and very friendly. The bed was very comfortable however we did have to change rooms from the one originally offered! We booked a king room and were given the smallest king I have ever seen. Taken with the fact that the bed linen was torn and the room was dirty we requested a room change. The second room was much improved.


Breakfast was included and the concierge pointed us in the right direction to the restaurant however on arrival we were told that we couldn't have breakfast in this room and sent to a different location. Here we were told to sit anywhere however a number of the tables were dirty with used dishes and the 'clean' tables all had dirty table linen and crumbs from previous occupants - this was not satisfactory. Slop from dirty dishes was in a slop bucket in the corner with used dishes piles behind the buffet ... Looked very unappetising. The food tasted as though it has been sitting on the buffet for a very long time. This hotel was very expensive for what is being offered and I would not stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jan103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Jan103,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to The Midland. I'm sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations and ask if you would be able to contact me directly on 0161 932 4127 or at tsmith@qhotels.co.uk to discuss your experience further.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,247 - 3,253 of 5,299 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Once again, the Midland is a hotel where one feels valued and treated well. The service is very good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I noticed that everything is computerised (i.e. menu, information, etc.). It is sad that Carlo has left I was told. In any case, we will continue staying at this hotel when in Manchester.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear FandangoEspanol,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at The Midland. Your kind comments regarding the service we offer are much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at The Midland and for the 2nd time we had a wonderful stay. Easy check in, helpful and friendly staff and a very nice room with a comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was very tasty and plenty of choice. We stayed for the Christmas markets which are very good and very close to the hotel. Overall a very good stay and would go back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear loz626,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read how much you enjoyed your second stay with us and that the location of the hotel suited your exploration of Manchester's famous Christmas Markets.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have been staying at the Midland one or two nights most weeks for the past year on business. The experience is always superb. Check-in is efficient (especially if you join the queue-jump which means your card is ready in an envelope which they just hand over), room service is prompt and the rooms are always really well presented and maintained during your stay. To top it all off, this week there was a hand-written Xmas card and a bottle of wine waiting for me in my room (I'm guessing they do this for their regular customers, but gestures like this go a long way). I anticipate contunuing to need to travel to Manchester every week for the next 12-18 months and the Midland will continue to be my first-choice of places to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Chris G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read how consistently great you have found the hotel and the service we offer - I hope you will enjoy your bottle of wine over the festive period and think of it as a thank you for your continued patronage of The Midland.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed during December to attend the theatre and Christmas Markets, hotel was in perfect location for both! Room was spotless clean and very comfortable! Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice! The hotel had a lovely Christmassy feel with a fabulous Christmas tree and smelt gorgeous as you walked into reception.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear joholidayManchester,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit to Manchester and found the hotel's location convenient for your purposes. I will pass on your compliments regarding the cleanliness to our Head Housekeeper and hope you will come to visit us again (before next Christmas!)

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have an annual sportmans dinner in Manchester each Christmas and for past 3 years my partner and little girl join me but not for the Sportmans dinner. We return to the Midland each year as the rooms are clean, tidy and spacious. My little girl loves the facilities and the pool. It is satisfying to know that as i am having a tough time my girls are having a great time. One of the main reasons we return each year is the staff. They are warm and friendly throughout especially on reception where nothing is too much trouble. Just the little things like staff delivering complimentary warm milk for our little girl at night means it makes it easier all around for us. I never make breakfast but I am told it is pleasant and plentiful.
We will be back next year but have decided to book a additional weekend city break at the Midland so I can actually enjoy the facilities this time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGNGNGNGNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear NGNGNGNGNG,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and I'm pleased to note that you have found the service across the hotel consistent throughout your several visits.

It's great to read that you'll be able to enjoy yourself more on your next weekend visit - I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Midland hotel Services amazing Loving the new the cocktail bar Don't even have to go out of the hotel to have a good night Excellent food Especially the breakfast plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noz174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Noz174,

Thank you for taking the time to write another excellent review of your stay at The Midland. It's great that you have found our service so consistent and I will pass your compliments onto the team at Mr. Cooper's House & Garden.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#8 of 121 in Manchester
1,494 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £94 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing