We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Poor food”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

There are lots of things to recommend here. Welcoming staff, comfortable rooms, good wifi but the food is really substandard. Breakfast not good quality for the price, one of the weirdest Thai curries I have ever had. In need of improvement guys.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank sibeliusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear sibeliusLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I will feed your compliments regarding our staff, rooms and facilities back to the relevant departments.

I'm sorry to read that your experience of the hotel food during your visit did not live up to your expectations - I will pass your comments onto our kitchen team so that they can make improvements where possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,919 - 2,925 of 5,102 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed very recently. The welcome was friendly . Our room clean and comfortable , although the mattress was a little soft to our taste. We dined out but had breakfast . It seemed very poorly organised and some people were forgotten. The food was excellent and special diet well catered for . A very annoying man carrying out his mobile phone call loudly was not dealt with.
In summary; it's a great position and our room was fine. Breakfast maybe best taken out as there's lots of choice locally. Try Veronica's patisserie.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gardener009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Gardener009,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you found the welcome to the hotel friendly and that your room was clean and comfortable.

I'm sorry to read that you were disappointed with your breakfast experience - I will pass your constructive comments onto the relevant teams so that they can me improvements where possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed there on business for 1 night then i had to stay in manchester another night & i was lucky enough to stay there again!! The reception area reminded me of the MGM in Las Vegas!! I felt really spoilt for 2nights in these plush surroundings. If i ever stay in manchester for personal reasons i would definiitely stay there!! Location was fabulous for eating out too!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear LJB45,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read how impressed you were by the hotel and especially our lobby - to be compared to the MGM Grand is high praise indeed!

I'm pleased to read that you felt spoiled during your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel itself if beautiful and it gives you the "special" feeling when you walk in. Rooms are comfy although a bit tired, bed had a massive dip in the middle so the sleep really wasn't all that great. Spa looks great on the photos, it is a bit old and tired, saunas are separate for male and female and it really is tiny.
Good location though, it is only about 10 mins walk into the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear tucniak,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read how special you found the hotel lobby and that our location suited your trip to Manchester.

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your room and our Leisure Club; I will pass your constructive feedback onto the relevant teams for them to make improvements where possible. It would be great if you could contact me directly at tsmith@qhotels.co.uk to let me know which room you stayed in - so that I can ensure the issue with your bed is addressed by our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Had just one night here on business, but has been perfect! Arriving fairly late in the evening the location was ideal to quickly reach decent restaurants on foot. My room and especially bed were incredibly comfortable so a great night's rest was had. The continental breakfast was good, with very friendly service, and following an early meeting had a long wait before flying home. I spent this time in the lounge area, using their free wifi, and being extremely well looked after by Colin Prescott, a stand out member of the team, serving in the Octagon. He was really attentive without interrupting me whilst hastily working, but was always right there when I wanted something. He also very kindly recommended the best table to sit at for a constant power supply which made my afternoon both productive and enjoyable! Thanks Colin! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carla a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear carla a,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read how comfortable you found your room and particularly the bed.

It's also fantastic to read about the great service you received from our breakfast team and later Colin on the Octagon Lounge. I will pass your thanks onto Colin on your behalf; for his attentive but unobtrusive service.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband had booked us in as part of our anniversary celebrations. We were given a complimentary upgrade, and had a card for us in our room. Such a lovely touch and greatly appreciated. The room was spacious and comfortable. We had a lovely view of the Manchester Christmas markets which just added to the magic for us.

The staff throughout our stay were polite and attentive.

The hotel is beautiful, attention to detail at every turn.

We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of breakfast in Mr Cooper's. The food was plentiful and warm, which is so important with these types of breakfast services. When we were seated I was asked if I wanted any eggs, I had fried eggs cooked to my liking fresh and were served at the same time it had taken me to go around the rest of the hot foods.

Our only grumble, is this, when we came in from our evening meal (we had eaten in Manchester), we asked at reception for some more milk & coffee for the room refreshments. The receptionist said that this wouldn't be a problem and would send some up, but none ever arrived. We mentioned it the following morning and got an apology, but it didn't take back the fact we had wanted a drink in our room, couldn't have one and ended up waiting an hour in case it arrived.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cachersifyoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear cachersifyoucan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments relating to the standard of service you received and how much you enjoyed your relaxed breakfast in Mr. Cooper's House & Garden are much appreciated - I will pass your compliments onto the appropriate teams for their hard work.

I'm sorry to read that you did not receive the requested extras for your room after dinner; I will speak with our Housekeeping and Reception teams to ensure that they are aware of this oversight and can prevent it from happening in the future.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

we recently stayed at the Midland for a company meeting including a black tie function.
The customer service was second to none.
i would highly recommend this hotel. the facilities are excellent and perhaps more importantly, customer experience is clearly a massive priority for the management team

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear cheryl m,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read how pleased you were with the facilities available at the hotel; and especially how important you feel the guest experience is to the hotel management.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,366 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £90 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing