We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“proper old fashioned grand hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford-in-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“proper old fashioned grand hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

When I last stayed at the Midland I thought it had a lot going for it - pleasant attentive staff, fine building, the wonderful French Restaurant - but was a bit run down at least as far as my room was concerned. I revisited a year later and everything was pretty well perfect. My room was huge and immaculate, I appreciated the Nespresso machine and the level of service was very impressive indeed but not impersonal. Quite expensive but perfectly fair value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jms020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear jms020,

I’m so pleased to read that we’ve been able to further improve your opinion of The Midland during your most recent visit; and that you were so impressed by your guest room.

I will be sure to pass your comments on the impressive level of service you enjoyed from the front of house team and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to help other users make an informed decision when travelling to Manchester.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,664
    1,367
    482
    146
    77
See reviews for
636
1,894
162
1,148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Visited this hotel earlier this year with the family.
Family room was very spacious, hotel location excellent (£8 taxi ride from the train station) especially for city centre shopping.
Looks like it has had a recent makeover, new carpets and very clean.
Restaurant fully booked on Sunday night so we ate out in China Town, plenty of choice within walking distance.
Breakfast was excellent, glad we included this when we booked the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear mw8,

It’s great to read how pleased you were with the location of the hotel for your trip to Manchester; as well as the spacious room you and your family enjoyed.

I will share your compliments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the excellent breakfast you experienced with the team here, who I’m sure will be pleased that their hard work has been appreciated.

I hope to welcome you and your family back to The Midland very soon, thank you for sharing such an excellent stay with the TripAdvisor community.

Kind regards,

Thomas smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

SIMPLY THE BEST AND MOST ICONIC BUILDING IN THE CITY.
Cant wait to visit this great hotel again very soon. Manchester really is a great city and you should check it out for yourself.
nip in to Albert Square and check out Reds True BBQ restaurant for a really great night out. Say hi to Jimmy the doorman for us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 021064DavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear 021064DavidS,

To be described as “Manchester’s Finest Hotel” is certainly a fantastic compliment and something I know the whole team here at The Midland aspire to.

I have to agree Manchester is a wonderful city with so much to experience; it’s great to read that you can’t wait to return to the hotel on your next visit - equally, we can’t wait to welcome you again in the near future! I hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Without a doubt it's a classic hotel from a bygone era a truly stunning piece of architecture nestled in the heart of Manchester 3 mins walk from the city centre and all that is Manchester and the breakfast was fantastic with everything you could ever wish for

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear James E,

It’s wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your celebratory stay at The Midland, we are certainly lucky to have such a fantastic, architecturally stunning building to work from and it’s great to read that our location also suited your trip to Manchester.

I will pass your compliments to the breakfast staff in Mr. Cooper’s House & Garden, particularly the kitchen team who I know will be pleased that their hard work behind the scenes is appreciated.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on a future trip to the city; I look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

From the moment you walk in ,it is such a beautiful hotel . Checkin was made easy and luggage was waiting in room. The food was really nice whilst attending a conference here. Drinks at the bar were pricey but at a rate you expect in most city centre hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Redjoe,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary and concise review of your experience at the hotel. It’s wonderful to read how easy our team were able to make your check-in and how useful you found our porter service.

I’m sure the whole team here will be thrilled to read your comments; I hope to welcome you back to The Midland on their behalf very soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel. So friendly. Reception was welcoming. A bottle of wine was delivered to our room to aid our celebration courtesy of the hotel, a lovely touch. The room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the library. We had some coffee in the octagon lounge. Great service in impressive surroundings. We ate in Mr coopers. Beautiful food, friendly staff and a great price. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear jrpaz,

Your wonderful comments regarding the excellent nature of the service you received from Reception as well as the teams on the Octagon lounge and in Mr. Cooper’s House & Garden are much appreciated; it’s great to read we are able to aid your celebration in the form of a bottle of wine - with our compliments.

Thank you for taking the time to recommend The Midland via TripAdvisor, I hope to welcome you back to Manchester very soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just stayed here for two nights as on a conference; great, central location and within easy walking distance of shops and all local attractions and about 8 minutes walk from the station. Really nice having a conference located within the same hotel staying in, as very easy to pop to one's room and have a bit of time out for catching up on urgent work etc. This really took the stress out of being away from work and home out of things. All wifi'd so that made a very pleasant change from the hassle of having to pay for it as an additional etc; makes a HUGE difference for guests!! Thank you! :) Staff and service was excellent and reception, dining room, bar and concierge staff all excellent! Room lovely and spacious with everything you need and king size bed; fab! :) Food nice and everything just made very easy. Highly recommend!

Two areas for improvements and and only slight negatives! for me! I really loathe dining room Muzak and could well live sans it and one or too bit could do with a bit of modernisation. That's all though.

Room Tip: Away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Lisa R,

I’m pleased to read how convenient you found the hotel for your conference trip to Manchester. I’ve conferred all of your kind comments onto the team here, particularly your compliments regarding the food – I know the kitchen brigade are always thrilled when their hard work has been appreciated.

I hope we can welcome you back to The Midland very soon, thank you for sharing your thoughts with TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing