We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I returned to the Midland Hotel to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.We stayed at the Midland on our wedding night too.The hotel is such a beautiful place to be from the moment you walk up the steps to the very welcoming reception staff and the divine rooms.The hotel holds very special memories and it still has that magical feel to it.The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.There was a que at breakfast but the staff were very quick at opening another room so that people didn't have to wait.Breakfast was lovely and very civilized.We can't wait to revisit the magical Midland again,hopefully before our 20th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Liz H,

What a pleasure to be part of the celebrations for your tenth anniversary, particularly given the history you have with the hotel.

Your wonderful review means so much to each and every member of the team here – please don’t wait another ten years to return!

Best wishes,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,662
    1,365
    481
    146
    77
See reviews for
636
1,891
162
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night on a bed and continental breakfast basis whilst attending the nearby Bridgewater Hall to see Bert Bacharach and his band. We arrived very early but fortunately a room was available and a request for a quiet room was granted. The room was ideal with two double beds and everything that you would expect from such an establishment. It appears that new beds have been provided which was good. On recent previous visits (I don't review a hotel every time that I visit) we found that the continental breakfast in the Wyvern was somewhat of a bun fight with very little room to manoeuvre and guests and staff falling over themselves. It does appear that someone has got a grip of the situation and noted the problem. On this occasion the Wyvern was dedicated to groups of people and others used the main restaurant which was much better. We enjoyed the food and service and were pleased with the new arrangements. Well done, see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Clive S,

Thank you for taking the time to write another detailed review of The Midland – I’m so pleased that we have re-gained your faith in the hotel and that you feel we have made positive changes particularly to the breakfast arrangements.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Manchester very soon so that you can experience the continuous improvement for which we strive.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed in the Midland while on a business trip to Manchester. Staff were so helpful and accommodating. Arrived very early not expecting to be able to check in but my room was ready as soon as I arrived. Breakfast was very good and really quick service. Room was very nice, can't fault this hotel and would happily stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola_Rose83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Lola_Rose83,

We were so pleased that your business brought you to Manchester and - more importantly; to The Midland. It’s fantastic to read how impressed you were with all aspects of your trip especially that we were able to accommodate your early arrival.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon and wish you safe travels in the meantime.

Best wishes,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this amazing hotel whilst visiting Coronation Street (approx 5 minute walk away). The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly & helpful. We stayed in a king room which was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. Evenings at the bar downstairs are so relaxing with a pianist playing soft music. Continental breakfast was included in the price of the room and was delicious with a nice selection to pick from and the option to upgrade to hot food for an extra £12 per person. If I was to return to Manchester I would certainly stay here again.
*If staying on a Friday night there was a special discounted rate available.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Matthew T,

I'm so pleased to read how impressed you were by your visit to The Midland; I hope you had a wonderful time exploring the Coronation Street tour.

Your fantastic comments will mean so much to our team – I know they will join me in looking forward to welcoming you back to Manchester soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Overall this is a very beautiful hotel:
- really nice, comfortable and spacious lobby areas (bar/ cafe/ lobby). This is particularly helpful when you need to do some work too or have work-related meetings.
- very clean rooms and bathroom, very well presented and very spacious (at least the standard room i stayed in).
- excellent staff; always very polite and helpful.
- excellent location; couldn't be more central.

A few minor things:
- There are several dinning areas for breakfast (and I think they serve different type of breakfast in each). This was slightly confusing. I wonder if it would be better (and possibly more cost-effective?) if the hotel simplified this..
- The bar is overpriced (but you can always go at any other local bar/ pub anyway).

Room Tip: My room was great, but check with the hotel as the rooms may vary in size and window type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nat k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear nat k,

Your lovely review means a lot to the team here, so thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor.

We will take your constructive points on board and I have already passed your suggestions onto the relevant departments for review.

I hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the near future.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

stayed here may 2014 all staff were helpful and polite but one in particular that stays in mind was Adam (security) he was polite and extremely helpful he made our stay comfortable by making sure we were happy with the service we were receiving, our room was spacious and comfortable and was impressed with breakfast service over all fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Vicky A,

Your kind compliments regarding how helpful and polite our team is here are much appreciated and I will be sure to pass your particular thanks onto Adam, who I’m sure will join me in hoping to welcome you back to The Midland very soon.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor and helping other travellers to make an informed decision when choosing accommodation in Manchester.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights and would not really rush back if I am honest.

My room although it had everything you needed was really small with huge high windows that you could not open to get fresh air and the air con did not want to cool the room down much.

The bed was comfortable though and nice pillows.

Ordered room service the first night a burger that was around £14, a large bottle of still water and a large glass of Chardonnay. I about had a heart attack when I saw the bill, £11 for a glass of wine! There is no wine list in the room and it felt like they are capitalising on business guests on expense accounts.

The burger was too well cooked and the chips were cold and soggy, not at all recommended. The menu was very limited and disappointing.

Had a drink in the bar with colleagues the following night and other wines about £7 a glass, chardonnay £11 again.

Hotel has a certain old charm about it but really silly prices!

Parking at the nearby NCP was over £18 a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_N68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Emma_N68,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with TripAdvisor. I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed with the prices at the hotel – I can assure you these prices are standard across similar establishments in the city.

I will pass your compliments to our housekeeping team regarding the bed which you found so comfortable, however I am concerned to see that you scored the hotel poorly on Location, Cleanliness and Service – elements of your experience which are not described in your review – I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay further if you might be able to contact me at tsmith@qhotels.co.uk.

I hope to hear from you very soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing