We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, I'm in my 20's so it was a bit dated for me however overall very satisfied with the room, room service and the restaurant. I generally walk around in shorts and t shirt and got a few weird looks but you cant help other people. Good bars and pubs very close, so not far to stagger.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank APuntersBestFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear APuntersBestFriend,

Thank you on behalf of the whole team here for taking the time to write your review. It's great to read that you found our location suited your trip to Manchester.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Midland soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,622
    1,350
    477
    147
    78
See reviews for
630
1,871
160
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel on business in May. This is a high end 4 star hotel.

Liked
- Excellent room (albeit rather small)
- Lovely modern/classical design
- Great location in central Manchester

Disliked:
- Very poor breakfast choice. Good hot choices, but not a wide enough variety in cold.
- It seems that the doors/walls facing the corridors are not well insulated for noise, as I could hear steps and conversations very clearly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yiorgok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear yiorgok,

We were so pleased that your business brought you to Manchester and - more importantly; to The Midland. It’s fantastic to read how impressed you were with most aspects of your trip and I will be sure to convey your suggestions for improvements to the responsible departments for review.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon and wish you safe travels in the meantime.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Q Hotels website offered an amazing deal for 2 nights at one of the UK's most famous hotels. As a kid in Manchester i never imagined I'd dare enter the building, let alone stay a few times. One of my heroes, the conductor Arvid Jansons died in the hotel, not, I imagine, featured on the walls, but they do display amazing things from the archives. Only negative is the automated mini-bar (hate them...made mistake of putting cheese in it and triggered £10 of charges). Super breakfast with genuinely freshly squeezed orange juice (the Hilton offers nasty pasteurised stuff whenever i have stayed). The new COCKTAIL BAR had amazing drinks with a real expert mixing them; this was very special. Great warm Mancunian welcome and fantastic value. Nice to have a bath not just a shower.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gurneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear gurneyfan,

Thank you for such a super review – I’m pleased to read how impressed you were with your stay and particularly the archive material we’re so lucky to be able to display on the corridors of the hotel.

A warm Mancunian welcome awaits you once again on your next visit; I look forward to seeing you very soon.

Best wishes,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Everything it said on the tin, good quality 4 star hotel, in a location, very welcoming and warm reception. Roombar prices were also fairly ok. If you are looking for a luxury 4 star it is not that but no complaints about the hotel whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_calvinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear the calvinator,

Thank you for your review. We hope your travels bring you back to Manchester – and of course The Midland – again soon.

With kind regards and thanks from all the team,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from 2 nights at the Midland. We had paid to upgrade to a suite but were quite disappointed mainly due to a very large bathroom with very little in it. Why no separate shower when you have all that space. Mentioned this at reception to find they upgraded us to the 'Grand' suite, as it was the only room available with a walk in shower. We were so surprised, and very impressed. We ate in The French.... wow, 10 course taster menu fantastic, better than La Gavroche well worthy of a star rating the next time round. The service was outstanding, faultless. Mr Coopers the following night was good too, not quite up to The French, but generally good. The only negative was that the duck was quite fatty, and as the evening went on we felt a little bit forgotten about, but we do have very high expectations. We didn't realise that the bed and breakfast was only continental (the description when we booked said bed and Midland breakfast) there was a £10 supplement for a full English. Although they don't advertise it (as it is privately owned) they do have a spa. That was great too, excellent value and the staff lovely. Overall there is very little to fault at the Midland, the service is exceptional with very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a separate shower if you don't want to have to step in to a bath. Book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Graing,

Everyone at The Midland is here to make our guests’ stays special and memorable and I am delighted to read how impressed you were by the helpful and friendly nature of our team.

I’m sure they will join me in looking forward to your return to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice hotel,,we stay here alot,always made so welcome on arrival,,the best time to stay is when the Christmas market is on,,the hotel is in a great location for shopping,nightlife..and the market is just round the corner..the rooms are nice and comfy ,,price range is pricey but it is an excellent 4star hotel..top tip book early as poss to get very good rates..

Room Tip: High floors are best for noise reduction,,not a noisy hotel though after 11pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Alan H,

We take real pride in the service we extend to our guests and your complimentary comments will be much appreciated by our team here.

A warm welcome awaits you once again on your next visit; I look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night, but the staff was courteous and helpful, the building is beautiful, and the rooms are very comfy. Free Wi-Fi in every room, heated towel racks and a smart tv to give you details about the city and hotel. Parking was expensive, but is close to the hotel. Free apples in the lobby!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Jordan S,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing The Midland for your trip to Manchester.

I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your visit (and the apples in reception!) and hope that you will be able to stay again soon.

With all good wishes,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing