We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic style, comfortable and excellent service”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Classic style, comfortable and excellent service”
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We stayed here after our wedding and even though we weren't able to spend much time here, we enjoyed it very much. The public parts of the hotel have classic style and the lobby area was very spacious and impressive. Our room was very good but a minor criticism is that it could have followed the same styling slightly better. The bed was very big and comfortable, and the view over the library would have been great if there hadn't been refurbishment work being done on the pedestrianised zone outside it; not the hotel's fault. I think the room could have been upgraded for us, and we had a card and cooled champagne waiting when we arrived! Reception staff were very nice, professional and paid attention to detail to make our stay enjoyable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashvinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,840
    1,417
    503
    157
    82
See reviews for
688
1,996
169
1,203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Syney
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Great location, very close to all the action in inner Manchester. Everything is within reach by walking. Great restaurants, pubs & bars. Arndale Shopping Centre is within walking distance for some good shopping.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTrottingGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

An older type hotel that tries hard to stay relevant and up to date. An ideal location as it is within easy walking distance of most places you might want to visit but just far enough away from the noisier sections of the city. Rooks as with most UK hotels are on the smaller side but clean and well appointed. Good amenities and professional friendly staff. The restaurant facilities are over priced for the standard offered in a city that is overflowing with great restaurants. A good base for any type of traveler be they couples, families, or solo on business. Highly recommended overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Stunning hotel. Beautiful bed in the room. Clean and comfortable, great nights sleep. Breakfast in the restaurant....

wow...
The restaurant really is something special. Helpful friendly staff. A great stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Tom M,

Such a wonderful review means a great deal to each and every member of the team here - thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Midland very soon.

Best wishes,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Hotel was lovely, very luxurious and staff were super helpful. Great position in Central Manchester, ideal for exploring the city. We booked via an independent website and got a bargain but would happily have paid more for the quality of the service and facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Hannah S,

Your complimentary comments are much appreciated by all of the staff here at The Midland, I hope we can host your next exploration of Manchester soon – I’m sure our Concierge would be more than pleased to suggest some hidden gems of the city.

Happy travels in the meantime!

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

My disabled wife and I found The Midland Hotel on Last minute.com. having battled through the roadworks in the centre of Manchester, we finally found the hotel. Upon arrival, the concierge staff were outstanding. They unloaded a mountain of disability equipment from our vehicle and then even found us a parking meter in the side street next to the hotel. Our disabled room was first class: couldn't fault it and the whole ambience of the hotel was stunning. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant because we wanted to visit Chinatown, which is literally around the corner and we had a great Chinese meal. When we checked out - at 12 noon - the brilliant concierge recommended a local Italian restaurant for lunch. All in all, an excellent experience! Full marks!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Mike J,

It’s fantastic to read how impressed you were with the service our concierge team provided during your visit to The Midland and that one of our accessible rooms helped your wife to enjoy her stay.

I’m sure Paul, David and Max, who you met during your visit, will join me in hoping to welcome you back to Manchester very soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We enjoyed our annual visit to this fine and well maintained hotel, (30th August 2014). The reception staff were welcoming and informative. The room, although a touch on the csmall side was clean and, for the short length of our stay was comfortable.
When I booked the room several months ago I requested bed and breakfast. On attentance in the restuarant on the Sunday morning we were informed it was a continental breakfast, but we could update to a full English breakfast for £10 per person. I was not informed of the extra charge when I booked. For the past six years the full range of breakfast was included in the price. The choice of food available was, in my opinion less than in previous years.
Although not a major point, it was disappointing for a hotel with the reputation it has should be seen to be squeezing that little bit more out of its customers.
Please do not be detered from staying at this hotel as its good points far outweigh the very few minor poor ones.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOHN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 118 in Manchester
673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing