We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How a hotel should be.”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2009

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Midland. The room was fantastic but it was the service that really stood out for me. These days there are far too many hotels with a skeleton staff of people who don't care whether you have a good stay or not. However every member of staff at the Midland would be on hand to see to your every need and go that little bit further to ensure your stay is as comfortable and relaxing as possible. All this does not come cheap, but it is similarly priced to competitors such as Holiday Inn and I know where I would rather stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiehouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,953 - 4,959 of 5,207 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2009

i booked afternoon tea for six at the midland to celebrate my elderly parents diamond wedding anniversary. my mother had always admired the midland hotel as apparently it has traditionally been known as the premier hotel in manchester. my parents live in cheshire and they no longer drive in manchester as at their age they find the traffic too much, so i booked for the celebrationary tea for febuary when i would be able to travel up from my home in southern england. my mother was thrilled as she has never before been inside the midland hotel. we were seated in the lounge and i noted that the chairs and settee had seen better days. we were not asked what type of tea we would like, but i overlooked that. however, when the food arrived i was extremely disappointed. there were 3 finger sandwiches per person, 1 rather overcooked scone per person with 2 varieties of jam and cream. the jam and cream provided for 6 people was clearly insufficient, and to top that, the cakes provided were all very similar and very dry. there were 2 meringues and also 2 tartlets. were the other 2 members of our party not eligible for meringue or tartlet? i was disappointed as it was a diamond weddind celebration and felt that my parents may well go away hungry. i immediately ordered a further scone, jam and cream for each person, despite the quality being somewhat less than expected. the bill for this feast came to approximately £150. we left without complaining as i didnt want to spoil my parents special day. i complained the next day by telephone, only to be told that the manager was not available but would return my call. the call was not returned, and several e-mails have been completely ignored. it seems that the midland hotel managers feel they do not need to respond to complaints. i have taken afternoon tea in a wide variety of hotels both in london and outside of london. i can confidently report that the quality and quantity offered at the midland is the worst i have ever had. i have taken tea at the ritz in london and also at the lowry in manchester, and for those people who are looking to enjoy the experience of afternoon tea in manchester, please take my advice and go to the far superior lowry, you will not regret it. as to the rooms at the midland, i cannot give an opinion, and following our experience of their food and customer service, it is unlikely i will ever decide to stay there. they are trading on their past glory, and other hotels now offer far superior quality.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We were lucky enough to win a fine dining break at The Midland. There was a bit of bother getting the day we wanted as they had limited spaces for prize winners but, after a bit of negociation and discussion, they finally accommodated us on the day we wanted.

It proved to be absolutely wonderful and we could not fault anything at all. The only thing we regret was staying at the Victoria and Albert hotel the night after where we were attending a function. The V and A was trash in comparison.

The main thing about the hotel was the staff. I am sure that the staff were from all parts of the World, but, and I know it a sensitive issue, there were no language problems at all. How often does someone stay in a hotel in the UK these days and have problems communicating with key staff? They all seemed cheeful and happy to work there as well. Nothing was too much of a problem.

We stayed in one of the mid range deluxe rooms which was clean, suitably spacious and well equipped. Facing inwards it was very quiet.

We ate in the French resturant as part of the package which was a wonderful experience with, again, attentive staff willing to please. We had breakfast in the Colony where there was ample choice and all the food was well prepared.

This hotel may be a bit more pricy than others for one night's stay in Manchester but it is better if you stay for more than one night. You get what you pay for, however, and The Midland has added value. We are planning a trip there again at some point even though we do not live far away.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Stayed one night whilst attending a conference. Firstly they had no record of my booking despite the conference organisers having confirmation. Gave me a room where previous occupant had been smoking - aircon was on full on cold to try and get rid of the smell so the room was like an ice box. Moved me but couldn't give me a quiet room because they said they were full (there is a very noisy tram that runs every 10 mins along the front and side of the hotel from 6am to past midnight so if you are a light sleeper and they don't have room at the back of the hotel stay somewhere else). They didn't ask for my card to charge to my room so later that evening when I asked for drinks from the bar (by the way pint of beer is £8!) they wouldn't accept my room card. Said I would phone down from my room with my credit card details which I did. At 11.40pm when I was already in bed they phoned to say I had to go back down to sign for the drinks! They then sent someone up with the slip for me to sign and had added a service charge because they had to come to my room to get it signed! Conference service was poor. Waited 10 mins to be seated the next morning at breakfast. Asked for latte and 30 mins later still had not got one. Only 2 people at the desk on checkout - queues horrendous as they had 3 conference groups in - and the wait to pick up the luggage from the concierge later in the afternoon was even worse. Internet did not work - kept dropping out - and charged £8 for 2 hours - many hotels now providing wi-fi free. This hotel is overrated, expensive and poor service.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Our first stay at the Midland. We had a lovely time. It is a magnificent building, the decor was fabulous. We booked a standard room and only paid £95 including breakfast. The room was on the small side which was as expected but perfectly functional , immaculate and beautifully decorated ... but oh dear the bed was frankly a disappointment. We have never slept in such a small double bed in a hotel which considering the Midland's status and star rating was a bit of a let down, particularly when budget hotels like the Premier Travel Inn give you at the least a King Size if not a Super King Size.bed. Everything else - the decor, service, breakfast was absolutely first class and we would book again - but only in a twin room where we can push the beds together! Still a very huge recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherineonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Large grand old hotel recently done up to very high standard. Extremely central as opp Central Library, Art Gallery, 3-5mins stroll from main upmarket shopping street-King Street-and the nearby Arndale Centre. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby and 15-20mins walk to Picaddily Train Station with connection to airport.

Don't book breakfast in the hotel as 2-3 nice deli/cafe's around the corner/across the road with all day full breakfast for £3-4 even on Sunday. While my double room wasn't huge it was stylishly done up with a nice bathroom and was overall very comfortable. There was a leisure centre in the hotel and I asked for a quiet room and got one on the first floor with a view of the interior courtyard (very dull) but was really quiet and I never heard the two wedding receptions which were on the same floor on two seperate nights!The staff were all pleasant, friendly and i got a great deal of dobule room 3 nights exc breakfast for €208 and would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank figurecollectors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I travelled up to Manchester for my first time in January on a 2 day business trip. I stayed at the Midland Hotel Manchester as it was the nicest place my work would shell out for! Much better and more charismatic than a Premier Inn.

The staff were pleasant and the buffet breakfast service was superb as another reviewer has mentioned. I feel however that the hotel could do with more in terms of entertainment and internet access, I felt that although the hotel provided my rudimentary accommodation to a high standard it had little in the way of extras.

I booked my stay at The Midland Hotel through http://www.themidlandhotel.info. They were very knowledgeable about the local area and helped me to choose the right hotel

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ninjarobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#20 of 120 in Manchester
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 120 in Manchester
4,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £92 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing