We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but Disorganised”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Booked a table for dinner in the restaurant at 9pm on the day of arrival. Got all dresses up for dinner only to come down at 8:45 to find that we couldnt eat in the restaurant and had to have a buffet dinner in the breakfast room. This is not right! We had to go out for dinner at this late stage. Im not happy about this I had taken my sister away for a couple of nights and we were going to see a show the night after. I have written to the manager so we will see what the reply is. Being over 65ish myself and my sister having walking difficulties, it is not easy to find somewhere for dinner late in the evening on a friday night and we had to settle for an average, not what we expected.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumbria24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,842 - 4,848 of 5,101 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2009

Have been going to this hotel for many years and have no complaints however the new decor vastly detracts from the edwardian building and doesnt fit in with it at all. Other than this no complaints brilliant hotel in a brilliant location definately worth spending the extra bit of money for.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeva90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

There's something special about this place. A real sense of history from a time of railway journeys being an adventure. Each floor has some momento from it's history by the lifts for you to read; fragments of glass from a cofee table broken during England's World Cup win in 1966 (and a letter of apology from the customer), postcards sent from around the world. I wonder what I'll find at easter.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank actormat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Having decided to book a night away for my wife's birthday with a hopefully special meal included I was dissapointed to find our £110 room came without breakfast and was much smaller than our bedroom at home and the leisure club was tatty and outdated.
The French restaurant promised much with it's impressive dining room but delivered nothing more than low standard badly cooked food.
Our expensive bottle of red wine came nothing short of chilled, having made the point to the Head Waiter the response was a gallic shrug and an admission that replacement of the bottle would not make any difference as all the bottles were stored in the same room.
My 'medium rare' fillet of beef came medium to well done accompanied by 'rare' potatoes. The bill for two came to the best part of £200, I felt the meal warranted a bill a quarter of that based on the cooking skill demonstrated.
I felt I did not want to complain further so as not to ruin the occasion but I could have pretty much had a moan about every aspect of the meal.
Unfortunately the Midland may well survive on an outdated reputation, transient trade and businessmen's expense accounts but it is completely undeserved.
Maybe I'm wrong and it won't as I managed to get a room and restaurant booking at relatively short notice after not managing to get availability at Abode four weeks ago, a modern, forward thinking, creative establishment not a lumbering, lazy, complacent giant.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Stayed here rather the crashing on a friends floor. Love it. The food's great especially breakfast and it's really close to everything. You sometimes end up in the lift with random celebs. My only criticism would be the parking costs as you need to park at the ncp across the road.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furrybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Midland. The room was fantastic but it was the service that really stood out for me. These days there are far too many hotels with a skeleton staff of people who don't care whether you have a good stay or not. However every member of staff at the Midland would be on hand to see to your every need and go that little bit further to ensure your stay is as comfortable and relaxing as possible. All this does not come cheap, but it is similarly priced to competitors such as Holiday Inn and I know where I would rather stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiehouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

i booked afternoon tea for six at the midland to celebrate my elderly parents diamond wedding anniversary. my mother had always admired the midland hotel as apparently it has traditionally been known as the premier hotel in manchester. my parents live in cheshire and they no longer drive in manchester as at their age they find the traffic too much, so i booked for the celebrationary tea for febuary when i would be able to travel up from my home in southern england. my mother was thrilled as she has never before been inside the midland hotel. we were seated in the lounge and i noted that the chairs and settee had seen better days. we were not asked what type of tea we would like, but i overlooked that. however, when the food arrived i was extremely disappointed. there were 3 finger sandwiches per person, 1 rather overcooked scone per person with 2 varieties of jam and cream. the jam and cream provided for 6 people was clearly insufficient, and to top that, the cakes provided were all very similar and very dry. there were 2 meringues and also 2 tartlets. were the other 2 members of our party not eligible for meringue or tartlet? i was disappointed as it was a diamond weddind celebration and felt that my parents may well go away hungry. i immediately ordered a further scone, jam and cream for each person, despite the quality being somewhat less than expected. the bill for this feast came to approximately £150. we left without complaining as i didnt want to spoil my parents special day. i complained the next day by telephone, only to be told that the manager was not available but would return my call. the call was not returned, and several e-mails have been completely ignored. it seems that the midland hotel managers feel they do not need to respond to complaints. i have taken afternoon tea in a wide variety of hotels both in london and outside of london. i can confidently report that the quality and quantity offered at the midland is the worst i have ever had. i have taken tea at the ritz in london and also at the lowry in manchester, and for those people who are looking to enjoy the experience of afternoon tea in manchester, please take my advice and go to the far superior lowry, you will not regret it. as to the rooms at the midland, i cannot give an opinion, and following our experience of their food and customer service, it is unlikely i will ever decide to stay there. they are trading on their past glory, and other hotels now offer far superior quality.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,366 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £90 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing