We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel with great staff & good location”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough
1 review
“Top quality hotel with great staff & good location”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Manchester for a break. There is a lot of history (framed letters on the walls which were discovered in the attics of the hotel dating back 100 years - spooky but cool!!) and this adds to the general character and style of the hotel. Gorgeous bathroom with lovely hot, powerful shower, comfy bed (with a headboard that wierdly looks like the backs of two dining chairs?!?) and a fab location just a few minutes walk from central town. The breakfast was spot on - plenty of choice, good quality sausages and friendly staff. Two thumbs up :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueLagoon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,852
    1,419
    505
    157
    84
See reviews for
694
1,999
172
1,203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Booked 2 nights [Wed & Thur] in end of June. The hotel is centrally situated had rooms [will explain] facing the centre of the court no external noise, very good. Check-in uneventful and friendly, requested double bed @ time of booking and this was accommodated for.

1st Night - The room was quite large, with LCD I think is 26' or maybe slightly bigger, pretty good. Was looking forward to a good night rest but managed to catch only 2 -3 hours of sleep. Although given a double bed the beds were two singles pushed together. Obviously, anyone knows the uneveness can easily be felt when sleep in the centre of the bed. I kept waking up having rolled into the centre. Eventually, I had to push the two beds apart to get any sleep.

Room Service
Order RS full english breakfast the night before for delivery between 7.30-8am. Wrote on the card [choice of eggs [egg whites x2], no problem. The breakfast was delivered at 8.20am. Even after being prompted @ 8 by a phone call if it was coming since I had to leave at 8.30. When it finally arrived, I had 2 egg whites fried and nothing else! I paid £15[? maybe more].

2nd day -
Asked to be moved to a room with proper double bed and this was accommodated trouble free. Although the room was extremely small compared with the previous room. There were barely any xtra room for one to move about. The room was stocked with a LCD 20'yet both were advertised as a standard double room and incurring the same tariff. How does that square?

I didn't like to chance ordering another breakfast, just as well. It had taken 40 mins to check-out because the guy kept making mistakes with the bill. Despite having explained some of the charges were incorrect, which in all fairness he understood, but rather than applying credit he kept on producing invoices with more amount to be paid rather than less.

Being a business trip there is nothing worse then to have your valuable time wasted, particullary, in the morning.

I paid £121 for each night and in all fairness the it is not value for money!!! I would not be recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meltbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Stayed at the Midland for a couple of nights at the end of June 2008 - appreciated the history of the place and its location: tram station right outside, an easy walk to the shopping areas and some great pubs, Starbucks across the street. Room was clean and spacious enough. Staff was pleasant to deal with on all occasions. Would have no issue staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

After reading some of the reviews - good and bad ones - I didnt know what to expect when I arrived.

I was greeted with a warm smile and made me feel very welcome. My room was large and had lots of space. I was looking out onto the main road and yes i could here the tram but it wasnt that loud. I used the leisure facilities too - yes the pool is small, but everytime I used the pool it was quiet and I wasnt constantly bumping into anyone when I was swimming. Breakfast was help your self - which was good - on the second day they did run out of food - but it was replaced quickly.

I would recommend this hotel to any one as it is very central and the tram even stops outside of the hotel - perfect for if you wish to travel outside of the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz2k_Uk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

This is old fashioned hoteliering, with a massive lobby where the world conducts its business and a bustling atmosphere. I stayed only one night, but was impressed by the sheer hugeness, which is pretty rare these days. Not even a big city will have too many of these. The decor is a bit kitsch, but the room was great (I had a suite, presumably due to the massive conference booking that was going on whilst I was there). For once the bathrobe supplied was my size (XL!), but the usual problems with hotels: noisy air con and expensive internet; also afflict the Midland.

Had dinner on the French terrace, which was fine, and the service was great. Only bugbear was the breakfast, which was fairly anarchic due to the numbers at the aforementioned conference, resulting in too close an atmosphere and lots of dirty tables, and people sat in the wrong places etc. Having made good my threat to stay somewhere other than the Crowne Plaza, I would give this a go again if the budget was up to it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groggery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Typical business city hotel. So nice features, nice architecture - no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiths0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We booked a night here on bank holiday weekend in may. The hotel is centrally situated, but the noise from outside kept us awake at night. There were 3 lifts for a six floor hotel which couldnt cope with the amount of use. We popped back to the hotel to collect something from the room and this simple task took over half an hour as there were so many functions on the lifts couldnt cope. We walked back down 5 floors but the directions to the stairs were so poor that we ended up in the kitchen! At breakfast we had to queue for half an hour to get seated and then queued again for the buffet. We were then squashed in like sardines at the tables, and it took 10 minutes for glasses to appear at the drinks table. I was also extremely surprised that a large hotel did not offer any discounted parking at the nearby ncp, something which both the Radisson and the Hilton does. WE paid £110 for the night and quite frankly the service and experience would have been better at a travelodge!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymaker183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 118 in Manchester
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,308 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 118 in Manchester
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing