We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Venue, Service, Staff Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Midland
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Venue, Service, Staff Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

On arrival at the Hotel was greeted at reception with a friendly smile, check in was a dream. On arrival at our room the decor and furnishings where superb, and in keeeping with the building (Edwardian I think). We had a fantastic stay and look forward to returning again in the near future. I cannot recomend this Hotel and its staff more.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArcherChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 January 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,628
    1,351
    477
    148
    79
See reviews for
632
1,874
161
1,129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

WOW! stayed in room which was fab! checking was as easy i only wish the parking was lol! ground floor was well manned and staff looking out for you at every corner. the manager Paul introduced himself and made us feel like we was at home! nothing was too much for them and breakfast was treat. only 1 thing wrong in my mind and thats a car park but just ask staff cos they knew the best places to park. had a great bnights sleep and everything you would want in a city centre hotel was there and more. i'am new to Q-hotels and we shall be giving them a go again for defo!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancelikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 7 January 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a stay to the Midland Hotel in Manchester and I would just like to say we had a wonderful visit. We especially came to Manchester as this is my husbands home city. The staff were very courtious and helpful, the only thing I would say is we have been to many New Year Balls in both England and Scotland and I found the Midland was lacking in accessories i.e. proper party hats, streamers,balloons just something that would have made the evening a bit more special also the lack of free car parking was dreadful we paid out more than £60.00 to park our car at the NCP it would have been more convenient if the hotel supplied concessionary parking which was a bit more affordable. Other than that we had a wonderful time.
Regards
Margaret Knowle
Room 316 31st Dec 2009-3rd January 2010.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knowlesmargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 6 January 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Stayed here on NYE 2009 after a night at Bridgewater Hall. Large room with all you would need. Very comfortable & excellent service throughout despite hotel being totally full.
Hotel has good bar, though pricey. Parking expensive too naerby.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the-ladies-who-dine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 6 January 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

On entering this hotel the aroma and atmosphere in the grand entrance was lovely and the ambience it generated was very special. We initially wanted to upgrade and the staff were very helpful in assisting us at a busy time of the day. The difference in the rooms was very varied and the external rooms gave good views except for the 5th floor which is surrounded by an ornate stone balcony which blocks the view and makes the room feel a bit claustrophobic and dark. We ended up in a suite on the 2nd floor which was perfect overlooking the central library, the space in the suite and facilities were fantastic and luxurious. The only concern we had was the limited broadband access which was 2 hours per day, any additional use was charged which there maybe good reasons for but it seemed a bit cynical and a way of generating some income. Notwithstanding that one small concern our stay was fantastic and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NortonNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 6 January 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

Went to see a show at the Library theatre, which is just opposite the Midland Hotel, so decided to stay there. Booked dinner, bed and breakfast for one night for myself and 10 year old daughter, twin room.

Had a huge room with a double bed each. Room and bathroom both spotlessly clean and complimentary shampoos etc were high quality and included hair conditioner. Shower was extremely good, was thoroughly soaked after about 2 seconds.

Evening meals were plentiful, had a starter and main meal but not able to manage a pudding as so full, so had coffees and hot chocolate in their place instead. Breakfasts lovely, with wide range of choice.

In the leisure centre, pool was a bit cool for me but not for my daughter. Jacuzzi lovely and warm, noticed regular checks were made on the water by the staff. Free table tennis available in the leisure centre which was good fun.

All staff very approachable and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay. Recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 6 January 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Myself and friends visited the Midland Hotel, Manchester for lunch prior to a Christmas Concert being held nearby. I have stayed at the Hotel on several occasions and enjoyed it very much.
However I was extremely disappointed on this occasion. The waitress was not at all familar with the menu and when she was asked simple questions regarding the menu she was gone for at least 10 minutes at a time before returning. This happened 2/3 times and after approximately 25 minutes we still didn't have any drinks. On checking the status of our order with another member of staff she was very unhelpful and dismissive and continued to put milk jugs on tables that were unoccupied rather than dealing with my party of friends. We would have left and gone somewhere else but there were blizzard like conditions outside and one member of our party is quite elderly.
The food was nothing special when it came and the mince pies were only fit for the dustbin. Very disappointed visit and won't be rushing back in a hurry.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 6 January 2010
Thank you for raising your concern, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. I would be grateful if you could contact me at The Midland Hotel providing a telephone number and/or email address which I can contact you on.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#18 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing