We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Midland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Princess St. Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,411)
Filter reviews
5,411 results
Traveller rating
3,077
1,509
545
183
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,077
1,509
545
183
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr coopersafternoon teaq hotelsoctagon loungebeautiful hotelsuperior roomfantastic staymini barreception areacentral manchestersaturday nightlovely roomcooked breakfastcity centrestayed for one nightmember of staffmidlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,063 - 5,068 of 5,411 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2010

The hotel on the face of it was good, but the room and bathroom was really dark and depressing.

We would not stay here again.

We don`t expect drink prices to be cheap, but the prices here were very high.

Overall, just "okay". Didn`t live up to the reputation the hotel has earned.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aash23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2010

Thank you for raising your concern, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you.




Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The service was excellent from booking in to checking out. The suite was nicely furnished in a traditional style.
In particular dinner at the French Restaraunt was superb
Good location in the centre of the city so what more could you want
didnt have time to try the health centre so cant comment on that
would love to stay again

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ChrisPeers000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

My husband and I are from the US, and we were visiting relatives in the Manchester area over the Christmas/New Year holiday. They booked a room and the New Year's Eve Black & White Ball for us at the Midland Hotel. The hotel is beautiful and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Our room was lovely, very large with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom, flat screen TV, tea/coffee maker and mimi bar. The NYE dinner dance was wonderful. The ballroom was elegant, the food was delicious and nicely presented, and the service was friendly and attentive. We found the DJ very entertaining and the live band was enjoyable. It was delightful to stay at the Midland and attend the Black & White Ball.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Our daughter has just started law school and this was our first trip to visit her in Manchester. She suggested this hotel as it is close to her accomodation in the Hacienda flats. The room was a bit on the small side but nevertheless nicely appointed. However, the bedspread was absolutely filthy. I called the customer service dept and they said they would send someone to check this out. The maid arrived with another bedspread and agreed that it needed replacing as it was disgusting. The blanket clearly wasn't clean either but she hadn't brought a fresh one so I didn't complain. Breakfast was included but people were literally queuing outside the dining room so we didn't bother as it was clearly going to be a long wait. There must have been at least 20 people waiting for food-we loved Manchester but think we will have to find somewhere else to stay in future. Also got stung by high NCP parking charges of £38 for about 36hrs.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenn1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2010

Thank you for raising your concern, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you.

regards
Neil Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Stayed for one night but would have stayed a lot longer if we could, hotel was ideally situated for the palace theatre we went to see sound of music but was very disapointed "Connie" was a no show so the hotel more than made up for it. For such a large hotel nothing was too much trouble for the staff , very friendly, attentive and welcoming, room was beautiful very clean and well stocked towels,toilteries tea, coffee etc , even teenage daughter was happy. We ate breakfast ,again highly recommended lots of choice and then reluctantly checked out. We will return, car parking charges were as expected have stayed in lots of city centre hotels and not many of them have free parking so allow for this.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews