We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,653)
Filter reviews
5,653 results
Traveller rating
3,209
1,568
573
198
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,209
1,568
573
198
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr coopersafternoon teaq hotelsoctagon loungebeautiful hotelsuperior roomfantastic staymini barreception areacentral manchestersaturday nightlovely roomcity centrecooked breakfaststayed for one nightmember of staffmidlands
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 5,653 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Another stay at our favourite Manchester hotel (for more than 50 years).
Stayed in superior king (worth the upgrade if available) on B&B basis.
As always, clean, well equipped, quiet & warm from the snowy weather!
Staff superb, friendly & efficient is the norm. Food great, bar areas good for relaxing with a late nightcap to watch the world go by after a busy day.
Thanks again to Janet at central bookings we'll be back for an already planned stay in April'18. Keep it up.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Esp_Travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eyale16, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Esp_Travell,

Thank you for sharing such a brilliant review with the TripAdvisor community; it is appreciated by the entire team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in April!

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Fabulous afternoon tea in the Stanley suite. Staff amazing and a special mention has to go to Donna who couldn't look after you more with drinks and anything you need. She is so kind and always gets into the spirit of the event. I have been to many events at this hotel but never in this room. Loved this room with the wood paneling very festive and beautifully decorated. Thank you for looking after us so well and for a wonderful day!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jof7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eyale16, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear jof7272,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review with us; I will be sure to pass your compliments onto Donna personally who will be thrilled!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We just stayed here overnight whilst shopping and doing the markets. Good location for that and a very nice hotel in general. Staff good, room good, bathroom the typical type of hotel bathroom and bar nice with good quality cocktails. The bedroom was a bit cold but nothing that stopped us sleeping. I would say we expected more of a Wow for the price we paid though. Felt like we could have got more for our money somehow. Good overall and the location made up for any small downfalls.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eyale16, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Lee P,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community; I am sorry that your guest room was cold however pleased to read that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Stayed one night on business. A queue for check in but once there was treated in a friendly and courteous manner by the lady behind the desk. Room was fine as was the bathroom, although I suggest you keep your specs on the read the instructions for using the shower, before you get into the shower - in my case an over bath job. Beware the water is very hot. Check put was quick and again friendly. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Johngpsysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eyale16, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Johngpsysmith,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Midland, I'm pleased to see overall you enjoyed your business stay. I hope you we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a return stay.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

This should be one of the best hotels in Manchester but it isn't. It looks very nice from the outside and the rooms are large. However, if you want a good night's sleep this is not the place. It was only a Monday night but loud music from the event and conference rooms kept me awake until 12.30 and the noise started again at 7am. The heating was not working and an inadequate portable heater was provided instead. Doors were damaged and towels not properly laundered. The coffee was awful. It seems to offer good facilities but it just is not being run properly, or so it would seem based on my experience.

Room Tip: Get a room where you can't here the events and conferences
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eyale16, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear reiver59,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, I'm very sorry to read of your recent experience with us, regarding the maintenance in your room and the disturbing noise. Please be assured noise from loud music is extremely rare, especially during a week day, however due to the festive season the hotel is very busy and events were taking place on this particular Monday.

I do hope we might have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, with the opportunity to restore your faith in The Midland.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews