We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“character and charm”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“character and charm”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

1st stay for our group at this hotel, and pleasantly surprised .... better than expected. Olde world charm and a real Manchester iconic hotel. Top central location, handy to shopping, and nightlife. Check in went smoothly, rooms well appointed and comfortable. Plentiful buffet breakfast, although queues for tables at busy times.
Great traditional style British hotel !!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourorganiser99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,708
    1,378
    491
    152
    78
See reviews for
647
1,919
162
1,166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Evart, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Magnificent old hotel in downtown Manchester. Marvelous french restaurant and memorable English breakfasts. Had a small suite the first time I stayed there, and larger hotel rooms later. Have stayed there approx. 6-8 times in 10-12 years. Used to be a Holiday Inn Crown Plaza at one point in its history. Close to the train, restaurants, library, businesses, and shopping - all within walking distance.

Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Oldebrownmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I stayed at Radisson last month and after vowing not to revisit decided to try the Midland. The staff are polite, the rooms are affordable and it's well situated. It's easy to get to sleep and the room service can't do enough for you.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downtowntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 February 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Great location easy walking distance to pubs, shops etc. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Only had breakfast in the hotel which was good, plenty of choice and although busy on the Sunday morning there were no problems. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 February 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great britain
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I really enjoyed staying in The Midland l and couldn't fault it. I'm pretty hard to please when it comes to staying in hotels but I can honesty say this one ticked all the boxes for me.
The building is very grand with a welcoming, stylish foyer. Staff were always happy to help and very friendly. Our bedroom was comfortable and modern and the bed sheets were the smoothest I've ever felt!
It's a short taxi ride from the MEN Areana (costing about £4.50) and about a 15minute walk if you fancy a stroll.
The hotel has it's own Vallet parking which costs £20 for 24hrs. However we found a car park further down the road for £16 at the NCP car park by the GMEX centre.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny_0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 February 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I phoned to book this hotel was given an excellent b&b rate by a really friendly girl.
Check in excellent mentioned that we would be arriving at 12 and it would be great if room was available she said she would make a note and it was available.
In room asked for iron and only one bathtowel had been left, when we came back to hotel that evening they were in our room.
The hotel was very nice old worldy and staff were really pleasant. Breakfast was good. Location is excellent you can walk everywhere. Check out excellent at 8.15 am.
What more need i say

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank westvirginia96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 February 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon. England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Put simply, could have stayed at the Premier Inn without breakfast, without concierge, without a wonderfully equipped room oozing character, without high staffing levels, - for £70 a night

BUT

stayed at the wonderful 4 star Midland for £29 a night more with all those things included.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 1 February 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing