We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Night made very special....”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I took my girlfriend for Valentines night and it really was a romantic treat for us. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like royalty, the staff we so helpfull and very curtious at all times. The resident Manager even took time out of his busy schedule to give us a guided tour and history of the hotel and past guests, it really is a hidden treasure of a place. I had asked for flowers and champagne to be in our suite on arrival, they had sourced the most beautiful flowers and the champagne was on ice waiting for us, a real personal touch of a handwritten welcome card from the manager just added to the personal touch.

We had a romantic dinner in "The French" restaurant and the food was amazing, such an imaginative menu and cooked to perfection, a real pleasure on the taste buds. I would go as far to say as the best meal I have ever had, the Maitre De personally took the time to meet every diner and looked after us throughout the meal. I would highly reccomend The Midland Hotel to anyone visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottfyffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, Guest manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards
Neil Butler

Guest manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,747 - 4,753 of 5,106 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2010

I was brought here as a suprise weekend away for valentines weekend. I must say I was extremly shocked as I didn't realise Manchester was a home to such a lovely hotel. As a part of our package we got a deluxe room, breakfast both mornings and dinner on the 13th February. Upon arrival we were met by the very pleasent staff, a violinist for entertainment, a glass of champagne (with a strawberry for added effect) and I was presented with a rose which was lovely. The food was lovely the asparagus soup was very tasty and we were also given a choice of breads. The chicken was beautifully flavoured and was washed down well with a bottle of rose. Finally we both enjoyed an 'orgy of sorbets' which were very refreshing and again very tasty. The breakfasts that were included were to be eaten in the restaraunt but for £5 tray charge could be enjoyed from the comfort of your room, which we preferred. The breakfast was also very good quality. I would recommend The midland to couples everywhere as I really enjoyed our stay. The only warning I would give couples is to put out your DO NOT DISTURB sign unless you would like an awkard situation with house keeping staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahlou251187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

When I first booked the Midland as a romantic weekend getaway for me and my girlfriend I was excited as it looked so classy on the website - i wasn't dissapointed. The service was very good although breakfast was late one day overall it was very good. Included in the package was a meal in the colony restaurant-this was excellent and the service was very quick. I thought that the room might have been more romantic (maybe some roses on the bed / chocolates or a bottle of champagne in the room) We did take some of our own champagne which we enjoyed each night. The Midlands housekeeping however did not know that you should always knock before entering a room :D

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

1st stay for our group at this hotel, and pleasantly surprised .... better than expected. Olde world charm and a real Manchester iconic hotel. Top central location, handy to shopping, and nightlife. Check in went smoothly, rooms well appointed and comfortable. Plentiful buffet breakfast, although queues for tables at busy times.
Great traditional style British hotel !!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourorganiser99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Magnificent old hotel in downtown Manchester. Marvelous french restaurant and memorable English breakfasts. Had a small suite the first time I stayed there, and larger hotel rooms later. Have stayed there approx. 6-8 times in 10-12 years. Used to be a Holiday Inn Crown Plaza at one point in its history. Close to the train, restaurants, library, businesses, and shopping - all within walking distance.

Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
Thank Oldebrownmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I stayed at Radisson last month and after vowing not to revisit decided to try the Midland. The staff are polite, the rooms are affordable and it's well situated. It's easy to get to sleep and the room service can't do enough for you.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downtowntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Great location easy walking distance to pubs, shops etc. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Only had breakfast in the hotel which was good, plenty of choice and although busy on the Sunday morning there were no problems. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,367 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £90 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing