We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Good stay yet again. All was as expected and up to standard.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,804
    1,404
    496
    157
    82
See reviews for
675
1,969
166
1,199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
millom cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

I have stayed in manchester several times in hotels far nicer than the midland . I had been recommended this particular hotel so i went on line. On arrival everything seemed fine we had booked in for two nights what i thought was bed breakfast and evening meal only to find the deal was only inclusive of dinner on saturday the 13 th .Dinner was fine nothing particularly special. we had been out through the day drinking so didnt feel like any more so we ordered a bottle of water with our meal . we got up to leave and walked out of the dining area and into the foyeh and stepped outside for some fresh air only to what i call be rudely approached by two members of staff for a signature for the water we had consumed. Now bear in mind there was quite a lot of people in the foyeh and surrounding area that made me and my wife feel very uncomfortable to say the least . I had already give a card number as guarantee for any extras purchased throughout my stay It seemed to me the more you bought the more pleasent the staff were towards you, Im no snob but when i pulled up in my bmw m3 they couldnt do enough but it seemed to go down hill from there .The mini bar was unbelievably expensive the room was only just comfortable good points and to be fair it did have some were Breakfast was good and english staff couldnt do enough good old British you can rely on something !! and the pianist was superb the foyeh was grand and we did see some celebrities there all having a good time Johny Vegas top man and thanks for making a dissapointing weekend worth while Would i recommend to anyone NO !!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muncherMillomCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

it was the first time we have stayed we went on the valentine package. the hotel and its facilitiesare fantastic but the evening meal was terrible. bed & breakfast is probabally the best option.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottfyffe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I took my girlfriend for Valentines night and it really was a romantic treat for us. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like royalty, the staff we so helpfull and very curtious at all times. The resident Manager even took time out of his busy schedule to give us a guided tour and history of the hotel and past guests, it really is a hidden treasure of a place. I had asked for flowers and champagne to be in our suite on arrival, they had sourced the most beautiful flowers and the champagne was on ice waiting for us, a real personal touch of a handwritten welcome card from the manager just added to the personal touch.

We had a romantic dinner in "The French" restaurant and the food was amazing, such an imaginative menu and cooked to perfection, a real pleasure on the taste buds. I would go as far to say as the best meal I have ever had, the Maitre De personally took the time to meet every diner and looked after us throughout the meal. I would highly reccomend The Midland Hotel to anyone visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottfyffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, Guest manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 16 February 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards
Neil Butler

Guest manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I was brought here as a suprise weekend away for valentines weekend. I must say I was extremly shocked as I didn't realise Manchester was a home to such a lovely hotel. As a part of our package we got a deluxe room, breakfast both mornings and dinner on the 13th February. Upon arrival we were met by the very pleasent staff, a violinist for entertainment, a glass of champagne (with a strawberry for added effect) and I was presented with a rose which was lovely. The food was lovely the asparagus soup was very tasty and we were also given a choice of breads. The chicken was beautifully flavoured and was washed down well with a bottle of rose. Finally we both enjoyed an 'orgy of sorbets' which were very refreshing and again very tasty. The breakfasts that were included were to be eaten in the restaraunt but for £5 tray charge could be enjoyed from the comfort of your room, which we preferred. The breakfast was also very good quality. I would recommend The midland to couples everywhere as I really enjoyed our stay. The only warning I would give couples is to put out your DO NOT DISTURB sign unless you would like an awkard situation with house keeping staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlou251187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

When I first booked the Midland as a romantic weekend getaway for me and my girlfriend I was excited as it looked so classy on the website - i wasn't dissapointed. The service was very good although breakfast was late one day overall it was very good. Included in the package was a meal in the colony restaurant-this was excellent and the service was very quick. I thought that the room might have been more romantic (maybe some roses on the bed / chocolates or a bottle of champagne in the room) We did take some of our own champagne which we enjoyed each night. The Midlands housekeeping however did not know that you should always knock before entering a room :D

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

1st stay for our group at this hotel, and pleasantly surprised .... better than expected. Olde world charm and a real Manchester iconic hotel. Top central location, handy to shopping, and nightlife. Check in went smoothly, rooms well appointed and comfortable. Plentiful buffet breakfast, although queues for tables at busy times.
Great traditional style British hotel !!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourorganiser99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilbutler, guest services manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 118 in Manchester
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 118 in Manchester
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing