We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Great hotel situated in the centre of Manchester. Fantastic reception area creating a fabulous first impression. Staff on reception very welcoming and helpful.

Room decorated to a high standard, bed very very comfortable.

Good breakfast offering a variety of different options.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebington_WirralAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2010

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. I know the team really appreciate it and I'd be hard pressed to improve on what you have said already

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,638 - 4,644 of 5,112 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2010

I want to the Midland because it is one of the few hotel in Manchester to have a sauna.
The hotel occupies a very nice building. The service is good for English standards.

The room was slightly disappointing: there was an old red stain in the carpet. I regretted that sleepers were not offered.
The TV was also pretty old and the remote controller quite filthy.

The bed was very nice and I slept well in a quiet atmosphere.

The French restaurant is really worth it.

The big disappointment was the sauna. Both customers and hotel staff don't have a clue about what hygiene means. The sauna was old and tiny. You have to walk barefoot where people walk with their shoes to access the sauna. Customers do not use towels and sweat directly on the benches...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gweltasbzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2010

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Midland and for your comments. Our Leisure Manager is looking into your concerns with our Sauna as that is not normally something we receive anything other than positive feedback for. Thanks also for the comments about your room and The French restaurant you're right in that alongside the building itself it is a superb facility.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Stayed at the Midland Hotel whilst attending a corporate event in Manchester Town Hall. It was twilight when I arrived and the hotel has an illuminated reindeer with red nose! It also had a fantastic array of white light just like you see in the Christmas movies. As I entered the lobby there were two spectacular christmas trees beautifully decorated and lit. The check in was efficient. My room was roomy and was well lit. Extremely comfortable bed and as it was really cold outside it was beautifully warm inside.
Breakfast was adequate rather than anything special. Still would be first choice in Manchester

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grossen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2010

Dear Reviewer,

Many thansk for your feedback espcially about the Christmas decorations as they are spectacular and very much an attraction both inside and outside of the hotel.

Thanks also for letting us know that we are the hotel of choice in Manchester and for giving us the opportunity to get our breakfast standard back to where it should be if on this occasion if didn't exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I was only there for one night on a business trip but I found the hotel to be of a very high standard, and the staff at reception and in the restaurant at breakfast were helpful, polite and friendly. My room was clean and comfortable - I was in a corner room on 6th floor which was beautifully quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destiny1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2010

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your feedback; its great to read that we made a really positive impression even if it was just an overnight stay for a business event.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

some reviews didn't rate the service : no problems for us
However
room was very noisy due to air con unitson the OUTSIDE of the room
if we had had to stay for another night this would have been a problem
drinks are pricey
food is onl;y so so ; Lancashire Hot Pot - avoid so watery it's a travesty of the real thing
recommend the valet parking GREAT & very good value
also, how can they reserve tables in the LOUNGE of all places

don't usually stay in 4 star so few comparatives

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midlandta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We stayed at the Midland in Manchester recently to visit the Christmas markets.
I have stayed at the Midland before and like the Building, and the health club and pool downstiars (though dated) which is clean and usually well staffed. It is expensive compared to say the premiere Inn opposite - We paid £159 for our basic double room with small bed for our 2 year old and a cot for our newborn.
My complaint to the front desk was about our bed. It was a fitted piece of furiture in the room with wardrobes/shelves either side, but the double bed itself is a drop down/fold out. The matress was not good quality, and we spent all night rolling into each other, also every time I got up to attend our baby the whole thing groaned and banged etc.
I made this (legitmate) complaint to the front desk staff in a polite but firm explanation. They just shrugged and said, next time you can ask for a normal bed. I asked even if the matress was of quality required to maintain a 4 star rating Hotel. We asked for at least a complemnetary cup of tea - which was granted. To further review, the breakfast offered was OK but none of the bread was especially fresh, some of the staff unkempt, including the Maitre D. On the plus side the concierge staff were excellent and very helpful.
I am being critical but I wounder how may large older Hotels get by on the historic nature of the Building.

I have clicked the no to 'Would I reccomend this hotel to a friend' but it is not clear cut. I just think they could do more with what they have.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maforfsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2010

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for this feedback and your email sent to the hotel. As mentioned I will be looking into the matter once I recieved some further information about your stay as we couldn't find your booking?? which we found quite strange. I can only apologise again and highlight that this problem has not arisen before so I will be interested to find out which room it was that has a bed that has failed to live up to the most basic of requirements: a good nights sleep as that is our stock in trade. No complaints about beds either side of your stay. But once you get back in touch I'm sure we'll be able to get to the bottom of the matter.

I should add that our staff on reception can't recall such a conversation and we have nothing in any of our other feedback avenues to assist with your stay so please get back in touch and we'll solve what is a failry straightforward observation that we can look into solving.

I should add that our bread for breakfast arrives daily baked from a local bakery and I have let the team in breakfast know that their presentation is commented upon by guests and if they failed to live up to expectations then they have failed to meet our standards and there will be improvement please be assured.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

My husband and I love the Midland and have stayed there a few times. Everything about the hotel is great which is why we keep going back, but this time we found getting to sleep a little difficult. We had a room facing the inside of the building overlooking the central reception area glazed roof and there was a constant noise coming from somewhere in this area, it was like a motor running maybe the airconditioning unit. We explained it to the receptionist and she said she would get someone to take a look and that we could have a room on the outer side of the hotel next time. We certainly won't let this put us off the hotel as we love it but we will certainly choose a different room on our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayHorseRavenglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We have been able to identify what the problem was and can confirm it was a faulty room air-conditioning Unit which has since been repaired but I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Although all 312 of our bedrooms are air conditioned this doesn't normally come up as a problem for us and so our maintenance team believe it was due to the sudden cold snap.

If you would be kind enough to make contact prior to your next visit I would be delighted to organise matters for you so that we exceed your expectations. Thanks also for the kind comments about the hotel generally and your experiences in the past here at The Midland.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £92 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing