We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarnished Opulence”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
East Anglia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tarnished Opulence”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

A first stay at this elegant hotel. An impressive interior, well appointed and spacious with comfortable room. However appearances are deceptive. We were treated to a night of heavy rock from a function room, relentless drum beats and vibrations lasted until 2-00 in the morning. As an elderly couple fresh from a wonderful Halle Orchestra concert it was a nightmare which left us feeling battered and shattered for the night, and on into the next day. In spite of phoning reception nothing was done and there was no managerial contact or apology. We usually stay at the nearby Radisson, which is quiet and civilized with an attentive staff. Don't touch the Midland, it is a cleverly disguised night club.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horace16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Clearly the loudness of the music being played has tarnished your opinion of us and I can only apologise.

The event did go over a little and involved a couple of well known stars who's audience wanted a big finale. I'm only sorry that it caused you concern as we would want all of our guests to enjoy The Midland.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,759
    1,388
    495
    156
    80
See reviews for
662
1,942
166
1,184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My wife and and another married couple, all pensioners, stayed for the two nights 23 to 25 February 2011. A marvellous and ideally located hotel, wonderfully restored to its Edwardian splendour. Each couple requested a quiet room, and got one facing an inner courtyard totally isolated from the noise of the city. The rooms were spacious, the beds large and comfortable, the bathroom perfectly satisfactory, the heating/ventilation/AC system very good. To get fresh air we had to ask for someone to remove the screws keeping the window shut. This was done with no fuss or delay. We all slept well. Cleaning was to a high standard. The decor was new and pleasing. Very good gym and pool. The staff were all helpful, cheerful and with an engaging Mancunian wit. Breakfast was good, but our bar snacks and evening meal not quite up to the same standard.
David Terry, Droitwich 01/03/11

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190798David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for comprehensive review of The Midland which describes what we would like to deliver always. I take on board your views on the bar snacks and dinner with the caveat that we are introducing new menu's and ideas but will feed back your views to Chef so we get it back to standard.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Stayed with my teenage son - The Midland is an impressive hotel with lots of history.Our room was spacious and comfortable with what looked like a recent makeover with modern styling. Breakfast was excellent, loads of choice and served till 11.00.Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exaceface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for "A great review at the heart of TripAdvisor".

We look forward to your return

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

An excellent hotel right in the centre on Manchester.

We try and stay in Q Hotels whenever we can, they are usually top notch and this was no exception.

Staff were excellent with efficient check-in.

Great room right at the front of the hotel, well equipped, full of character and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was good, fresh, well stocked – couldn’t fault it

Leisure facilities could do with an upgrade but are more than sufficient for a leisure break.

Only one problem… when we went out in the morning there was definitely 7 donuts left in the box and only 6 when we returned, a mystery!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPDSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review about The Midland and QHotels it is appreciated. I note some humour in all of your reviews however when you do return I will ensure that we make that missing donut up to you.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Perfect setting for a shopping trip to Manchester. The French restaurant offers fine dining and wonderful abiance. Staff were friendly and helpful. The Midland has great history and although there's a touch of 'faded glory' in certain areas it has charm and warmth.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your review about The Midland and in particular The French. Nice review also about The Arkle which sets great standards for its food service and food quality delivery.

Thanks again

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

we stayed at the midland as a family of four. We booked a twin and double room which were supposedly interconnecting, but although they were next door we couldnt find a link. We didnt care though as it was only for price reasons we got an inter-connecting room, but what we didn't realise was that the twin had two double beds! The room was absolutely huge!

Hotel itself was really nice inside, we didnt even get to the door when a member of staff opened it for us and took our cases which was a lovely first impression. Food was great, service was a little slow in the Wyvern but we weren't in a rush so it didn't matter. The pool is quite small but we didn't need it for much more than relaxing, and the beds were seriously plush with loads of pillows, had a really comfortable nights sleep.

As a 4* hotel, i could only ask the manager to make wi-fi free, as is very common with all quality hotels nowadays, because we weren't told how we could activate wi-fi use and i found little point of it if the two hours had to be used all at once.

I would really recommend this hotel, I would say it should be 5* if there were little generous things like free wi-fi. We had a wonderful stay, thankyou.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind comments.

Our ambition is always to offer a 5 star experience to all of our guests and it is particularly pleasing that we achieved that with a family.

Your views about WIFI have been taken on board as it is an area that we are looking to ever improve.

We look forward to your return soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Spacious lobby and beautiful French Restaurant captured an old world charm while providing excellent and friendly service. The restaurant is decorated in the style of a mini Ritz and was the closest to Michelin star standard of anywhere in the city. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayVee072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review it is appreciated. We believe that part of the success of The Midland is that guests are confident before they arrive that we will deliver so its so pleasing to read your review that puts the importance of heritage and history alongside great service delivery.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
569 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing