We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Midland
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (5,416)
Filter reviews
5,416 results
Traveller rating
3,081
1,509
546
183
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,081
1,509
546
183
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr coopersafternoon teaq hotelsoctagon loungebeautiful hotelsuperior roomfantastic staymini barreception areacentral manchestersaturday nightlovely roomcooked breakfastcity centrestayed for one nightmember of staffmidlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,884 - 4,889 of 5,416 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

A first stay at this elegant hotel. An impressive interior, well appointed and spacious with comfortable room. However appearances are deceptive. We were treated to a night of heavy rock from a function room, relentless drum beats and vibrations lasted until 2-00 in the morning. As an elderly couple fresh from a wonderful Halle Orchestra concert it was a nightmare which left us feeling battered and shattered for the night, and on into the next day. In spite of phoning reception nothing was done and there was no managerial contact or apology. We usually stay at the nearby Radisson, which is quiet and civilized with an attentive staff. Don't touch the Midland, it is a cleverly disguised night club.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horace16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Clearly the loudness of the music being played has tarnished your opinion of us and I can only apologise.

The event did go over a little and involved a couple of well known stars who's audience wanted a big finale. I'm only sorry that it caused you concern as we would want all of our guests to enjoy The Midland.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My wife and and another married couple, all pensioners, stayed for the two nights 23 to 25 February 2011. A marvellous and ideally located hotel, wonderfully restored to its Edwardian splendour. Each couple requested a quiet room, and got one facing an inner courtyard totally isolated from the noise of the city. The rooms were spacious, the beds large and comfortable, the bathroom perfectly satisfactory, the heating/ventilation/AC system very good. To get fresh air we had to ask for someone to remove the screws keeping the window shut. This was done with no fuss or delay. We all slept well. Cleaning was to a high standard. The decor was new and pleasing. Very good gym and pool. The staff were all helpful, cheerful and with an engaging Mancunian wit. Breakfast was good, but our bar snacks and evening meal not quite up to the same standard.
David Terry, Droitwich 01/03/11

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190798David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for comprehensive review of The Midland which describes what we would like to deliver always. I take on board your views on the bar snacks and dinner with the caveat that we are introducing new menu's and ideas but will feed back your views to Chef so we get it back to standard.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Stayed with my teenage son - The Midland is an impressive hotel with lots of history.Our room was spacious and comfortable with what looked like a recent makeover with modern styling. Breakfast was excellent, loads of choice and served till 11.00.Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exaceface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for "A great review at the heart of TripAdvisor".

We look forward to your return

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

An excellent hotel right in the centre on Manchester.

We try and stay in Q Hotels whenever we can, they are usually top notch and this was no exception.

Staff were excellent with efficient check-in.

Great room right at the front of the hotel, well equipped, full of character and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was good, fresh, well stocked – couldn’t fault it

Leisure facilities could do with an upgrade but are more than sufficient for a leisure break.

Only one problem… when we went out in the morning there was definitely 7 donuts left in the box and only 6 when we returned, a mystery!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPDSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review about The Midland and QHotels it is appreciated. I note some humour in all of your reviews however when you do return I will ensure that we make that missing donut up to you.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Perfect setting for a shopping trip to Manchester. The French restaurant offers fine dining and wonderful abiance. Staff were friendly and helpful. The Midland has great history and although there's a touch of 'faded glory' in certain areas it has charm and warmth.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HugoKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your review about The Midland and in particular The French. Nice review also about The Arkle which sets great standards for its food service and food quality delivery.

Thanks again

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews