We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a furry con”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a furry con”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I stayed here during the Confuzzled 2010 furry convention. I had one of the "superior" rooms which was spacious with 2 double beds and even a jacuzzi in the bathroom. Was a comfortable stay but there can be noise from smokers outside the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wootz_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always good to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at Britannia Country House Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    654
    515
    387
    719
See reviews for
542
1,003
109
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed two nights on a Just Go coach holiday. Our bedroom was quite small but at least Ithaca quiet and on the ground floor. Some of the coach party had very big rooms with jacuzzi baths so we were a bit unlucky.
The dinner and breakfast ae seed from a ental buffet area. Sufficient choice and variety.
There was evening entertainment and £1 a pint bar for our group but the bar prices were easonable.
The hotel is used as a park and sat Noel or Mancheter airport with frequent tanfer service. Takes about 20 mins. Also close to the Trafford Shopping Centre.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastaltraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Everything old and dirty, lumpy. Beds, TV with no remote. We were on the fourth floor and the lifts didn't work. The staff seemed to be going through the motions and didn't care, take it or leave it attitude. The food was terrible. the evening meal was inedible mush, loads of gravy with bits of meat floating in it. Breakfast wasn't much better the scrambled eggs were like custard and the fried eggs like bullets. I wouldn't advise anyone to stay in this chain of hotels. Value for money zero.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryberry321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated and the food that was served at Breakfast and Dinner in our restaurant. If you had brought these issues to the attention of our Duty Manager any problems could have been immediately rectified.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Yours sincerely

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

we stayed here the night before we travelled to cuba from manchester airport thomas cook orgainised it and we had parking for 2 weeks and mini bus transfer to and from the airport.
on first impression the hotel looked nice reception was nice,
we had 2 double rooms 1 was much smaller than the other and very cramped.
we had the cavery dinner which was not hot and was tinned veg...not good but we were hungry !!!.
our stay went downhill after that,we went back to our rooms to sleep as we were up at 5am...the constant door banging and argueing from other guests was a nightmare it carried on till about 4am so we gave up on sleep and just got ready early!!
on departure we had to wait outside the reception to wait for the mini bus....we were greeted with broken glass everywhere and VOMIT ...lovely when your rolling your cases and trying to keep your kids from stepping in it .the staff made NO attempt to clean it up!!!!!!!. we were picked up on return from cuba by a lovely man think he was greek/cypryat ....the mini bus transfers was the best part of the experiance . on return we picked our car up ok but we did notice that the people who had to park on the mud/dirt their cars were stuck so i hope they got them out.
on the whole i would NEVER stay at this hotel again it was a awful beggining to a lovely holiday and i would NEVER want to repeat it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with the food that was served in our Restaurant, if you had brought these issues to the attention of our Duty Manager any problems could have been immediately rectified.

We are a busy hotel unfortunately at times some guests can be noisy, our staff do try to quieten noisy guests down so they do not disturb our other guests.

The outside of the Hotel does get cleaned regularly and I do apologise that this was not done before you went outside.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We recently stayed here for 1 night in an executive double room. We payed 68 pound for 1 night. Car park very busy but managed to find a space, reception was quiet, no queueing, lift was not working so we had to hoof it up 4 flights of stairs ! This is my only negative comment on our stay. Room was nice and clean, bed large and comfy, spa bath was clean and we used it. We then went for a steak meal which was well cooked and plentiful. So all in all an enjoyable stay and we will be coming back, hopefully when the lift is working lol.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygreen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always good to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at Britannia Country House Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Me and by boyfriend booked a cheap weekend away, using the Travelzoo website. The Britannia Country House Hotel seemed to much of a bargain to miss out on, so we booked up. Upon arrival staff were not very helpful- we had booked an executive suite GOD KNOWS WHAT THE STANDARD WAS LIKE!. We were situated on the 4th floor- and the lift was out of order- fantastic start. When we opened the room door it was musty and very dusty. This had to be one of the worst hotels I have stayed in, in a long time. There was holes in the chairs, all chairs were stained, the cups for making tea and coffee where chipped and broken, the Spa Bath- well what can I say it was less than a standard size bath- and also not clean. I didn't look at the bedding to closely, but we did sleep on the sheet you are meant to sleep with just incase, the pillows were also really uncomfortable.

The food- what food, its was worse than school meals!!!!! The breakfasts where ok, wide range of choice, much better than the evening slop!!

I would like to add I am 19 years old, and not a typical snob! I have stayed in travelodges and premier inns for less money and the quaility was FAR better. I would advise everyone to save £100 by not staying at the Britannia Country House Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay. I have looked into your comments regarding the room that you stayed in and can confirm that all of our bedrooms are cleaned and vacuumed on daily basis by our room attendants and are then checked by our Housekeepers to ensure they are correctly prepared to our usual high standards for our guests arrival.

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with the food and service in our Restaurant, if you had brought these issues to the attention of our Duty Manager any problems could have been immediately rectified.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.



Yours sincerely

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Booked off Travel Zoo then read review was nervous after that.
Arrived at the front entrance this looks good I thought.
arrived at car park to find it muddy and untidy.
In reception met by a girl chewing a pen and wobbling it in her mouth training good here i thought. Then I noticed the boarded up lift and pad lock not good i thought.
Checked in no problem.
Got to room 270 to finda cold grubby room. Chairs looked like an OAP had wet them selves on and them. TV was old with poor picture and remote was not complete.
In the bathroom the ceiling panels were hanging down. At this point I was ready to complain but my wife persuaded me not to.

When looked at window the opener was held in by a massive srew and there was large gap around the opener which was why it was cold.

Had evening meal which was good as was the bar and prices.

Returned to Bedroom and turned heat up. Woke at 12 o'clock by drunked people running around the carpark with a girl mouthing off. Cars driving around with people yelling out of them. This was in the hotel grounds no attempt by staff stop this.

This was followed by people yelling and swearing in the car park and banging on doors in the hotel.

Then at 2 o'clock a tapping sound was herd this was water coming through the bathroom ceiling. 3 attempts to call reception and leaving the phone to ring finally got an answer to be told somebody would be with us shortly.

30 minutes later the water slowed but no one came to us. After 40 minutes called reception to be told they had dealt with it upstairs. I said what about our room we are sat waiting was nobody going to tell us what was going on. Luckily the water ran in the bath.

Nobody would have come to clear up any mess.

It was at this point I noticed all the squashed insects all over rthe ceiling in the bathroom.

Having dropped sum money that rolled under the bed I went to pick it up only to find dirty old knifes and forks under the bed.

We were so disgusted by this place we didn't even bother to check out.

If hadn't been for the fact we had been drinking in the bar we would have left in the night.

No matter how cheap the price you are beeing ripped off here.

Good points:-

Bed clothes seemed clean and fresh and chef on the carvery was pleasant as was the food.

However tables were cleared and relayed with out spraying or cleaning hope the kitchen was good but wouldn't hold my breath.

How could this hotel be improved ? Easy put a motorway through it!!

Disgusting hole

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallywimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated on your recent stay with us, the guests in the room above your room had unfortunately left the bath running which then overflowed into your room.

Unfortunately our lift was out of order during your stay and for this I apologise.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Yours sincerely


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#49 of 118 in Manchester
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
818 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#54 of 118 in Manchester
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#66 of 118 in Manchester
1,297 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing