We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #91 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Booked an overnight stay here with family members, 10 of us in all Saturday 2nd July, then read trip advisor. Our thoughts were "what have we done" Arrived at lunch time could believe how big car park was but managed to get a space near the hotel. Got our rooms at check in time of 2pm. Dont know where these people who write to trip advisor stayed but it was nothing like we were expecting. Staff friendly, Hotel lovely, Rooms very nice, beds comfy . Dinner and a bottle of wine - brill! Breakfast Sunday morning Brill! and all for £50 per couple. What more could we ask for and yes we would stay again. .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geeko5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,223 - 2,229 of 2,701 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

Booked via travelzoo .paid £100 for a couple for two nights, including two bottles wine ,two, three course evening meals and two full english breakfasts also free entrance to the Spindles health club, fantastic valiue
The car park is very busy but we always found a spot ,The staff appear to have had a
god trainng and though the vast majority did not have English as their first language they were brilliant and could speak excellent english .My compliments to the owners who appear to have a winning formula ,You coud if you were picky highlight a couple of minor faults such as... ensure that you book your evening meal either before or after the coach parties ,so you do not have to queue , the building is an old one and some of the fittings in the rooms are a bit dated but they all add to the buildings charactor
When booking we asked for a quiet room and we had a room at the end of a corridor thus eliminating other guests passing our room This is the fourth time we have taken advantage of such deals and have not been disappointed with Brittania hotels

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Dirty, shabby room, terrible service, over booked, cheap nasty food, lifts giving off electric shocks, total rip off! Checked out and promised full refund. Refund never received even after writing to the manager twice. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murfkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay. I have looked into your comments regarding the cleanliness of your bedroom and can confirm that all of our bedrooms are cleaned and vacuumed on daily basis by our room attendants and are then checked by our housekeepers to ensure they are correctly prepared to our usual high standards for our guests arrival.

Our lifts are checked and serviced regularly and I am at a loss as to explain why you say that they are giving off electric shocks as this is simply not the case.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Patrick Fitzgerald,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We booked this on a deal because we were flying from Manchester and for an extra £5 each we could have transfers to the airport at out convenience. So, for £30ish, this was a good deal. Breakfast was not included, but for the money I would not expect it to be.

First off, we arrived early evening, and for somewhere offering airport parking, you would think there might be a parking space!! Nooo - we must've looped around the car park three times before we finally found someone leaving and jumped in. There were cars parked on verges and crammed in everywhere - it was a nightmare. Turns out there is a gym there - so members can park in this car park as well - where I don't know!

Check-in was okay - the staff were a little dour and there were people hanging about behind the counter doing nothing, and one receptionist doing all the work.

The place is shabby. It amused me no end that they offered weddings!! It might at once time have been a destination, but now, it was just cheap. Our room was on the fourth floor and really tiny. But - for the money I couldn't complain, it was clean and did the job.

We had planned to go back out again for dinner, but we didn't think we would get parked again if we left, so we opted for the hotel restaurant. This has tow parts - a pizzeria and carvery. The carvery was a shambles, and as a vegan was no use to me, so we went in the Italian. The food was alright, and the waiter was a nice friendly guy. I had bruschetta and chips (all there was for a vegan) and hubby had a pasta dishe which he enjoyed. The atmosphere was hurried though, so we did not linger.

In the next room to the restaurant was a coach party of OAPs playing bingo - which made me think Phoenix Nights, and to be honest, the whole hotel was in that vein. Tacky.

The transfer to the airport the next morning was seamless though, so they got that right.

This was the same for our return after our holiday. However, when we got back to the car it was covered in sticky tree sap that took us ages to clear off the windscreen. Someone had just left a car parked at the end of an aisle and gone off on holiday leaving it there - can't say I'm surprised as they must've given up looking for a space!

Anyway - I then witnessed a woman in another car come up against this car that was blocking the path and she had to try to reverse up the row to get out. She then crashed into another car and as I was going over to see if she was okay, she drove off at speed leaving a damaged car!

So I had to go inside and report this to reception - who to their credit were straight out to see the damage and said they would call the police and show them the CCTV.

Nevertheless, some poor sod was going to come back off holiday to a damaged car.

All in all - in total with the transfers this was about £40, which I would say is good money - but the parking issue and the state of our c ar on our return - plus the car park incident - I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winter-st*r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

We do have in excess of 600 car parking spaces at the hotel and I am sorry that you found it difficult to find a parking space on your arrival at the Hotel. The hotel can be extremely busy at times as we do have 255 bedrooms and extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for speaking to our reception staff regarding the accident that you witnessed in our car park, I can confirm that the guest was most grateful on their return from holiday.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The reviews for this place are unfair. If i had paid over £80 per night then i may have been annoyed. However i paid £46/night including 2 weeks parking. This is outstanding value for money.

The hotel is nowhere near as bad as people make out. The beds are clean and the bathroom is clean. The bar is fine but a little dull. Could use some music.

They put on a shuttle service with a local taxi firm which is great for the airport.

If i fly from Manchester airport again then i would definately use this hotel again. I would also come and stay here to visit Manchester in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Hotel clean and room spacious. Had triple room with 8 days parking. Hotel packed when we arrived so ended up parking on grass; parking also not secure however this wasn't a problem. Dinner in the Pizzeria, service good, food nice and the Turkish waiter very entertaining. Travel to and from airport was fine, with mini buses running about every 45mins. Would stay again as overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amr043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Lovely hotel but can get very busy with weddings and such like. The hotel was very clean and our room 108 was a little on the small side but spotless as is the bathroom which also contained everything you could think of toiletry wise. It was lovely and quiet where our bedroom was. Didnt try any meals but they smelt really nice. There is also a nice bar area near the reception. Also would like to say thank you to the young girl on reception who was lovely and pleasant always smiling. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels in different countries but havent met as good a receptionist as this one. Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scubaluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#39 of 120 in Manchester
150 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#68 of 120 in Manchester
851 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 120 in Manchester
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#60 of 120 in Manchester
255 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £39 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing