We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Booked my son and his partner in this hotel overnight, they came back with these stories:

Check in 1 hour late due to technical difficulties, no apology given, no free coffee or drink offered
Booked the exec room, jaccuzi not working and room dusty and smelled funny
No milk for tea/coffee in the room, phoned room service only to be charged £1 for a small jug of milk and £2 for service!
Charged £4pp for use of the pool, usually included in price of most exec rooms
Annoymous phone calls every half hour from 9am till 11am
Charged £1.80 for a can of coke from machine, and lost there money first time, then waiter rubbed the money on his jacket and hey presto coke appeared!!!

Please avoid this hotel, plenty of others in the area!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that there was a delay at check in. There was a problem with our computer system and our reception staff were working as quickly as they could to overcome this.

I have discussed the concerns regarding the issues with your room with my Head Housekeeper, whose duty it is to ensure that all rooms are issue free and presented to the highest possible standard, and have pointed out that I will not accept guests being disappointed in such a way.

We do provide milk portions in the bedrooms for guests to use, which are replenished on a daily basis and on request. However, if fresh milk is ordered via room service, this will be charged as stated on the menu.

The money that was lost in the coke machine has been refunded to you by post.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards




Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    654
    515
    386
    719
See reviews for
542
1,002
109
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Me and my partner were after a cheap room for after a gig in Manchester and after reading other reviews about this hotel we were expecting the worst. However when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The lobby is spotless, large and welcoming. The lady on reception was friendly and later gave us advice on where to get the bus and what stop we would need. When we got to the bedroom we could not believe we had only paid £35 for it. The room was spotless, the bathroom was lovely and clean with a walk in shower. The bed was really comfy and the room was nice and warm with radiator controls so you can choose how warm you want it. Don't listen to the horrible reviews on here this hotel is absolutely fantastic and I would definately recommend it. Also try the half price pizzas in the resturaunt they are delicious (half price between 5&6)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrybumpkin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I'm so surprised at all the negative reviews about this hotel...we have just spent 3 nights there and were more than happy. The location was good for what we needed (Alton Towers and Trafford Centre), the room was big, clean and comfy and the hotel facilities were great. Ok it's not the most modern of hotels but if you're looking for a good value hotel then you can't go wrong with this one. Don't be put off by the negative reviews!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nxi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed here for one night ahead of a long flight abroad. I was kept awake all night by incessant screaming, shouting and banging doors. It really did feel like there was a riot going on. The room was small, grimy and I had the shock of my life when I looked inside the teapot!

Whilst my complaint to the manager was handled cordially, his proposed resolution to my issues fell way short of what I would expect. Indeed, the fact that the hotel was busy was put forward as an excuse... when in fact the police should have been called.

Do not risk staying here, especially if you have a long flight ahead. You will get more sleep in your car by the side of the road!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin00712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with your room and that our duty manager did not deal with the issues you had raised to your satisfaction.

We are a busy hotel and unfortunately at times some guests can be noisy and inconsiderate.

It is clear that our staff should have been more robust on this occasion in their dealings with them.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards




Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

my friend and i had a 5 day stay on a coach trip to manchester on26th sept.the room was small but comfortable.the food and the service in the resturant was excellant.staff were in each dayto clean and replenish tea and coffee etc.we really enjoyed the entertainment as we both enjoy a good laugh and the entertainers were really good.the hotel was clean and very pleasent to sit and relax in after a busy day out.we both enjoyed our stay and would defernatly stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed one night in october before flying out from manchester, on dinner, bed and breakfast with wine deal, very good value, dinner buffet excellent, also breakfast, plenty of choice at both meals,alough didn't like the wine much will upgrade to better bottle next time.

Room on first floor, small but clean and comfortable, alough lift not working, bathroom had shower cubicle which we both found the sliding doors to be a very narrow opening, we are not big people but found it a bit of a struggle, also there was quite a big step up into it.

Staff friendly and helpful, bar pleasant to have a drink.

Excellent value, and would stay again, but would request a diffferent room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc'n'Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed one night in October on the dinner, bed, breakfast and bottle of wine deal.
First time at this hotel although we are regulars with Brittania on the occasional one night basis.
To and from the airport is £10 each way and Brittania have an arrangment with a local taxi service which we have used often for their airport hotel. It is quick and reliable; well worth asking for thier number in advance.
We arrived by train but did have a walk around the gardens/car parks. Have to agree with some comments, I would not leave a car there. Apart from lack of any noticeable security, some of the spaces would be a long walk from the main building in the rain.
All the Brittania hotels we have stayed at seem to rely heavily on the coach tour trade, so expect the sudden arrival of groups of 40+ at reception, breakfast and dinner. We are used to it and take it in our stride.
The room was smaller than we expected, especially the bathroom, but it was comfortable enough and clean. The view was dismal but but we were not sightseeing!.
Dinner was a buffet/carvery. Not my style but I still enjoyed the meal once I got to it (having sat with a bottle of wine while a full coach party filed past!)
The house wine was terrible but we have booked a similar deal in December at the Brit. Airport Hotel and will upgade the wine choice there and report back.
Breakfast was excellent.
I do not believe that you always get what you pay for but Brittania offer some attractive deals and we thought this was one of them.
Service was good throughout and we satisfied with our stay, (except for the wine!).
We only went here because the Airport hotel did not have the same deal on on that day, so will probably not be returning. However, given the same circumstances, we would return.

Room Tip: Check if the lifts are working before booking a upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#48 of 118 in Manchester
109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
817 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#54 of 118 in Manchester
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#66 of 118 in Manchester
1,296 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing