We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel really shows class. Of over 20 hotels stayed in so far with National Holidays, this hotel is top of my list and it deserves to be there. What can I say? Food excellent, a very good - wide choice at meal times, service second to none, room first class, clean, good tv, compliment coffees, as much as you want, bed excellent, good sleep, quiet. The evening entertainment has not been bettered yet of the hotels I have stayed in so far. Staff were very helpful and made a point in ensuring that my asks were met. This hotel knows how to cater for customers. Restaurant, decor excellent, food excellent, staff excellent. Sorry to have to say excellent so much.... but they deserve it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    654
    515
    387
    719
See reviews for
542
1,003
109
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Booked a night here whilst on the way up to the Lakes, thought it might be nice to stop in Manchester on the way.

The hotel was a bargain, £40 for 1 night plus 2 breakfasts. The hotel looks like it would be lovely from the pictures online, but it is desperately tired, needs a good clean and a lick of paint. We got put in a small room, big enough for just the bed and a wardrobe (this is not what you are lead to believe you will get from all the pictures of spacious looking rooms online!). It smelled of stale smoke and needed cleaning properly. The bathroom was fairly big considering, and probably the best part of the overall experience. The breakfast was ok, but as is usual with buffet breakfast, it normally goes dry from just sitting there on hot plates. I realise we got a bargain of £40 for the night (it should have been £125), but just because something is cheap shouldn't mean that you get bad deal. Unfortunately on this occasion, I think we did.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarrybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read your comments and feel that it is a complete shame that you did not contact our reception to enable us to sort out any issues you experienced immediately as an alternative room could have been arranged for you.

I am surprised that you found our breakfast to be dried up as our Breakfast Chef checks the carvery at regular intervals and replaces items as and when necessary.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards



Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed here from Friday 4th November until Tuesday 7th November 2011 whilst work on my bathroom at home was being done. I stayed in room 464.... Nice room and that I could have stayed longer, but sadly for me they had some big conferance on. Julie and Jenny were very helpful in making sure I had the room that I wanted. I was happy that they looked after me. I ve stayed in so many Hotels over the years with staff that find it far to much trouble to raise a smile and be pleasant let alone try and help.... But these two ladies were MARVELOUS.... Thanks to them I would stay again!!!!!!!!!!.

Room Tip: Make sure you take an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We arrived after being at the Manchester in the afternoon .There was a wedding going on so the hotel was full and our rooms were changed ,for the better no faults clean and roomy .We had telphoned the hotel prior to going as one of the party has diet issues which to my suprise was met full marks to the kitchen manager .Great weekend fab hotel and great food well worth a visit for a wee break away for some RR With your girlies .They even have a pool and lesuire club if you want to be more active and the grounds were lovley ,We have stayed in this chain before but this is the best so far .

Room Tip: Email the hotel for any requirmnets you may need
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a.miller653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights, on arrival were immediately upgraded to an executive room which was in excellent condition. We had our meals each night at the hotel as well, the food was very good and well presented. We were impressed by the courtesy of the staff who were very helpful. This is a hotel that we will be visiting again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2011

ive booked 13th nov for my husbands birthday we dont have a lot of money so i found this to be a good deal they even said cause its a special ocassion they will try and upgrade for free if rooms are availiable so were looking forward to it im just glad i have read some reviews what are good

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I really wasn't sure what to expect when I arrived at the hotel and the very large car park, it is clear they cater for the park and fly market here. I had arrived a little early so I was unable to check in. When I did there was some confusion over my booking, I didn't have one as there had been problems with their web site booking system. This proved to be no problem as they quickly allocated me a room and gave me the rate offered for booking in advance with pre payment. The room was past the bars and restaurant then down a dreary corridor. it was exactly as I had booked, a single room. I noted that many rooms were being given an update, this room certainly came into the category of could do with one but it was clean and everything worked. The bar area was comfortable with an excellent flat screen TV. The Barman was extremely good. I had a bar snack sandwich for mid afternoon lunch and it was excellent, one of the best I have had anywhere. Breakfast was a help yourself buffet with plenty of choice. They used good ingredients so this to was enjoyable. For a day or two this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alant1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#49 of 118 in Manchester
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
818 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#54 of 118 in Manchester
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#66 of 118 in Manchester
1,297 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing