We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with good and bad points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #88 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average with good and bad points”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

On first appearance the hotel looks excellent, there was plenty of staff on at reception and the reception area and bar look good. The breakfast was good, with a buffet style breakfast offering a good selection and plenty of staff to guide you to your table and bring you your choice of tea or coffee quickly. for once having coffee meant i was not at a disadvantage as a pot was brought to the table for me.
Bad points was finding an old coke bottle under our bed, when checking the next morning to ensure we had not left anything behind! There was thick dust behind the old large TV - i wasn't looking but when sat at the chair next to the TV - on looking up towards the door - you couldn't help noticing. My daughters twin room had mould growing up the wall - and a clean space in the middle of it - where a previous visitor (I presume) had cleaned a round spot to show it could be removed by water! She also found a used tissue just under the bed.
No internet access in the bedrooms - I would prefer to pay for usage rather than trudge down to the front reception for access.
The swimming pool was also additional with a £5 charge to join the health club to use it and you would have needed to hire towels from the health club - have never come across this before in an hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the weekends when the disco from the wedding and 18th Birthday parties will keep you awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleNHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

I was sorry to read your comments regarding the room that you were allocated and feel that it is a shame that you did not contact our reception to enable us to sort out these issues, as an alternative room could have been arranged for you.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards




Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    647
    503
    368
    708
See reviews for
528
981
107
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

God what a horrible place this hotel is.
Booking in very slow, there was only one person in front of us but it still took a while.

Got to the room opened the door to be invited by a very strong smell of damp.
The room was straight out of the 80's awful decor and curtains. Mouldy bathroom.
The smell was so overpowering all the windows had been lefty open to try to get rid of it. My wife never has the window open because she gets cold but there was no way we could stay without doing so.

Awful tired carpet and furniture. The room had been painted but the painting was so poor that there was overspill on fittings in the room. It looked like the room had been painted by Stevie Wonder. My daughter who is 6 could do a better job. My wife phoned reception to see if there was a double room avaiable. She was ignored and the phone was put down.

We did think about leaving that evening but it was very late when we arrived so decided to tough it out. I would never stay again even if I was paid to do so,
I do not believe the good reports on this site are genuine.
The place is truly truly awful ! Stay anywhere else but here !

Room Tip: Dont bother staying here it is AWFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay. I have looked into your comments regarding the standards of cleanliness and decoration in your bedroom and can confirm that all of our bedrooms and public areas are cleaned and vacuumed on a daily basis by our room attendants. These are then checked by our housekeepers to ensure they are correctly prepared to our usual high standards for our guests arrival.

You may or may not be aware that Trip Advisor audits all reviews before they are posted. Just as it is your right to post a poor review, that same right is afforded to any guest to post a good one, one of the advantages of living in a democracy.

Kind regards,



Patrick Fitzgerald,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife and I had a 5 day stay at the Hotel and it was great. on arrival at the reception the staff
could not do enough for us ,we had a large clean room with large bathroom with jacuzzi.
The food was very good for breakfast and dinner. The entertainment was great by Dj Pete and
the crew, and we also had a free bar. It was good stay and value for money

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Excellent value for money, room a bit on the small side though. Food and entertainment was excellent. I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Had a five day coach trip to this hotel and it was brilliant. The food was was very good and the entertainment was excellent thanks to Peter and the crew. The staff were good and the rooms were adequate and clean. Used the pool facilities and enjoyed it. Really nice hotel with the coach as a bit out of Manchester but service buses at end of driveway. Had a great 5 days we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara_galbraith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Needed to book this hotel and the Britannia in Bolton so spoke directly to charming girl on the phone. Only paid £29 for the room so wasn't expecting much. Arrived at hotel via SatNav which directed us round the back of a nightclub which turned out not to be the grand entrance which we later discovered. Check in was quick even with a large queue and we were upgraded to a superior type suite with jacuzzi bath & four poster! Bar was pleasant and reasonably priced and seemed to be a stopover favourite for hoilday makers using the hotel parking service which didn't cause a problem. Breakfast buffet was amazing. Only recommendation would be to move the smoking area elsewhere as we were located at the front of the hotel, the smoke drifted up into our room through the windows which is not pleasant in the morning. Also the jacuzzi bath didn't work which I would have been dissappointed if I had paid full price. Pool and spa on the lower floor was nice but building is suffering a bit of damp and mildew showing in places, Mr Muscle mould and mildew can sort that out though. Thanks for a nice experience to all at the hotel.:-) Bolton lacked the same effect but breakfast was nice there and service friendly enough.

Room Tip: Ring up as they will ask if you've seen any good deals anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likeshortbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Booked via Britania Hotels web site, dinner bed and breakfast. All aspects of checking in, having dinner and checking out went without a hitch; without having to enquire about the extras promised. The room allocated was a good size with large bathroom and included a bath type jacuzzi.
Although the room was pleasant enough we felt that the decor was getting a little tired.
So far as the dining room was concerned we felt that most of the tables were too close together for any degree of privacy. The food was satisfying although we were disapponted to find that there was only two types of vegetables in addition to potatoes. Breakfast was more than adequate.
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coachman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#55 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 116 in Manchester
794 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 116 in Manchester
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#51 of 116 in Manchester
211 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing