We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers in disguise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #88 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers in disguise”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

what an absolute shambles this place is,. arrived the night before we left on holiday and had to wait 20mins to get seen at reception, even tho there was only one couple in front of us.took them ages to find the reservation and eventually gave us a room on the first floor as the lift was not working. later in the bar a sign on the wall clearly stated happy hour between 5 and 7, when having ordered my drinks within this time i was told that ther was no happy hour because noone had set up the til. i found that hilarious, the barman was so unintersted in his job that it was effort to brathe. he had no clue as to any of the drinks he was serving and could not even fill a pint glass which other people at the bar were compaining about to.
before leaving in the morning we arranged to book the hotel as part of holiday deal for when we arrived back, which also took ages.
having arrived back from our holiday and been delayed we finally arrived back to the hotel at 1.30 in the morning feeling very tired. w got to the reception only to find that the guy could not find any trace of our reservation. we were not amused. the man said the only way we could stay was for us to have to pay for the room again even though it already had been paid for. we eventually agreed to pay and take it up with the manager in morning. next morning we saw the manager who blamed the company we had booked with for not emailing them with our details even though we had booked the room before we lft on holiday. my mony was refundes eventually, but what a performance.

Room Tip: dont bother, we stayed in the delux rooms which were in the attic space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stansevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I have discussed the concerns you raised regarding your recent stay with my Reception Manager and also my Bars Manager. I am sorry that the standards of service you received were not up to our usual high standards and I would like to thank you for bringing these matters my attention.

I would be grateful if you would contact me directly at the hotel to enable me to look into this matter further.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.


Kind regards




Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    643
    496
    364
    692
See reviews for
520
968
104
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purley, Surrey UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

You have heard the saying 'You get what you pay for!' Well this hotel certainly offers very good value indeed. Room only rate was for a deluxe room with a bubble bath at £41pn for two persons, but you have to be able to climb into it! I would suggest the standard room would be more than adequate. The breakfast was tasty and good value at £10.95. The Carvery for dinner was also a good idea and again good value at £14.95 for 3 courses, but could have been more imaginative with their veg. selection and the beef was 'ordinary' a bit a rib would have been juicy alternative and would have kept better under the heat lamp. The bedroom was comfortable. This used to be a posh hotel and just needs some TLC to get it back up to scratch. However, at these prices how do they do this?
The only real criticism I have is the parking. The hotel has over 200 rooms, but there must have been in excess 1000 cars parked there (airport deal). On our arrival at 4pm I had to cruise round for ages to find somewhere to park and ended up in the area reserved for the fitness club! The hotel had closed off one area for tree surgery and a new car park was under construction, OK if you are happy to park in a mud field! This caused a great deal of irritation for new arrivals, especially if you were only staying a couple of days. I would have thought the hotel would have organised a long term and a short term car park to accommodate the variety of clients they were attracting!
The staff were helpful and the Asst. Manager attended to a small issue with our room in a very satisfactory manner. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that offers excellent value - then this is the place. If you demand perfection, then perhaps....

Room Tip: Rooms are not a problem, but you can hear people going to bed, moving about etc, but not a problem l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments I was pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner in our restaurant.

We do have in excess of 600 car parking spaces at the hotel and I am sorry that you found it difficult to find a parking space on your arrival at the Hotel. The hotel can be extremely busy at times as we do have 255 bedrooms and extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards




Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Would just like to say how pleased we were with our New Years Eve stay at the Country House Hotel. Staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you.Everything was so well organised the entertainment was good and the bar pricing sensible. The food very good especially considering the large number of people staying there. First hotel we've stayed in where we have had to turn the heating down. Rooms clean and comfortable what a difference from the last Britannia Hotel (Bosworth) that we stayed in. Would recommend this deal to anyone, we've already booked for this years New Year. The only negative comment would have to be the lift not working which made life difficult for the more elderly but gave the rest of us some much needed exercise.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

It appears this is mainly used an airport hotel, so the vast carparks (much overflow un-tarmacked with no lighting) are full of people leaving their cars whilst they go away. We only paid £32 for 2 people B&B so you can't grumble, as the staff were courteous, the room was fine, the en-suite was clean, and the cooked breakfast edible. The room could have been cleaner (used tissues and hair bobbles and cocktail sticks behind the bed, but the bedding was clean. The hotel is pretty run-down, but for a budget overnight stay its fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
I was sorry to read your comments regarding the room that you were allocated and feel that it is a shame that you did not contact our reception to enable us to sort out these issues, as an alternative room could have been arranged for you.

We receive many compliments from guests regarding our breakfast buffet, it contains over 50 items from cereal, to a full English breakfast.

We cater for many travellers at the Britannia Country House Hotel, from guests that are going on holiday and also for corporate guests, coach trips and for guests who simply want to get away for a weekend.

We do have an extensive car park with over 500 parking spaces, our car park is fully lit.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night 28th dec 2011 and left my car parked for 15 nights whilst i wa son holiday abroad. When i pulled up at the hotel all car parks were full apart from the one to the left of the hotel. When looking for a space there were 3 cars with smashed windows and the police on the scene this put me off before i even found a parking space. The hotel itself was very good and we were given a large size room with jacuzzi bath. The bed was very comfortable and the heating in the room perfect. The bar was very friendly and comfortable. We did not eat at the restaurant but it was busy at the time.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laceygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
We do have in excess of 600 car parking spaces at the hotel and I am sorry that you found it difficult to find a parking space on your arrival at the hotel. The hotel can be extremely busy at times as we do have 255 bedrooms and extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities. Unfortunately we had experienced a car break in and you did see the police at the Hotel. I can confirm that this was an isolated incident and following the police investigation, using our CCTV system, the culprit has been identified and arrested.

I was pleased to read that your room was large and comfortable and that enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

As a family of four, we thoroughly enjoyed our 3night four day stay, which included all breakfasts, evening meals and entertainment. Comfortable/spacious family room, friendly staff, excellent value for money and great atmoshere especially New Years Eve, safe enviroment for our 8yr old. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our family room was ample, we had a double bed and twin beds. Beware 4 floors and old lift not alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed for 1 night pre flight which frankly was enough. I thought I was booking into somewhere reasonably quiet which the name suggests. My room was overlooking the entrance on the first floor, good size but a bit worn out and dated but decent enough for the price I paid. What really spoilt it were four things.
First, it was heaving with people, there was a boxing tournament, weddings, parties, hundreds of folk, so noisy downstairs.
Second, the window in my room didn't stop the noise or smoke from below right up to the early hours,
Third, didn't fancy sitting in the italian restaurant on my own so had room service which was overpriced for what it was.
Fourth, no hot water in the morning, rang down and was asked what room I was in and told the boiler had gone out, but that they were trying to relight it, what difference what room I was in!! thank goodness manchester airport's boiler was working. I know these things happen but it was the lasse faire attitude when I spoke to then and checked out, as though it was nothing unusual

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saddlebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with our reception staff, if you had brought these issues to the attention of our Duty Manager any problems could have been immediately rectified and your room changed to ensure you had a relaxing stay.

The Britannia Country House Hotel is a large hotel with 255 bedrooms and extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities and at times can be extremely busy.

Unfortunately there was an issue with the boiler during your stay our maintenance team were working as quickly as they could to repair this fault.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Patrick Fitzgerald,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing