We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,801)
Filter reviews
2,803 results
Traveller rating
356
694
550
417
786
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
694
550
417
786
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,125 - 2,130 of 2,803 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

what an absolute shambles this place is,. arrived the night before we left on holiday and had to wait 20mins to get seen at reception, even tho there was only one couple in front of us.took them ages to find the reservation and eventually gave us a room on the first floor as the lift was not working. later in the bar a sign on the wall clearly stated happy hour between 5 and 7, when having ordered my drinks within this time i was told that ther was no happy hour because noone had set up the til. i found that hilarious, the barman was so unintersted in his job that it was effort to brathe. he had no clue as to any of the drinks he was serving and could not even fill a pint glass which other people at the bar were compaining about to.
before leaving in the morning we arranged to book the hotel as part of holiday deal for when we arrived back, which also took ages.
having arrived back from our holiday and been delayed we finally arrived back to the hotel at 1.30 in the morning feeling very tired. w got to the reception only to find that the guy could not find any trace of our reservation. we were not amused. the man said the only way we could stay was for us to have to pay for the room again even though it already had been paid for. we eventually agreed to pay and take it up with the manager in morning. next morning we saw the manager who blamed the company we had booked with for not emailing them with our details even though we had booked the room before we lft on holiday. my mony was refundes eventually, but what a performance.

Room Tip: dont bother, we stayed in the delux rooms which were in the attic space
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stansevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I have discussed the concerns you raised regarding your recent stay with my Reception Manager and also my Bars Manager. I am sorry that the standards of service you received were not up to our usual high standards and I would like to thank you for bringing these matters my attention.

I would be grateful if you would contact me directly at the hotel to enable me to look into this matter further.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.


Kind regards




Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

You have heard the saying 'You get what you pay for!' Well this hotel certainly offers very good value indeed. Room only rate was for a deluxe room with a bubble bath at £41pn for two persons, but you have to be able to climb into it! I would suggest the standard room would be more than adequate. The breakfast was tasty and good value at £10.95. The Carvery for dinner was also a good idea and again good value at £14.95 for 3 courses, but could have been more imaginative with their veg. selection and the beef was 'ordinary' a bit a rib would have been juicy alternative and would have kept better under the heat lamp. The bedroom was comfortable. This used to be a posh hotel and just needs some TLC to get it back up to scratch. However, at these prices how do they do this?
The only real criticism I have is the parking. The hotel has over 200 rooms, but there must have been in excess 1000 cars parked there (airport deal). On our arrival at 4pm I had to cruise round for ages to find somewhere to park and ended up in the area reserved for the fitness club! The hotel had closed off one area for tree surgery and a new car park was under construction, OK if you are happy to park in a mud field! This caused a great deal of irritation for new arrivals, especially if you were only staying a couple of days. I would have thought the hotel would have organised a long term and a short term car park to accommodate the variety of clients they were attracting!
The staff were helpful and the Asst. Manager attended to a small issue with our room in a very satisfactory manner. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that offers excellent value - then this is the place. If you demand perfection, then perhaps....

Room Tip: Rooms are not a problem, but you can hear people going to bed, moving about etc, but not a problem later at night
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments I was pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner in our restaurant.

We do have in excess of 600 car parking spaces at the hotel and I am sorry that you found it difficult to find a parking space on your arrival at the Hotel. The hotel can be extremely busy at times as we do have 255 bedrooms and extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards




Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Would just like to say how pleased we were with our New Years Eve stay at the Country House Hotel. Staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you.Everything was so well organised the entertainment was good and the bar pricing sensible. The food very good especially considering the large number of people staying there. First hotel we've stayed in where we have had to turn the heating down. Rooms clean and comfortable what a difference from the last Britannia Hotel (Bosworth) that we stayed in. Would recommend this deal to anyone, we've already booked for this years New Year. The only negative comment would have to be the lift not working which made life difficult for the more elderly but gave the rest of us some much needed exercise.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

It appears this is mainly used an airport hotel, so the vast carparks (much overflow un-tarmacked with no lighting) are full of people leaving their cars whilst they go away. We only paid £32 for 2 people B&B so you can't grumble, as the staff were courteous, the room was fine, the en-suite was clean, and the cooked breakfast edible. The room could have been cleaner (used tissues and hair bobbles and cocktail sticks behind the bed, but the bedding was clean. The hotel is pretty run-down, but for a budget overnight stay its fine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

I was sorry to read your comments regarding the room that you were allocated and feel that it is a shame that you did not contact our reception to enable us to sort out these issues, as an alternative room could have been arranged for you.

We receive many compliments from guests regarding our breakfast buffet, it contains over 50 items from cereal, to a full English breakfast.

We cater for many travellers at the Britannia Country House Hotel, from guests that are going on holiday and also for corporate guests, coach trips and for guests who simply want to get away for a weekend.

We do have an extensive car park with over 500 parking spaces, our car park is fully lit.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night 28th dec 2011 and left my car parked for 15 nights whilst i wa son holiday abroad. When i pulled up at the hotel all car parks were full apart from the one to the left of the hotel. When looking for a space there were 3 cars with smashed windows and the police on the scene this put me off before i even found a parking space. The hotel itself was very good and we were given a large size room with jacuzzi bath. The bed was very comfortable and the heating in the room perfect. The bar was very friendly and comfortable. We did not eat at the restaurant but it was busy at the time.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laceygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

We do have in excess of 600 car parking spaces at the hotel and I am sorry that you found it difficult to find a parking space on your arrival at the hotel. The hotel can be extremely busy at times as we do have 255 bedrooms and extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities. Unfortunately we had experienced a car break in and you did see the police at the Hotel. I can confirm that this was an isolated incident and following the police investigation, using our CCTV system, the culprit has been identified and arrested.

I was pleased to read that your room was large and comfortable and that enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards


Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews