We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time for a revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #89 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“time for a revamp”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

i stayed here on 1st feb for one night on a single occupancy deal, arriving at the airport i rang to get the shuttle bus back.....no were was i ever told that the shuttle bus was nearly a hour wait.... i had to hang around 30mins waiting were i was told to wait, no shuttle bus appeared had to ring the hotel and company twice each, and finally in the cold for a hour, they sent me a private taxi..... check in was smooth, hotel looked nice from outside, was given a broom cupboard for my single bed, i always do my hair check, there were hairs everywhere on the wall, bathroom floors, shower and sink, i had to move rooms, i was then given a twin room with had more hairs (only 3 this time), i thought it would be just easier to stay there and remove them myself. i ate in the Italian dinning room, pizza's were half price but very grumpy waiter, happy hour was on in the bar for a few hours, but i wasn't given the offer because apparently they didn't have the wine on the wine list....typical!!! televisions are as old as the hills, fuzzy then blue then green screens but i just couldn't be bothered moving rooms again.....this hotel is awful, rooms are from the 60s old radiators need changed and good dust is recommended....how can a housekeeping supervisor not see the dust and hairs and sign the rooms off to let guests stay there??

Room Tip: have an open mind to this dowdy hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmajane6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Our Airport transfer service is run to a timetable, this is clearly shown on our website with all of the timings and transfer instructions and I am sorry that you were not aware of this before your arrival at the Airport.

I have discussed the concerns regarding the issues with your room with my Head Housekeeper, whose duty it is to ensure that all rooms are issue free and presented to the highest possible standard and have pointed out that I will not accept guests being disappointed in such a way.

I was pleased to read that when you reported your room had not been correctly cleaned, that our duty manager dealt with this immediately and offered you an alternative room, however I do wish that you had informed our duty manager regarding the issues in the second room as these could have also been rectified immediately to make your stay more enjoyable.

The happy hour drinks are house wine and house spirits only, I am sorry that the wine you wanted was not our house wine. I am sorry that you felt that our Pizzeria waiter was very grumpy.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards




Sandra Cheshire
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    651
    510
    380
    716
See reviews for
536
996
108
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My partner and I recently had our Wedding at this hotel and it could have not been a better day. Everything was perfect and went exactly to plan and all the staff were very friendly and efficient. The layout and decor of the function rooms was perfect and the meal and service was excellent - everybody commented on the quality of the food. Myself, my sister, my neice and little great neice stayed in a family room the night before the wedding and had a very nice meal in the pizza restaurant where the staff were very friendly and attentive, especially with my little great neice. The choice of breakfast items cannot be faulted - there was everything you could wish for and the transition the next day between rooms for 'the big day' was seamless. A lot of guests stayed at the hotel the night of the Wedding and they have all commented on the great breakfast and the value for money of the rooms. My husband and I stayed in the Bridal Suite which was very romantic with a four-poster bed. Our day could not have gone better and our whole experience was excellent. I cannot thank the hotel staff enough and would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent wedding at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that both you, your new husband and all of your guests enjoyed your special day, I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of the staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards




Sandra Cheshire
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in February this year during a business stay. The room rate was extremly low at only £29 per night, which I believe to be very good value but the low price did reflect the standard of room I was given.... you get what you pay for. Don't get me wrong, the room was very clean and tidy and 100% adequate but there were a few flaws in the room decoration which tarnished my stay, some marks on the walls and carpets mainly, small tv and very limited channel availability. Overall I was satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

We do try to offer good value rates to our guests and would like to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor.

I will pass your comments regarding the decoration in your room to our Head Housekeeper to ensure these issues are resolved.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp, belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed there on the 7th. January before flying out on the 8th. and the whole experience was excellent and I wish I could have stayed longer. On arrival I was welcomed by the reception staff like a friend and it just got betterI had a drink in the Bar and had dinner in the restaurant
before retiring to my room which was clean and perfectly adequate and I would reccommend it to anybody. The price for the room was very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you felt very welcome and you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Country House in the near future.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel last February/March time so i'm a little late with the review but better late than never!! I booked this hotel as i'm a private hire driver and was picking up fellow workers at Manchester Airport the next day! I only booked a standard double room but when we got up to our room we had had been given a top floor four poster bed room with spa bath! I was overly pleased with this as you can imagine! The service was excellent, when we asked about buses into Manchester city centre at Reception we were told exactly where to go and the times of the buses! Can't fault any part of the hotel at all, the staff were great and the location is excellent! The breakfast was nice and again staff were friendly! I would recommend this hotel to anyone whether its for pleasure or for business or as a stop gap before flying off around the world!

Room Tip: Four poster rooms are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taxi-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the hotel to others, I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to our reception staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My Grandson and I spent one night only in this Hotel as we were on a coach trip to the Theatre.My Grandson aged 10 was over the moon with it as soon as we entered the reception area.He has travelled widely with his parents, staying in 5 star hotels around Europe so I was very pleased with his reaction!The twin room was very clean,beds comfortable ,bathroom spotless and we were very happy! The dinner was delicious with a very good choice as was breakfast the next morning.Staff were polite and attentive and we both enjoyed our stay very much So much so my Grandson told his parents that he wanted to go again for his birthday in March!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireTriptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that both you and your grandson enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future..

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Great place to stay over night very handy if you are flying the next day, great service i would recommend this place for anyone who is off on holiday and is leaving the car there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matty1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#50 of 118 in Manchester
99 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#56 of 118 in Manchester
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 118 in Manchester
1,283 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
5.2 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing