We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food saved the day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #91 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed one night on good deal DBB with wine, for family of 5. Room big enough to accomadate us all. No air con in executive as expected. Room so hot had to sleep with windows open and had the constant noise and smells from the kitchen extractor fans. Awful view onto flat roof, out of high windows. Items found under beds included t-shirt, hairs (not known where from) came out of vents on spa bath. Resturant had plastic tub with dirty water in it to catch drips from ceiling. Needs decorating and new carpets in public areas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceyb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay. I have passed your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel to our housekeeper to ensure all areas are correctly prepared to our usual high standards for our guests arrival.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,647)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,790 of 2,647 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Me and my bf came to Manchester to watch the Olympic football and needed a place to stay at a reasonable cost. I thought as we were travelling so far I'd book an executive room to make the most of it. I was under the impression from the lady on the phone that that included a four poster bed, reasonable size room and a jacuzzi bath. We did have a jacuzzi bath but no 4 poster bed, small room and tiny bathroom. It was clean but considering I paid £68 for this I was not impressed!! I would recommend if looking for a cheap no frills room but that it.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jadeknill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and feel that you did not get what you paid for. Our executive rooms do not all have four poster beds, we do have a limited number of four poster rooms at the hotel, and if possible, guests can be upgraded but this is strictly subject to availability.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding nearby. We booked a single and a double. The single (139) was quite small but reasonably clean. The only thing I would say is that there was a huge chunk missing from the door frame where the chain fastener had been ripped out!

The main problem was with the double (138). It was cramped with too much old fasioned furniture crammed into it. The room is in desperate need of redecoration. These problems were nothing compared to the cleanliness of the toilet/bathroom. The grouting around the bath was covered in mildew, the pipe leading out of the cistern had an inch think accumulation of dirt and grime, and the vent was dripping in dust and dirt.

We mentioned these on checking out and were assured that these would be rectified. However seeing what others have said on here, I shall not hold my breath (or ever return either).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank markj706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with the rooms that you were allocated on your recent stay with us, I do wish that you had brought these issues to our attention during your stay with us to enable us to rectify them immediately.

I have passed all of your comments on to our head housekeeper.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Yours sincerely


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day stay here and cannot fault it in any way. The Food was buffet style and there was always a good selection both for breakfast and dinner. Staff were all pleasant although not over friendly.
Bar Prices were a bit OTT but other than that everything was fine. Jacuzzi Bath was lovely.
Hotel in all was ok for 3 star, although some re-decoration would not go amiss.
All in all we had an enjoyable week. Always remember though to shut bathroom door while using Jacuzzi or Shower to avoid setting off the fire alarm .

Room Tip: Were were in Room 167 and apart from a little noise from the Kitchen Fans it was fine for 5 of us...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We were given tickets to the Olympic football in Manchester and wanted to continue on the low cost theme.

Via Travel Zoo, although I think it is generally available via the Britannia website, I found a fabulous offer at this hotel - 2 nights dinner, bed & breakfast for two people in an executive room with spa bath, use of plus free bottle of wine for £100 !

We arrived mid afternoon and check in was relatively painless. The first problem encountered was the lift was out of order. Luckily, we were only on the first floor so not a huge problem, although we were not offered any assistance with the bags.

The room was a decent size although the only window in the room was extremely small and high up on the wall - no doubt to hide the lovely view of the flat roof, vents etc. The window did open but also let in the constant drone of some sort of extractor - from the kitchens perhaps. There also didn't seem to be any way of controlling air conditioning in the room although it was fine and not too hot.

The bed was extremely firm, to the point of hardness. It didn't stop me sleeping but may be a problem for some.

Everything was clean, except for the dust under the TV which came into sight when we swivelled it so we could see from the seating area!

The hotel provide an ironing room on the 2nd floor but I would have prefered an iron & board in the room.

Bathroom was a good size, clean, with a spa bath with shower over. The shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. I found that the soap holder filled up with water when using the shower and it was impossible to empty out so soap couldn't be left in it - rather defeating the point really. Bath towels were a good size - I can't stand a skimpy towel, one of my bench marks for a decent hotel !!

Take note of the sign in the bathroom asking you to shut the door when using the bath or shower as it sets off the fire alarm because it does.

It all went off twice on the first night. The first time we thought it was something we'd done although the door was shut but opening it and closing it seemed to stop the noise. That was probably just a coincidence. The second time was definately not us as we were in bed and asleep !! It rang for a while and then stopped again. The reception phone was ignored so I had to get dressed and go down to see what was going on. This is not a good situation. After two false alarms you assume that a third is also a false alarm, wasting time to get to safety if it is in fact a real emergency.

The food was good - dinner was starter of soup or greek salad served at the table, carvery dinner with choice of beef or chicken plus the usual accompaniments. The beef was actually the best I've had in a long time - tasty and tender although the old man said the chicken wasn't fabulous. Plenty of fresh veg but watch out for the serving spoons - boy do they get hot !! I really liked the different breads which were available - the poppy seed loaf was lovely. There seemed to be various gateaux and ice creams for dessert but we were too full to even go and look at it. We claimed the free wine at the restaurant bar - a house white which was OK as house wines go - although we also could have had it from the main bar.

Breakfast was good - real porridge, plenty choice of cereal, various juices, mainly tinned fruit and only one flavour yoghourt. I would have liked to have seen more fresh fruit available . Usual hot choices of bacon, sausage, eggs etc which were all fine. Coffee was good and strong.

Drinks at the bar are fairly pricy - almost £9 for a G&T and a Crabbies but the bar staff were friendly and welcoming.

The hotel have a free phone at reception to book a taxi. We used them to get to Old Trafford and they were on time, car was a bit old but the driver was chatty and we got there fine. I'd asked to book for the return trip and they said to ring when we were ready to be collected. The driver gave me a card with several different numbers, none of which were answered when we called from the ground to be picked up.

In the end, after trying for about 20 minutes, I had to ring the hotel who gave us a number for another company - Station Taxis. They turned up within 20 minutes, nice car, friendly driver AND they were £5 cheaper for the same journey !!

Because of all the messing about we didn't get back to the hotel till 11pm and were too late for dinner - finishes at 9.30, or for something hot from room service - ends at 11. Only the sandwich menu is available after 11. For £5.50 I had beef and horseradish on a focaccia roll served with salad and crisps. Again the beef was great and very good value for money.

This is a busy hotel, with lots of people using it as an overnight stop for the airport. Although the car park was busy we had no problems finding a space. The hotel is convenient for the airport , I believe they have a shuttle service,and easy to get to from the motorways.

I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again but probably only if we got the same deal.

Room Tip: Not room 171 if you like a view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NannyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have just got home from this two night deal booked through Britannia. It was fantastic. The hotel room was big and airey with a four poster bed, large bathroom and air bath. The food was brilliant and everything was the best. the health suite was good and clean. The staff were super. If I have any criticism it is that the staff in the dining room are too quick to clear plates before you have finished courses. You feel hurried. Also the lift was out of order and we were on the third floor and not as fit as we were when we were in our fifties!!!! Nevertheless I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The exec suites were worth the extra few pounds. If the lifts out ask for a lower floor if you are e...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayReviewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you would recommend this hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Conveniently located close to Manchester International Airport with an inexpensive shuttle service this hotel provides pleasant accommodation as long as you remember that it is a country hotel and not a business hotel. The rooms were comfortably appointed and we found it easy to get to Manchester by bus and to go walking in the vicinity. There were some drawbacks however. The elevators (lifts) were not working for 2 days while we were there, the coffee machine was not working and the food could have been better. While some of the staff did go out of their way to help, there is no food service late in the evening. We slept well and were not bothered by noise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullMoon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#42 of 120 in Manchester
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#56 of 120 in Manchester
240 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 120 in Manchester
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 120 in Manchester
1,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#5 of 120 in Manchester
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £41 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing