We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #91 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night and due to a wedding the hotel was packed out, all the staff were friendly and helpful, although the carpet was dirty the room was ok and the bed was comfortable. The food was nice with a good choice at the buffet for breakfast and dinner, although the plates were not full sized which made for a small dinner, well it would of had I not gone back 4 times, I would highly recommend this no frills hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to pass your comments to all of the staff at the hotel.

I have passed your comments regarding the cleanliness of the carpet to our Head Housekeeper who will ensure that this is rectified immediately.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive feedback Trip Advisor.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,828 - 1,834 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

Went on a budget trip with 4 friends of mine during Easter to Manchester/Liverpool. Liverpool one of the best places for shopping I've ever been to and Manchester great also but the big let-down of the trip was the hotel.
The rooms were really small and the same for the bathrooms. Very unclean and was not properly cleaned every day. The beds and furniture dirty and outdated. The TV not working one night and the walk to the rooms was very bad. Thankfully we were on the bottom floor but for people upstairs they had to climb the stairs all the time because the elevator could only hold 2 people or one with a suitcase and was very faulty.
The buffet breakfast was rushed, not fresh, not appealing, and just terrible. No tea or coffee at the table only at main counter.
Service was very poor and the bar staff were very unfriendly and slow, often forgot orders and you had tot remind them later.
Altogether just a dirty, grimey, terrible hotel that isn't even worth the money you pay for it!

Room Tip: Try to get ground floor as there is no working elevator. Three single bed rooms very squashed, maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay and cleanliness of the hotel and can confirm that all of our bedrooms and public areas and cleaned and vacuumed on daily basis by our room attendants and are then checked by our housekeepers to ensure they are correctly prepared to our usual high standards for our guests arrival and I am sorry this was not the case on this occasion.

Some of our lifts are small however I can confirm that they are in full working order.

I do wish that you had brought any issues that you had to the attention of our Duty Manager during your stay, as any problems could have been immediately rectified.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

stayed here for one night before an early flight from manchester airport

the hotel looks nice as you enter but i was served at reception by a young man with a lip piercing - which looked awful and not appropriate for some at serving customers - to me this shows the hotel lacks standards.

the hotel overall is o,k but we had a room which was very warm and a bit small

the bar is o.k and you can get bar meals at reasonable prices

the transfers to the airport were good and cheap at £6 per adult return

lots of people coming and going to/from flights so reception can be busy at times but they do cope and you do not have to wait too long.

overall not a bad hotel for the price and handy for stay and park with transfers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcquade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you were happy with your stay.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Country House in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

decor is a little tired and dated with an old fashioned crt TV in the rooms...haven't seen one of those for a long time !!

disappointed in the swimming pool rules regarding children as there is a small splash area that we could have played in after the 17:00 kick out time.

The spa bath in the room was great

highly recommend the pizza restaurant for dinner, good food and great service

Decent size family room gave us plenty of space with a toddler but please please please consider getting black out blinds to help convince toddlers that it is night time in the summer !!

buses taking people on tours or to the airport were noisey in the morning, reversing beeping underneath our window and then grass being cut around 08:00 is a little early.

Room Tip: be careful of rooms above the main entrance due to coaches reversing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I booked this hotel back in April as a stop off point on our way home from holiday in Surrey on 21.07.12.
It was a special deal which was for an upgraded double executive room with spa bath.dinner bed and breakfast.
It also had the added bonus of being just off the motorway home.
The big problem was when we arrived at reception we were told that we the lift was out and there was no way of getting my partner, who was in a wheelchair to the room we had booked.

We were told they could give us a ground floor room but not of the same standard.

On arriving at the room in the narrow corridor we could barely get the wheelchair through the door and then had to try and turn 90 degrees to get into the very small room. The door to the bathroom wasven smaller and we could not the wheelchair in.We had to end up using the disabled toilet in the public area during the stay

I returned to reception and asked if there was an accessible room available only to be told all these rooms were on the first floor.

The receptionist did offer to phone round other hotels in the chain to see if they had anything available, but by this time we had been travelling for hours and were tired and hungry and did not fancy trip round the suburbs of Manchester.

On a positive note the food and service in the restaurant were very good and the room would have been fine for able bodied people.

Most of the rest of the hotel was accessible to wheelchairs

I did fill the guest card giving a potted version of this review (due to lack of space) but have heard nothing since.

On returning home and checking the internet I was amazed to find a 255 room hotel only had one lift.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are adjacent to a corridor leading to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigwellfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that our lift was out of order during your stay and that you were unable to stay in an executive room.

I was pleased to read that you found the food and service to be of a good standard

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

My recent stay in Britannia was quite good,I would have given it a 4 star but for the size of the room.having said tha £30 for a room with shower and toilet is quite good value I guess but the room were very small.From the room all I can see was bins and the room was very hot with no control of Ac in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljunkie124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It was great to read your positive comments and I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found that that it was good value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Britannia Country House Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My partner and family stayed at this hotel in July as part of a fly and stay deal.
Our taxi pick up was scheduled for a 4:30am departure. We had an early alarm call for 3am in order for 4 of us to get showered and ready in order to leave without and due stress.
What we experienced however was scalding hot water from both the hot and cold taps from the shower, bath and sink. After reporting this to reception and explaining that we couldn't wait for maintenance we were given keys to an unoccupied room so we could have a shower. This room was located at the other side of the hotel and hadn't been cleaned since the previous guests had departed.
All in all a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulD123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

We were experiencing problems with our hot water during your stay and our maintenance engineers were working as quickly as they could, throughout the night to repair this.

I was pleased to read that you were offered an alternative room to take a shower.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#39 of 120 in Manchester
150 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#68 of 120 in Manchester
851 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 120 in Manchester
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#59 of 120 in Manchester
255 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £39 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing