We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,805)
Filter reviews
2,805 results
Traveller rating
356
695
550
418
786
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
695
550
418
786
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,784 - 1,789 of 2,805 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is a friendly hotel and within easy reach of the airport. The bar area is good. The leisure facilities are basic. The hotel is in a quiet location.
Car parking was ample.Hotel was in a lovely quiet location,check in was very swift and efficient.I can only review the room and service,as I didn't have anything to eat.Room was very clean, Would certainly stay here again.Flying out of Manchester in June,and will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for back of hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeedsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on trip adviser following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I pleased to read that you found the hotel to be in a convenient quiet location and the staff efficient.

I look forward to welcoming you back in June.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Generally I found the place good - I had a number of small issues, but overall it was a good stay - the place needed TLC and either taller maids or someone just to check the top of wardrobes!

The TV remote was missing and the general wear and tear of the place felt a little run down.

The car park was full of both cars and mud, frozen mud but mud ...

I had a meal in the indian restaurant there - which was pretty excellent actually and very friendly, be warned the special offers are time limited!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

We do have a large car park which holds in excess of 600 cars. We have been experiencing heavy rain fall and some of our car park did become flooded, our maintenance team were working as quickly as they could to pump the water out and this did unfortunately cause some of the areas of the car park to be muddy.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us however It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed there on the 6th Dec 12.Car parking was ample.Hotel was in a lovely quiet location,check in was very swift and efficient.I can only review the room and service,as I didn't have anything to eat.Room was very clean, large,with two double beds.Would certainly stay here again.Flying out of M/c in June,and will be staying here again.D.Mann.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on trip adviser following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I pleased to read that you found the hotel to be in a convenient quiet location, very clean, and the staff efficient.

I look forward to welcoming you back in June.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Had a wonderful stay over Christmas 2012. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Our room was lovely and clean and warm. Meals were superb. Our second visit over the Christmas period, would recommend it highly....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natasha53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just returned from New Year break. Great 4 days, clean room, food very good and entertainment was adequate. A commedian would have made a nice change instaed of just vocalists, however generally speaking we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awilliams90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.


Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews